We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass

Save
Share
109 Moo 9 Ban Had Ngew, Kanchanaburi 70150 Thailand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$123
View deal
Hotels.com
Only 2 left at
$141
View deal
Vio.com
$102
View deal
Expedia.com$141
Priceline$123
Travelocity$141
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (609)
Room & Suite (255)
Dining (126)

About

#2 of 134 Specialty lodging in Kanchanaburi
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass is an exceptionally river tented camp resort 'Glamping' in Kanchanaburi stunningly located on a upon the pinnacle of Hintok mountain in Kanchanaburi, Thailand where the historical river, River Kwai runs through.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Boating
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Car hire
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

Full view
Contact
109 Moo 9 Ban Had Ngew, Kanchanaburi 70150 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Bangkok Intl Airport131 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
665Reviews13Q+A76Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 305
  • 247
  • 81
  • 24
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kar0n wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom250 contributions122 helpful votes
+1
What can I say if you want an adventure ; social place ; good food and still some comfort when camping this is the place to go . It’s a little far out but so worth the journey . The staff are friendly , the food served outside all together in the camp was first rate & it was such a social fun evening meeting people from around the world . It’s lit so beautifully the whole thing is magical The tents are equipped more than most 5star hotels so very comfortable but fun to stay in . Well lit to walk around and the natural pools are an amazing bonus really scenic Sat at night overlooking the river couldn’t be more magical highly recommend this place and it’s tours / cookery we had such a full day trip on longtail boats
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Go open minded - no shops but they give you all food & drink
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kar0n, Thank you for your recent stay at Hintok River Camp and sharing valuable perspective. We are delighted to learn that in overall, the latest guest received a pleasant experience while spending memorable moment with our quality accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davis wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
A truely memorable experience. Tents great with all mod cons, so comfortable, slept really well both nights. Monks like to give you an early morning alarm but it all adds to the charm. Our guide Lam was brilliant so patient, kind and we had a Thai cooking lesson with him and it was the best green curry we've ever had. Food was really good quality and plentiful. The plunge pool was so cool and refreshing. All in all just fab time and Lam made the experience even better.5 stars 😀
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Dear Davistour, Thank you for your recent stay at Hintok River Camp and sharing valuable perspective. We are delighted to learn that in overall, the latest guest received a pleasant experience while spending memorable moment with our quality accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Snowy9999 wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom92 contributions56 helpful votes
Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day/2 night visit to the Hintok pass campsite. The rooms are lovely and the tours were very well organised, with no wasted time at all. We particularly enjoyed the visit to a Mon village and spent half a day here The staff here are excellent – friendly, patient, helpful and always smiling. Special mention to Lan (our brilliant tour guide) and the restaurant manager (who makes a mean papaya salad!) The campsite also has a natural plunge pool, fed by a small spring as it tumbles down the hillside. We had two tents – spacious with very clean bathrooms. The breakfast and supper buffet was superb. Plenty of choice and some excellent curries! There is something very special about going to sleep listening to the cacophony of sound from the forest around you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Try a massage - impressive
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Dear Snowy9999, Thank you for your recent stay at Hintok River Camp and sharing valuable perspective. We are delighted to learn that in overall, the latest guest received a pleasant experience while spending memorable moment with our quality accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret M wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom61 contributions57 helpful votes
We did a 2 night/3 day trip from Bangkok. Excellent guides (Lam and Sam) who took care of us very professionally. Sam was on the transfers and Lam at the camp. Lam provided us with lots of information on the area and local knowledge was extensive. Both spoke very good English Tent was very comfortable. We had no issues with hot water or WiFi as mentioned in other reviews but the camp was very quiet with few guests when we were there Food was excellent quality and plentiful. My only comment would be if anything there was too much food !! Would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Jan 27, 2022
Dear margaretmZ3569DT, Thank you for your recent stay at Hintok River Camp and sharing valuable perspective. We are delighted to learn that in overall, the latest guest received a pleasant experience while spending memorable moment with our quality accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rollo P wrote a review Jan 2022
Payson, Arizona16 contributions5 helpful votes
Two nights here with the kids, grandkids and Nana were just about perfect. The tents raised several feet off of the ground have all the amenitites of a hotel room - wifi, showers, hot water, frig and coffee pots. A wide deck connected out two tents. The River CSituated above the River Kwai, the site offers walking and bike riding trails and the area is easy access by road to other areas. amp offers a modest breakfas buffet and a super Thai-style buffet in the evenings - with more than 20 different pots and skillets. I would stay again, but might bring some warmer clothes for December's cool mornings.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Jan 13, 2022
Dear rollop2020, Thank you for your recent stay at Hintok River Camp and sharing valuable perspective. We are delighted to learn that in overall, the latest guest received a pleasant experience while spending memorable moment with our quality accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mattswim wrote a review Dec 2021
Bangkok, Thailand8 contributions14 helpful votes
3 night stay at a very special place for my family (descendants of POW) - our 2nd time at this hotel and it is a mixed bag. The location is 5 star, the food has great taste (buffet dinners) but the food is not hot regularly. Breakfast is below average with poor logistics and if a certain staff member has their day off that food item will not be available (lack of training?). The rooms are clean and cleaned well the next day. Beds are comfortable. Showers are not hot, luke warm at best. At night they have a fire and if your cabin is in close vicinity of the fire area (about 10 rooms) you may get large doses of kerosene wafts as the staff keep the fire lit (even if there is only one couple sitting by the fire). It is overall a good place and we will most likely go there again in 2022 but there is a desperate need for a proactive manager to tidy up the easy fix loose ends. Incredible scope for effective management. Wifi is hit and miss (but you are in the jungle).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Jan 6, 2022
Dear Mattswim, Thank you for your recent stay at Hintok River Camp and sharing valuable perspective. We are delighted to learn that in overall, the latest guest received a pleasant experience while spending memorable moment with our quality accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Milena S wrote a review Dec 2021
New York City, New York6 contributions7 helpful votes
What an excellent plce on earth. Top class service from the staff - especially our guide Roland. He speaks fluent English - understands tourist needs. Also excellent food - the dinner was served outside in a nice atmosphere. The natural swimmingpool is an excellent place to relax.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Dec 27, 2021
Dear Milena S, Thank you for your recent stay at Hintok River Camp and sharing valuable perspective. We are delighted to learn that in overall, the latest guest received a pleasant experience while spending memorable moment with our quality accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nok_Chanokporn wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangkok, Thailand274 contributions67 helpful votes
Tent was big, tidy and clean. BarBQ dinner menus are not so variety but tastes was good. (Thai food) I like the evening time, the resort open the music at the dinner area. So chill 😌 one area to improve is the WiFi internet.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Dear Nok_Chanokporn, Thank you for taking the time to share your Hintok River Camp experience. We are delighted that you had a great stay. Regarding the Wi-Fi issue, we will check whether there is something wrong with the connection and resolve this. Should your travels bring you back this way, we hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Hintok River Camp team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bangkokian wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangkok, Thailand25 contributions29 helpful votes
Spent 2 nights and booked 3 tents at Hintok River Camp. I booked directly with the resort and reservation was efficient. Arrival was fine but once we entered the tent (305) we were really unconfirmed with strong cat pee smell and old moisture. Bedsheet was smelly and as the place is so so humid so everything smelt bad. We informed the resort and next day HK spray in our tent. Was a bit better but still this “cat pee” smell was still there. By the way there are many cats in the camp. First night we had BBQ buffet dinner which was part of your package. Overall limited choice of food and average quality and taste. For our first breakfast a buffet was offered with same very limited amount of food and overall poor food quality. We did rafting on the river. Booked through the camp, overall was fine. Second night we also have again BBQ dinner included and upon arrival at dining area nothing set up. Staff informed we will get food served at table. We were a bit frustrated as we haven’t been informed before about this. But food quantity and quality was much better compared to first night. Second breakfast was same. Wasn’t informed there will no buffet but just ordering directly to the staff. Food and coffee was again really below average. One person of our group went to the spa, we did ordered drinks at their bar.. overall we spent more than 20,000 baht at the place and honestly not worth it. Hintok charge 4/5* pricing and excluding tax/service charge but this is 1* service. I have been to many resorts all around Thailand and it is the first place where you pay expensive and you see staff always seating doing nothing, eating their dinner front of you once doing the food at the buffet area, seating the bar area on sofas eating when you as guest you are also there. On departure there was 4 to 6 people seating front of our tents one hour before we will checkout waiting for us to leave and to clean the tents. Went to visit their small museum and again one staff seating there eating with a kid. Every where and at any time Of the day you see always staff seating and eating. Really this place charge high price and ++ but they offer really really low class service. Staff have no service mind, no service skills. I want to tell to the owner that it is not because you are a bit remote resort you can charge 5* price and offering very low class service. Take care your place, inspect your tents, improve cleaning, improve maintenance, improve smell, improve food quality, improve your service by overseeing your staff. The owner should be honest to his guest by giving them accordingly to what they pay for! Also I recalled that we wanted to order food at the restaurant but all dishes we wanted wasn’t available and actually staff said can’t cook now as chef busy doing something else. For me it is the first and last I will stay at Hintok River Camp and I will not recommend to anyone. There is much better resorts near by which are much modern and selling at lower price. This is what annoying me the most at Hintok River Camp, they charging high rate, high minibar, high beverages, high spa and you received very poor quality. I felt I have been cheated!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Nov 9, 2020
Dear travelenjoyrepeat, Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that we take guest feedback seriously.Your booking on our direct channel indicates your stay during 3-5 Nov. We have conducted full investigation and found as follows; The smell was not the cat pee. It is hardly possible that cats went inside the tent unless any guests opened the tent for it. However we checked and found that musty smell came from the flooring material. We have spotted the issue and fixed accordingly. We apologize for this inconvenience. We could have changed your room. We are sorry for the communication issue that did not notify you upfront wether we arrange a la carte or buffet style. Our FB team was sorry for it. Due to the fact that the kitchen was at the center of the camp, we normally set a movable screen wall to blind that part. It was broken and in repairment which should be good now. We again apologize for this inconvenience. We are sorry for the experience you had this time. We really look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Hintok River Camp team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pjpj1234 wrote a review Sep 2020
Bangkok, Thailand2 contributions
very nice staff but need an improvment on dirty ice in cups. very loud guests next to my tent woke me up since 6 am. oh and your museum is in the worst condition. would be nice to have a more professional one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Dear pjpj1234 Thank you for your recent stay at Hintok River Camp @Hellfire Pass - Kanchanaburi. We are sorry for the inconvenience you may had. We will check with the operation manager to investigate and improve as per your observation. Thank you once again for visiting us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Hintok River Camp
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hintok river camp hotel kanchanaburi
LOCATION
ThailandKanchanaburi ProvinceKanchanaburi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HINTOK RIVER CAMP AT HELLFIRE PASS $93 ($̶1̶3̶3̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Campground Reviews - Kanchanaburi, Thailand

Frequently Asked Questions about Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass
Which popular attractions are close to Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass?
Nearby attractions include Mon Tribal Village (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass?
Conveniently located restaurants include Off Road Kitchen, Khrua ASA, and Yuk Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hintok River Camp at Hellfire Pass?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.