We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Xanadu 2008

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Xanadu 2008
See the most recent reviews
Showing 341: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed August 31, 2011

after checking out of another resort close by came across xanadu.great service and food beautiful gardens.felt like home.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peter s
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 1 night and two full days. Really have no complains whatsoever. Dennis was extremely helpful and a joy to just sit around and chat with. He helped us plan our two full days in Kanachanburi which included Visit to the Kwai River bridge and long tail boat rides and dinner for our first...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MobLe
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a very nice and affordable little property, with simple but immaculately clean rooms/cottages and a lovely little stretch of riverfront. It's a bit out of the way (about 10 km out of Kanchanaburi town) and hard to find on your own, but well worth the extra effort. A couple of minor complaints: (1) the mattresses are rock-hard, (2)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cecio
nongbua, Owner at Xanadu 2008, responded to this review

Unfortunately,due to hard work and dehydration Dennis was not able to work as normal for a couple of days.After a short stay in hospital and some rest he is fighting fit and more determined than ever to provide a great service for all our valued guests.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Dennis & Nee were fantastic hosts and made you feel at home straight away. We had decided to stay for 6 nights after reading many positive reviews and we still wished we had stayed longer. Everything about this place was perfect; the bungalows were very reasonably priced and clean; the food was amazing; the location was idyllic and we couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jo1991
Ireland
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Xanadu is a great place to stay. Denis and Nee are the most friendly and helpful people we met. Nee cooking is fantastic and the whole family enjoyed every meal. They made us feel at home. The rooms are spacious and the grounds are great with a lovely swimming pool. Denis organised a great tour of the main sites for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjm7856
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed here and it could not have been more enjoyable. The only potential drawback is that is it not in town, but I preferred the more laid-back spot right on the river. The rooms are large and very clean - even the A/C worked great. The grounds were immaculately kept, as was the pool. I had a great time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bluebumpus
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Though this place is 10 kilometers away from town, but it was not a big deal for us. Taxi is available on call for 180 baht one way. The food at the resort is very delicious, Mrs.Nee is the best cook. Her food tastes fabulous (5 stars). Mr.Dennis is very helpful to his customers and very kind.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hudaolan
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent 5 nights of our honeymoon at Xanadu in May 2011 and it was perfect. The bungalows are located on a beautiful stretch of the river Kwai, amongst very well kept gardens FULL of lizards & chickens. It is out of the main town but this was no problem at all, all the tours pick you up & drop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jpmiller704
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed on. The location is gorgeous, the management and staff, excellent. We were made to feel right at home and more than a little spoiled. It's really an oasis.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candy321
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Xanadu is the best hotel that we stayed at in six months in South East Asia. The owners, Dennis and Nee, could not be more friendly and welcoming and they bent over backwards to help out at every opportunity. Dennis is the perfect host and always happy to arrange any sightseeing / taxis etc that you might want and give...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeandliddy
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

575 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (228)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (347)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Family Bungalow (120)
Viewed
Premier Room (60)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Room (68)
Viewed
Swimming & Spa Pool (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.0 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
905 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
155 reviews
2.9 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
302 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#12 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $27 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Xanadu 2008 staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Xanadu 2008 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are quiet and nicely designed, I don't think some are better located than others.”
 of 5 bubbles SanookTrat, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Probably best to have a vehicle to stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Siriusbooks, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seem great.”
 of 5 bubbles 960shaid, May 1, 2016 | Read review
“Go there if you want to relax”
 of 5 bubbles PraveeNegi, Feb 16, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in bungalow 8 which is completely detached.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilGordon208, Dec 9, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question