Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark

Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark

Traveler (917)
Dining (40)
Pool & Beach (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#18 of 39 hotels in Monastir
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.8
Value
3.9
Shems Holiday Village is an all-inclusive beachfront resort that sits within 24 hectares of garden. It is ideally located halfway between Sousse & Monastir and 10 minutes away from Monastir International Airport. Fully renovated in 2018/19, Shems is a true oasis embellished with flowers & palm trees offering its guests an unforgettable stay in a beautiful atmosphere with quality service & exceptional animation. The resort has 3 restaurants serving local & international cuisine in buffet and à la carte styles, 2 bars, 10 shops and a charming Spa. Shems boasts 630 bungalows which are spacious & comfortable, 3 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool & direct access to the beach. Our talented animation team is in charge of an extensive entertainment programme, which caters for all ages & offers a range of varied activities all day long. Shems also features a games room, a theatre, a cinema, 3 tennis courts, a pétanque court, ping pong tables, mini golf & 1.5 hectares of playing fields.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Children's playground
Public wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Waterslide
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Infirmary
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Sofa
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 1 more
724Reviews55Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 347
  • 137
  • 54
  • 48
  • 139
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
paigemorton1997 wrote a review Aug 2023
Steyning, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I think this hotel gets a lot of harsh criticism. We have just got back from 9 nights at Shems Holiday Village with my husband and my two children (4 and 2). We had a great time. Don’t get me wrong, some of the points below are correct to some degree albeit not as extreme in my opinion but we personally didn’t have the same experience as what i was expected we were going to have had having read the reviews before we went. Firstly, this is not a 5 star hotel. Do not book this hotel if you are looking for a luxury resort as this is not it. However if you are looking for a cheap family friendly resort then I would recommend this hotel.

Rooms: They do not look like how they do on the website. They are incredibly basic bungalows but it does what it needs to do. We did have some ants daily but only a few which we just sorted ourselves and to be honest you get used to it. The beds are hard but surprisingly comfortable and the shower is a hand held shower, not the most powerful but again you can wash yourself with it.

Food: We were very overwhelmed the first time we went to the buffet restaurant. It was packed, people pushing and there were quite a few flies. There is good choice of food but it’s just not to our taste but again you’re in Tunisia so what do you expect! Once we figured timings out we planned to eat at certain times when it was the quietest, once you do that you’re fine and your whole outlook changes. We didn’t get ill and my kids were able to eat (mostly pasta ect). I don’t think the food is the issue it’s more the people that come are rude, pushy and are like vultures grabbing so so much food! The beach restaurant was better for lunch and again the food isn’t amazing but we didn’t get Ill and we made do.

Pool is lovely (quieter round pool especially) and if you get to the pool for around 7.30am to lay towels out you have no trouble getting sun beds. You need to bring your own towels as they don’t supply them. The sea is lovely and calm and we didn’t find it to be dirty ect but again you’re not in the Maldives so don’t expect it to be a picture perfect beach. Staff were lovely and friendly.

Entertainment does start at 9 for the kids disco which is late and yes non of it is in English but my daughter loved it all the same and think it was good to experience other cultures.

Barely any English families there and I got a lot of dirty looks from Tunisian women who I must say were very rude, but again I just ignored them and got on with my holiday.

Waterpark was great the kids loved it!!

Overall we had a great holiday for what we paid, but I will reiterate again that it’s not a 5 start hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Shems, Service clients/Réception at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Morton, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us with 4* rating ! We are thrilled to hear that your stay at Shems Holiday Village was absolutely wonderful. Providing warm and excellent service is our top priority, and we are delighted that you felt welcomed from the moment you arrived. We sincerely regret to learn, belatedly, of your nice review. However, we inform you that we have undertaken immediate corrective measures. that is why we have implemented new renovations with a new management team in order to better monitor our catering and cleaning teams and our services in general. We hope to regain your trust and welcome you again to offer you a stay that fully meets your expectations. Send us a message directly via this email "gr@shemsholidayvillage" and we'd love to talk more! Kind regard. Guest Relations Alia Nasri.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Milena D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 8 nice days in this hotel (family of 4, 2 kids). Our stay was very pleasant thanks to a wonderful animation team and friendly staff in a restaurant too. We had a nice clean room close to everything. The food was good. Aquapark was very appreciated too. Our kids were never bored, entertained the whole time.
The only things we did not like:
1. A chaotic checking in. We were not being informed how long it could approximately take ( if we knew earlier that it would take longer, we would rather go for a lunch and did not wait in a hot reception lobby for over 1hour which caused us to miss our lunch after all. So the kids were tired, hot and hungry). We would have appreciated if the receptionists had communicated with us better. We think that the problem was a shortness of staff rather than unwillingness.
2. We did not like a team leader of an animation team, he was the only one who was not outgoing and sympathetic. Plus we never understood what he was saying to a microphone (no matter what language he used), it did not make a sense and people in audience were always confused what was going on...most of the time we were just guessing what he meant. In the shows there was a lot of repatation which was a pity as the animators were awesome performers and dancers..they only need a better leadership!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey J wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a fantastic holiday.
Rooms are basic but have everything you need cleaned everyday.
Food is good, got to try traditional Tunisian dishes.
Pools are perfect there’s always sun loungers available.
Aqua park is big and good for the kids and the big kids.
The Animation team are amazing. Always activities throughout the day. For every age. All the guys are extremely friendly.
We made good friends with Bebo and the DJ
They were extremely helpful. Even taught us some Arabic. They both work extremely hard everyday to make sure everything runs smoothly.
Adem, boosey and ahmed at the bar were all extremely friendly. Full of smiles.
Ali baba is the guy to see for excursions. We did the quad biking and it was amazing.
Water sports all along the beach at good prices.
All round good hotel for families.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David G wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please read before visiting Shems holiday village. This holiday has been truly rubbish.
There’s no internet, it’s really dirty, loads of ants in the rooms, private shows on a all inclusive holiday, chlorine problems, coffee machine problems, broken pools, drinks taste bad, beach is rubbish, you have to pay for beach towels, not enough sunbeds for everyone, huge queues, entertainment is rubbish, food is rubbish and the restaurant is over crowded. This hotel is the dirtiest one I’ve ever been at, in the restaurant some girl was sick on the floor and the sick was there for like 10mins before a lady came with a broom and smudged it even more, in that 10mins people were walking through it including staff a boy was walking through it and landed on it. There was tons of ants in our room (not only our room) we were asking the staff to get rid of them and they finally decided to come after 2days of asking. When booking to holiday it says there’s internet, which there is but dose not work. The queues are huge we were waiting 30mins for a portion of ice cream! The sunbeds have towels on them at night so you have no chance to get a sunbed and if mentioned to hotel staff they tell you to take the towels off which would just start arguments. There is a small selection of food and if there’s something decent to eat it’s gone in seconds. The beach is small and looks bad. The cleanliness of the hotel is atrocious it is so bad you can basically see what the people before you ate. The entertainment crew is huge there’s loads of them but they’re useless nothing has set starting or duration times night entertainment is bad the entertainment crew stands there blocking the view of the viewers there’s like 10of them just standing there blocking the view. They entertain each other instead of the people staying at the hotel. They change the list plan everyday and when they actually tried a fire show they burnt people. When they fail doing something they just start dancing. The entertainment took my 10 year old brothers without concent and put a good review up for the hotel! There is 2 big pools and both are fully full all the time. Each hotel I’ve been to you get free beach towels for your stay but in shems you have to pay for them. The drinks taste bad and the coffee machines don’t work at every bar. There’s missing tiles in the pool and I cut my foot cause of that. The pizza guy was smoking while making food. People pushing in the queue all the time. For the water park the queues are huge and there’s only 8floaties for the slides. The hotel has huge potential but it is ruined by the people running the hotel. Coffee machines don’t work anywhere. Have to pay extra for normal Coca Cola in all inclusive plus. Chlorine’s so high it stains clothing in the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Just don’t visit this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Shems, Service clients/Réception at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear david. I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in our service that you've highlighted. We sincerely regret to learn, belatedly, of your review. However, we inform you that we have undertaken immediate corrective measures. That is why we have implemented new renovations with a new management team in order to better monitor our catering and cleaning teams and our services in general. We hope to regain your trust and welcome you again to offer you a stay that fully meets your expectations. Send us a message directly via this email "gr@shemsholidayvillage" and we'd love to talk more! Best regard. Guest Relations Alia Nasri.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Max wrote a review Jun 12
5 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 1 week in Shems during the Cuba in Tunisia Festival and we absolutely loved it.

The fact that's it's a village of Bungalows and not a huge building is really nice and give some feeling of privacy. The Bungalows were well equipped and very clean. Cleaning lady comes everyday to make and wipe the room. Towels were changed almost every day.

The main restaurants were very good, staff was always helpful and friendly, great food variety and compared to other hotels the food taste was good.

At the beach there was always someone cleaning the beach from algues and providing mats to the guests.

The drinks part of the all inclusive offer were not good, but one could pay for a better quality drink though this was a bit expensive.

All in all pleasant stay and we would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Shems, Service clients/Réception at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Relax, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback is important to us. We are happy to know that you appreciated the variety of our catering, the cleanliness of our rooms and that our entertainment team was able to meet your expectations. We continually work to provide the best possible service to our customers. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and we thank you for your support of our team. Sincerely, Guest Relations Alia Nasri.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steph Highton wrote a review Jul 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After visiting hammamet in October and having an amazing time I had high hopes for this holiday. There were 11 of us in total and was really excited to get there. On the first day we couldn't get a sun lounger anywhere. There were lots with towels but no one there. We went to the waterpark and managed to get some. The waterpark is brilliant for the kids and they absolutely loved it, unfortunately you can't get all inclusive around the water park but the food is really nice and worth paying for. The next day after unsuccessfully getting sunbeds again we went round the smaller quieter pool and a gardener brought about 40 loungers out to help ourselves. We ended up leaving our towels on the beds after the 3rd day due to the stress of finding somewhere to sit. The pool area was really nice but there was issues with parasols as well. We wanted to use a parasol due to having young children and a baby with us, the wind was really bad and the parasols aren't secured down, one flew up and hit a woman in the face causing injury. After this the lifeguards put the parasols down but families were complaining so they would put them back up again which made me really uneasy and nervous.
The main restaurant is an absolute nightmare, it's like a cattle market, no where to sit and people pushing and shoving. There was never enough cutlery or cups to get water and it was stifling hot in there as well. The food was edible but every one in our party ended up with bad stomachs, possibly down to the food but I think more around the glasses that they collected and returned within a couple of minutes. Breakfast was the best choice due to fresh omelette, eggs and pancakes.
During the holiday we had 3 pairs of shoes taken from the pool (whilst we were in it).
The hotel switched the water off on a number of occasions meaning you couldn't use the toilets or showers and the air con barely worked either, the beds are rock hard but bedding was changed regularly. In 2 of our rooms they were overtaken by ants, even finding them in the tubes of Toothpaste. We had to ask at reception 3 times for towels and toilet roll as well.
There is nothing close by the hotel, no where to walk to or eat out, we did go to mall of sousse on our last night just for some proper food, it was well worth it but was 45 mins in a taxi.
Last thing I want to mention is the drinks, the cola they serve is disgusting, its not drinkable, the spirits all taste the same ( turps) and they ran out of beer on a number of days. They also run out of ice so all drinks were so warm due to the 40° weather they have had. We spent a fortune in the shop on site just so we had something decent to drink.
Would definitely not go back
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Can't get sunbeds. Fridges in rooms are a godsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Shems, Service clients/Réception at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Stephanieh. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in our service that you have highlighted. We sincerely regret having learned, late, of your opinion. However, we inform you that we have taken immediate corrective measures. This is why we have implemented new renovations with a new management team to better monitor our catering and cleaning teams and our services in general. We hope to regain your trust and welcome you again to offer you a stay that meets your expectations. Send us a message directly via this email “gr@shemsholidayvillage” and we’d love to talk more! Best regards. Customer relations Alia Nasri.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily M wrote a review Sep 2023
10 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If your planning on coming to this hotel please don’t!!!
From the moment we got here I was living an absolute holiday from hell, it states the food is international which it’s far from it nothing is labelled most things are undercooked everyone in our party spent days on end in bed there is nothing for kids we’ve ate out everyday which again limited
It’s meant to be an all inclusive but yet everyday they ran out of drinks and panini and other snack time food, they couldn’t cater for diabetics or allergies!!
The hotel itself is rundown lots of things broken lights around complex broken felt unsafe to walk around at night!!!
The place smelt like a sewer my 4 year old refused to use the toilet facilities as they stunk so bad and was always dangerous slippery never any toilet roll!!
The sunbed and chairs were broken, tiles and wire broken in the swimming pool which cut my children’s feet not only that on a daily basis there was peoples poo in the pool not just once multiple times which lifeguard just said wasn’t there job!!
The staff were rude hardly any English spoken if you was European they would serve others (Arabic spoken) before you!!
Again being European they just assume your rich and rob you off your money overcharge you on items in the shops, trips, taxi just endless robbery!!
Also for anyone that has young blonde European children be warned they do not leave you alone constantly trying to touch them one man kissed my 4 year old child nothing but unsafe here in this complex.
The rooms were very outdated infested with ants broken windows and air con, it stated that this hotel was updated in 2019 but this is nothing but a lie!!
It’s not worth the money at all and there’s a lot more that can be said on just how outrageous this hotel is!!
The only one thing that was good about this hotel was ameen from the animation team he went above and beyond for my family everyday and he is very wasted at this hotel!!!!!!!
I cannot express enough how this hotel is not for English people, I am so devastated and appalled what I have witnessed throughout my week here do not let the good reviews sway you to book!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Shems, Service clients/Réception at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear emily. I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in our service that you've highlighted. We sincerely regret to learn, belatedly, of your review. However, we inform you that we have undertaken immediate corrective measures. That is why we have implemented new renovations with a new management team in order to better monitor our catering and cleaning teams and our services in general. We hope to regain your trust and welcome you again to offer you a stay that fully meets your expectations. Send us a message directly via this email "gr@shemsholidayvillage" and we'd love to talk more! Best regard. Guest Relations Alia Nasri.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toni B wrote a review Sep 2023
2 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start? I should start with the good points and that is the animation team, they do an incredible job and without them this hotel wouldn't have a single good thing going for it. They strive to put a smile on people's faces and are always happy.
Now the bad bits, the pool quite often doesn't have a lifeguard and when it does they are mostly on their phones. We saw a young child jump into the pool who couldn't swim and her brother started yelling. The lifeguard remained seated as the the mother jumped in to save her and didn't even come over to see if she's alright. There was poo in the pool on a daily basis and when the lifeguard was made aware he just asked if it was big or small? They scooped it out with a net and that was it. This happened multiple times a day. We were told that they couldn't do anything about it because it was against religion for the babies to wear nappies. Food was quite an experience. It was like feeding time at the zoo. People grabbing handfuls of food, plates and plates of piled high food being wasted. Nothing was labelled in English. No cutlery available most of the time and finding a clean plate was like wining the lottery. Food wasn't covered and was only ever warm. The restaurant staff couldn't keep up with the demand which resulted in tables and floors not being cleaned properly. They serve snacks between lunch and dinner but be prepared to wait. Paninis generally took over an hour, the queue was huge and they only had a panini press that could do two at a time yet non English people were ordering 6 or 8 each. One day the man who was making crepes fainted as it was so hot and they just carried him outside and left the woman to try and do both the paninis and crepes. Be aware of the tourist tax as the receptionist seemed to charge different amounts to different people and never issued a receipt. The bars ran out of drinks constantly and refused to give alternatives, there was no sugar free options and the glasses were so in demand that they were just rinsed under a tap at times before being given to someone else. Rooms were ok once the aircon was fixed although there were no fire alarms and their drainage system isn't so great. The smell of sewage was strong especially after some rain. Plus a lot of little things like uncovered holes, broken tiles, smashed glass sections around the pool, broken chairs and sunloungers, no toilet roll in public toilets and always dirty, wet paint without signage, beach full of litter. I'm sure there was other things that I've forgotten. This hotel was terrible and paints Tunisia is a really bad light. I would NEVER recommend this to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don't go
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Shems, Service clients/Réception at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear H1201ZUtonib. I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in our service that you've highlighted. We sincerely regret to learn, belatedly, of your review. However, we inform you that we have undertaken immediate corrective measures. That is why we have implemented new renovations with a new management team in order to better monitor our catering and cleaning teams and our services in general. We hope to regain your trust and welcome you again to offer you a stay that fully meets your expectations. Send us a message directly via this email "gr@shemsholidayvillage" and we'd love to talk more! Best regard. Guest Relations Alia Nasri.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Connector15290882078 wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were welcomed to the hotel with tourism tax of 84 tunusian dinar for 3 of us which I've found out should be 60 dinar,so beware of reception staff!!
Rooms, basic but ok ,got air-conditioning and lots of ants
Food, basic food again but you get what you paid for it's a 3 star hotel after all
Main problems was ,they never have enough cutlery or plates we had to wait for either of them everyday and hygiene didn't exist! Staff was wiping of what left from previous table occupants with same dirty cloth and make it even worst
Swimming pools was over crowded most of the time and people were fighting for sunbeds and shade
There weee good activities during the day by animation team but night time was boring
Drinks; if you like water this is your place as most other drinks including local cola wasn't taste anything,beer and coffee (when the machines working) was not too bad
Never tasted a whiskey so bad in my life as other spirits was same(local)
If you pay extra you can get decent spirits
The only good thing for me was animation team as most of the members of the team was very kind, helpful and friendly
Overall this place do not catering for British people I think
I recommend go somewhere else
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you want sunbeds 6am is time for put down your towels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Shems, Service clients/Réception at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Connector. I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in our service that you've highlighted. We sincerely regret to learn, belatedly, of your review. However, we inform you that we have undertaken immediate corrective measures. That is why we have implemented new renovations with a new management team in order to better monitor our catering and cleaning teams and our services in general. We hope to regain your trust and welcome you again to offer you a stay that fully meets your expectations. Send us a message directly via this email "gr@shemsholidayvillage" and we'd love to talk more! Best regard. Guest Relations Alia Nasri.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy L wrote a review Sep 2023
11 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Anyone considering this hotel I beg you not to . I promise it is as bad as the reviews are on here .
Our flight was delayed resulting to us checking in at 3am .check in was easy , we had a lovely lad taking us to our ant infested dirty room .
Next morning we went down for breakfast late 950am and it was like a cattle market and a tip at same time .. hotel said it’s certain religions fault .. ok so next morning we went for breakfast when the doors open . Flies everywhere . Filthy floor from dinner day before .. now that isn’t anyone’s fault but the hotel ..
my 7 year old was going up the stairs to water slide and a very rude lad ( Algerian ) pushed her resulting in a huge bruise on shoulder. She came down the slide and my 17 year old son was waiting at bottom to catch her and a fully grown man ( Algerian ) tried tipping her off the rubber ring as he wanted to use it . Honestly the people are lethal with no manners .
***NOW FOR THE WORSE BIT**
Certain religions pooing in pool .. hotel said they don’t believe in putting swim nappies on baby’s . LIES .. the video evidence I have of the life guards taking poo out is definitely not a child’s !!! Other people who were at the hotel said it’s been happening all week !!! Hotel just took poo out and put it in a bin 30 footsteps from pool . Absolutely disgusting ! Worse 3 days of my life . We got moved to a new hotel which was amazing.
I also do believe that bad reviews are been deleted as people mentioned other religions 🙄
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Just avoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Shems, Service clients/Réception at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Responded 3 weeks ago
Cher Wendy. Je suis vraiment désolé d'apprendre votre expérience décevante dans notre hôtel. Vos commentaires nous sont inestimables et nous nous excusons sincèrement pour les lacunes de notre service que vous avez soulignées. Nous regrettons sincèrement d'avoir pris connaissance, tardivement, de votre avis. Nous vous informons toutefois que nous avons entrepris des mesures correctives immédiates. C'est pourquoi nous avons mis en place de nouvelles rénovations avec une nouvelle équipe de direction afin de mieux suivre nos équipes de restauration et de nettoyage et nos services en général. Nous espérons regagner votre confiance et vous accueillir à nouveau pour vous offrir un séjour à la hauteur de vos attentes. Envoyez-nous un message directement via cet email "gr@shemsholidayvillage" et nous serions ravis d'en parler davantage ! Meilleure considération. Relations clients Alia Nasri.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camper50582779180 wrote a tip Jun 5
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No cash machine "
Read full review
Sara Koujji wrote a tip Jun 4
Vlasotince, Serbia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would suggest having your internet if you need it. "
Read full review
781ita wrote a tip Sep 2023
Ashford, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"plenty of loungers around the pools, the beach was a very small strip of sands full of algae.. not as pictured at all"
Read full review
Wendy L wrote a tip Sep 2023
11 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just avoid "
Read full review
michael wrote a tip Sep 2023
Rotherham, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book be warned even if it’s cheap to avoid disappointment"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Monastir area.
PRICE RANGE
$59 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TunisiaMonastir GovernorateMonastir
NUMBER OF ROOMS
633
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHEMS HOLIDAY VILLAGE & AQUAPARK - Tripadvisor - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Which popular attractions are close to Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark?
Nearby attractions include Musee Habib Burguiba (4.3 miles), Karting Monastir (1.7 miles), and Caval-héros (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malibu Space, Ali bar, and Restaurant At Bibichou's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Medina of Sousse (5.2 miles).
Is Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Monastir HotelsMonastir Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MonastirHotels near Shems Holiday Village & Aquapark
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars