We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropica Resort and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 145: English reviews
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed August 19, 2015

I loved this boutique hotel. Comfortable, clean rooms. Very pleasant staff. Small pool that is a perfect place to unwind in the evening after a long day of diving. And when you exit, you are on Beach Road in Patong, right next to Bangla Road and all the action. One can hear the noise from Bangla at night, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael_Lieberman
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear MichaelLieberman, Thank you for your review and appreciation of what the resort has to offer. We try our best to limit the noise and to create a location where you can relax as much as possible and make the most of the nearby amenities that make Patong a fun place to visit. We are glad you that you enjoyed...

Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

right in the middle of patong situated / the houses a about 30 years old and wasted (the delux ones got nice bathrooms). It has an nice garden. But in the evening the discos, bars and clubs just several meter away starting to be realy loud !! i got no sleep without my oropax / and you can not relax...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georg H
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Georg H, We appreciate your review and comments and recently undertook a renovation to improve both the facilities and maximise the convenience of the location. Other guests appreciate the fact that they are able to relax but we do understand that being more noise sensitive can make a difference to your stay. We do, however, offer rooms that are...

Changsha, China
Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

1970s throwback.... Useless staff. Bad decor. Dirty pool. I booked several nights here and as soon as I walked in the room I wanted to kick myself. I would rather have not come. Yes it's close to the bars and party's but at 4am I can still hear the bass from my "bungalow". Cold shower. No temperature control at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderingfatguy
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear wanderingfatguy, Further to your review, we would like to answer as follows. We have undertaken renovations in most of the rooms to improve the rooms. The pool is cleaned regularly and our staff are on hand 24 hours a day if there is an issue – say with the temperature control of the shower – that may need fixing....

Perth, Australia
Reviewed July 27, 2015 via mobile

Planning our last nights dinner in Patong 19/7/2015 we choose the Tropica for something nice. Arrived 7.15 slow to take drinks order then serve them. 7.45 ordered entree to be told they had sold out, 2nd choice spring rolls, quiet greasy and oily. My husband ordered Filet Mignon and I morrocan chicken. The filet mignon arrived 3 very small pieces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Tia S
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Maria Tia S, Further to your feedback, we would like to address your points as follows. On occasion, more popular entrees do run out. Filet mignon is not necessarily always cooked or served with bacon – this does depend on the chef’s preference. We agree that the staff may not have known about the bacon request being locals and...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed July 5, 2015

Met by some lovely ladies at check in and was in my room in no time. The room itself was actually a bungalow and it was very nice. The bed was huge and comfortable but i did have an issue with the weak flow of water in the shower, not a big deal for me but might be for others...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ilovetha
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ilovetha, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us, We are glad that you enjoyed your room and, though we do try to maintain a constant water flow, this is also due to provision by the local authorities. We have noted your comments regarding breakfast but were pleased to read that overall, your stay was...

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

This is a review for the restaurant. The menu is big and filled with a lot of choices to pick from. The food was good. Service was a bit slow, the place was packed full!!! So that might have been the reason. It's filled with ceiling fans making you experience even better. Location is the best thing, it's right on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aje302
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear aje302, Thank you for your review. Yes, the restaurant is very popular at times so we hope that the slightly slower service did not spoil your meal too much. We hope that we can welcome you back perhaps to discover some of the rooms, garden and pool that lie just behind and make this a hidden gem right in...

Muscat Governorate, Oman
Reviewed April 2, 2015 via mobile

The resort is all about location location location.. Right in the heart of all the excitement in Phuket.. Clean rooms, good service, reception staff were very helpful... Worth staying 2 days if you are in Phuket for a week.. 100 meters from the beach and Bangla Road... Room size is a little small though...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank VikramBhatia
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear VikramBhatia, We so agree about location and this is the perfect place if you want to make the most of being right in the heart of it all and not have too far to go home after a fun night out. We do have various styles of room so, on your next visit, let us know and we will...

Kent
Reviewed March 19, 2015

We are in our last few days of our 2 week stay at Tropica Bungalows. The rooms are lovely the breakfast is great and the pool area is clean, tidy and very peaceful. You really wouldn't realise you are just around the corner from Bangla Road with all its hustle and bustle. It is a great location if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CaroldKent
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CaroldKent, It was really nice to read how good a time you had and that you were able to make the most of the daytime relaxation and nighttime activities within such easy walking distance. This is what makes the hotel so popular. We very much hope that we will be welcoming you back and let us know in advance...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 3, 2015

We visited the Restaurant on a 2 day stop over in Patong, we ordered a bottle of wine it was one of the 2 bottles advertised as wine of the month (we usually have 1 or 2 bottles with a meal) the wine was undrinkable. we asked to try the other wine of month, and was told if they opened...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John P
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear John P, We are sorry to hear that your experience was not a good one and will ensure that this is not repeated. Please accept our apologies and we hope that this did not spoil your holiday. Team Tropica

Swanage
Reviewed January 3, 2015

Staff in reception were always smiling and were incredibly friendly and helpful. Free Breakfast was good and we were given a 20% off food and a 10% off drink voucher to use in the restaurant throughout our stay, which was a nice gesture and saved us a couple of Baht. The room was great, the WiFi always worked, the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlie H
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Charlie H, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your comments regarding the helpful staff as well as the facilities which we will pass on. We understand that with the beach across the road the pool was not needed but it is a great place to relax and chill so hopefully you can make the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (134)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (101)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#151 of 319 in Patong
269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#97 of 319 in Patong
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#112 of 319 in Patong
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#91 of 319 in Patong
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#39 of 319 in Patong
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropica Hotel & Restaurant is located just a few meters from the beach in Patong. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Address: 132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Price Range: $37 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropica Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropica Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropica Hotel Patong
Tropica Resort And Restaurant Patong, Phuket
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tropica Resort and Restaurant staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tropica Resort and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The superior bungalow is the best room. If loud music bothers you, ask for room from the Soi Bangla side.”
453anujk, 2 days ago | Read review
“The Poolside rooms are on the ground level. The Honeymoon rooms require stair use, however these are very nice rooms for the money.”
Pizzaman59, Mar 20, 2017 | Read review
“A room on the opposite side to Bangla road.”
WarrenS125, Feb 6, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter”
thomaswV2133RH, Jan 28, 2017 | Read review
“In the buildings for light”
didibell, Jan 25, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question