We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Sands Resort

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amagansett
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
White Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Amagansett, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Despite having the best beach views in The Hamptons I will not be staying here again. Management and resort ownership have no concern for their guests safety or peace of mind:1) disconnecting all smoke detectors in a cedar shingled structure violates all Town Fire codes: 2) Hosting loud late night parties including setting off fireworks right outside guests doors. 3)... More 

Helpful?
Thank nunziodX1346LZ
Omar V, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear NunziodX1346LZ, We just want to make clear all you concerns. First of all, we clarify that management and ownership are deeply involved into guests safety and well being. 1)Something that you must learn is that there are two causes why smoke detectors go off: Smoke and Humidity!. Sometimes the alarms can go off because somebody is cooking or the... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You can not get closer to the beach. The room was small but comfortable with a memory foam mattress. It also had a cook top and small fridge. If you need Internet and reliable cell service stay else ware because both are virtually nonexistent here (in my case a huge plus) I satyed 3 weeks in early spring and LOVED... More 

Helpful?
Thank joe m
Huntington, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This unpretentious ocean front hotel will surprise you. Immaculately clean and quiet. The front desk can be rude, but once you get past that you are in for a little surprise. Isolated and beautiful beach. No A/C but the ocean air make up for it. BBQs available. Very well maintained-- combed. No pool, but there is the Atlantic at your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cooper1998
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous, private, not for the showy - A Pearl in the oyster of Napeague. This is not noisy, pretentious, competitive Hamptons social scene, but a quiet place for an oceanfront private experience. So much better than the other Hamptons, with a location on the sea, and very near.

Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineBeh
Omar V, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, we invite you to enjoy more of what White Sands is all about! A simple, clean small hotel on the ocean! More 

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

My wife and my 2 year old son were at White Sands in August 2015. We had to work for a couple of hours every day so we we really wanted a place with wi-fi. The wi-fi did not work in the room or in the common areas, only in the management office with no place to sit comfortably. When... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ignacio642
Omar V, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

We could understand your frustration and we are really sorry for not having a reliable wireless internet. Since the wireless internet for guests is a free complementary service, we do not guarantee a successful connection however, after a deep study of the situation, we have concluded that we were having some glitches specially in the summer when the heat reaches... More 

Plainview, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

We had booked a 4 night stay at the White Sands in July. They required a 50% non-refundable deposit. We had been there before and we were not concerned with the deposit. Unfortunately, the day before our stay was to begin, my father-in-law passed away. I called the hotel to cancel and spoke to 2 people at the front desk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JeffBaddish
Gruenwald, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed here after a horrible night at the surf lodge.. I highly recommend this clean and calm place to people that love to wake up with a magnificent view to the ocean. We went to the grocery store to buy some food and enjoyed our selfmade sandwiches on the terrace. Only 10 minutes to Monthauk (by... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ninaneumayer
Block Island, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

We absolutely Love staying at the White Sands Resort every year! My husband, three children ( 2, 8, & 12) and myself for the past five years always look forward to seeing Diana and What a great surprise to meet Barbara their new staff member she is truly the best! Barbara was so informative on the need to know what... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Lara B
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

I had stayed here in the past with my parents and enjoyed it so I was excited to bring my husband and 9 month old daughter here for a few days at the beach. I called and left a message and Barbara called me back the following day and told me their was availability for an oceanfront large efficiency on... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank sflaherty
Omar V, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

We understand your frustration and we are sorry about the inconvenience of the accidental overbooking caused however, we addressed it as soon as it was spotted within 24 hours after making the reservation. We must explain that as a small hotel with few units, we book rooms rapidly through the season and the chances to have availability in one them... More 

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

My wife and I have been going here before our kids were born and the place remains as special as ever. We spent many blissful, sun-drenched days enjoying the warm hospitality that exudes from the entire staff. We got to know them all as family. Some of the maids even baby sat for our kids when my wife and I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Coolhand-sundance
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
1.3 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#1 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#5 of 6 in Amagansett
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#2 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#15 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully simple small hotel on the ocean ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Address: 28 Shore Road, Amagansett, NY 11930
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Price Range: $95 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Amagansett
White Sands Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing