We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82190 Thailand
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$42
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$37
View deal
Priceline
Expedia.com$43
travelup.com$65
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2935)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (701)

About

#22 of 86 hotels in Khao Lak
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
Welcome to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, carefully designed so that our guests will experience a new dimension in comfort and luxury while maintaining the original concept of a private holiday within a natural and peaceful environment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Billiards
Table tennis
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Bottled water
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
2195Reviews392Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,342
  • 670
  • 136
  • 31
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sharon m wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
+1
Really enjoyed our stay at Moracea, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they amazing! We had some amazing encounters with the wildlife. The lizards are just beautiful, don’t be surprised if one just casually swims by you whilst in the pool! We also had the privilege to see a monkey up close whilst relaxing. They have a happy hour each evening. I do think the prices are a bit expensive on site, but it is what it is, we tended to spend our evenings in the main town 15-20 walk or 150 baht Tuk Tuk ride. There is also a beach bar not even 5 minute walk. Turn left on the beach and it just past the huge rock, food is traditional Thai only but beautiful! I would definitely return to the Moracea Thank you for an amazing holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lee G wrote a review Yesterday
7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Superb hotel with great facilities. Wonderful friendly, happy, helpful staff. Excellent beach front location. Breakfast was excellent as was happy hour! We were only there for three nights but it felt like a few weeks. So relaxing. We loved it!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Spinach and Patty’s restaurants in town are good. Acoustic bar superb. A walk along beach to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
M-S wrote a review Aug 8
London, United Kingdom25 contributions29 helpful votes
Moracea is a beautiful location, and the aesthetics of the resort are wonderful set against a hillside at the southern end of the beach strip. Thailand having only just opened up to tourists was such that the resort was extremely quiet with in volume and numbers (a very good thing!) such that it was gorgeously peaceful and that the resort was only just getting back on its feet opening up little by little on a need basis room by room / booking by booking with a lot of maintenance to undertake following 2+ years of abandonment (please note that this was not exclusive to Moracea and therefore not a criticism, this was the general situation in Khao Lak which was a ghost town on our first day with almost all shops, eateries, massage and others all shut, boarded up or locked up which wasn't the environment or atmosphere that we were expecting at all but not the fault of Khao Lak, but Covid!) Sadly the beach bar was closed and the swim-up bar & Butterfly pool were shut for maintenance, but in true Thai style the staff and workmen all worked extremely hard and we saw vast improvements every day. We were extremely lucky to be at Moracea since my 4km walk north along the beach only showed me how unkempt and destroyed some resort gardens and beach fronts are and how this coast has suffered neglect during the pandemic. The beach at Moracea was stunning, completely clean, and yes a few yellow sandbags in place where necessary on the beach wall where the wall had obviously suffered damage in the last 2 years. White bags would have looked better but they were neatly in place and necessary until the wall can be fixed so total sympathy with the groundsmen for this especially when compared to the lack of any maintenance that I saw at the other resorts that I walked past. Our Hibiscus Deluxe rooms were gorgeous, clearly had just been spruced up and the paintwork freshened up to provide really wonderful rooms which were incredibly spacious, a lovely big window seat sitting area perfect to lie on to read or to relax, a huge bathroom with a separate shower cubicle and loo just off the bathroom. So well done and we loved it. Far more space than I would ever have imagined. We were on a Bed & breakfast basis and thought the breakfasts were very good - perhaps the juices could have been freshly squeezed and more variety of fruit but other than than a wide range of choice from noodles, to cereals, pastries, cold meats, eggs etc.. and all served in the big airy restaurant facing the beach which was lovely first thing in the morning. We walked into Khao Lak (a very easy 15 minute walk) every evening for supper and were lucky to find 3 amazing restaurants (Mojo, Bussaba and Jasmine) all near the main traffic lights run by the same Thai lady Joy , and also an excellent supermarket on the corner by the lights. So, not exactly the holiday we expected, Covid is to blame for that but the Thais are working desperately hard to get things back on track, finding staff/workers is a problem currently but every day things are improving and heading back to what will be normal soon. Khao Lak was deserted (never a need to book a table, but we saw that as a bonus and plus the restaurants were so pleased to see people), and thank goodness that we had booked Moracea where again we had a much quieter stay but we are lucky to have been to beautiful Thailand again and stayed on such a beautiful piece of beach! Unlucky with a lot of rain though ! A suggestion for Moracea - the top floor in the main reception building is never used, and the table tennis and pool tables are not used much due to their locations (the table tennis table always covered up and the pool table in a small room feeling a bit remote). My whole family (5 adults) all suggest that these are both moved up to the top floor to become a good games room as it is such a lovely space up there! Also the area by the shut beach bar where the beach towels are left could be improved and made to look smarter? Also when it rains and Zilk bar is closed all the furniture is piled up in the middle under the big sail and doesn't look very good - I understand that it needs to be protected from the rain but perhaps somewhere else? We were also disappointed on one occasion that it was raining and both the Bambu Bar and the Silk Bars were closed during their consecutive Happy Hours but no provision was made for any other access to Happy Hour drinks which was a great shame but am sure that can be easily remedied! The Spa was fabulous too - we all had massages and would recommend. All in all, a huge thank you for a wonderful holiday at a time when Thailand is still working hard to recover from the pandemic !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daeng Nithithoranan, Guest Services / Front Office at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear Maria S, Good morning from Moracea by Khaolak Resort. I would like to express our warm gratitude for choosing to stay at Moracea by Khaolak Resort for your recent holiday in Khaolak, and taking your precious time to post and sharing your experiences at Moracea and Khaolak area. Sincerely thank you very much for understanding the current situation. As you mentioned the sandbag, it’s every year in low season, we need some sandbag for period of time to protect sea water when it extremely high, if not, the whole beachfront become Bungalows and restaurant become underwater. We thank you for your patronage and we very much hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Yours, Sun
Read more
cdnhawk2016 wrote a review Aug 6
Bangkok, Thailand74 contributions167 helpful votes
Pros: Great views of the sea, spacious room with big bathroom and balcony, friendly staff Cons: A bit isolated. It was a 15 minute walk to find restaurants and coffee shops outside the resort, some of the polls needed some TLC (leaves not swept), the buffet breakfast was just OK
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daeng Nithithoranan, Guest Services / Front Office at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear cdnhawk2016, Good morning from Moracea by Khaolak Resort,Thailand. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay with us at Moracea by Khaolak Resort. It is always a great pleasure to hear that our guests had a fan stay and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the rooms that you had and your holiday with us. I certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Yours, Sun
Read more
sleebags wrote a review Jul 2022
Baildon, United Kingdom5 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here as a large family (11 people) for the first leg of our trip. Positives - lush beach, friendly staff and some quirky local wildlife. Not so great - breakfast (excluding the noodle bar - is really basic). Facilities - need maintenance and cleaning. Lunch/dinner options - poor and very pricey. Location - cut off from decent places to eat. We paid a taxi every night to drive us out to eat. Service - don’t expect to have empties/dirty plates cleared in a hurry. If you’re considering Khao Lak I’d suggest the Merlin down the road or the other hotels on that strip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KatSale wrote a review Jul 2022
Sale, Victoria54 contributions22 helpful votes
A family holiday in May 2022 originally booked with 3 Hibiscus Pool Access rooms but they were not available (only part of the resort was open) and upgraded to Zeavola Deluxe Beachfront were we only stayed for one night due to heaps of rain and wind (not the resort's fault as it was the rainy season) making the verandahs unusable and we did not like the fact the main road of the resort was directly in front of the rooms with constant foot and vehicle traffic. Upon request we were moved to the Zeavola Deluxe Bungalows which gave better access to the pool and more protection from the wind. Both rooms were great and it was our decision to move and the hotel staff handled our request courteously and promptly. Breakfast, spa and staff were excellent and we were given late checkout on request. We did have a deal the entitled us to 3 dinners per week and as we were staying for two week we found the food a bit monotonous as you can only order certain items on the menu. Housekeeping was great and we enjoyed stay and are returning in October this year!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Base room selection on the time of stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daeng Nithithoranan, Guest Services / Front Office at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mathal, Good morning from Moracea by Khaolak Resort,Thailand. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay with us at Moracea by Khaolak Resort. It is always a great pleasure to hear that our guests had a lovely stay and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the rooms that you had, our services and location at Moracea. I am very much appreciate all of your kind compliments and recommendations and for recognizing the services from the staffs. I certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Yours, Sun
Read more
Kat M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort is truly a gem within the jungle. The resort itself is beautiful and boasts views of the beachfront from essentially every room. Basque in the sun by one of the many pools or partake in a traditional Thai massage from their luxurious spa during your stay. The staff is all-around amazing and are willing to go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. 100% recommend to anyone looking to have a relaxing getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daeng Nithithoranan, Guest Services / Front Office at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kat M Greetings from Moracea by Khaolak Resort! It is a pleasure to receive your kind review. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are proud to have been a great location and made your holiday most enjoyable. Thank you again for sharing your view of your holiday experience from Moracea and we looking forward to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Sun Front Office Manager
Read more
Leaglmt wrote a review Jul 2022
Vauvert, France3 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked this hotel for our first stay in Thailand and we were more than disappointed! Upon our arrival after more than 24 hours of travel we are told that the room is not ready (we arrived at 2 p.m.), we asked for a free upgrade since the hotel was almost empty and we were told that it was not possible because the hotel was full!! The quality of breakfast needs to be reviewed, there are undrinkable industrial fruit juices which is a shame in a country like Thailand. And finally the housekeeper stole money from us, unfortunately we just forgot one day to store the money in the chest and going up from breakfast the housekeeper was in the room and when she left we noticed the theft, we went to complain at the reception we were dealing with haughty people who did not take our problem seriously. Nobody told us what to do we were just told "wait wait" on the day of our departure we asked for a gesture on the final note for the problem and once again we were taken from above by telling us that we may have lost the money outside ourselves (while we were not out of the hotel this morning there) and that we should have gone to the police (we had never been told that either) in short I really advise you against this hotel where the staff is bad and haughty. Only positive point are the two waitresses of the restaurant of the ing pha and expensive hotel who were really two very nice and attentive people! Otherwise for all these problems and lack of respect, go your way!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daeng Nithithoranan, Guest Services / Front Office at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Greetings from Moracea, Thank you for your 2nd review posted of complaining about your lost money. You arrived at the hotel at 13:21 hours. The standard check-in 14:00 hours. If the room is available and every guests can check-in early, if not, have to wait 14:00 hours. Again that you mentioned about the Free Upgrade. How do you know that the hotel is almost empty? You received a cheap room and you want to get free upgrade to higher category? Shame on you ladies!. You mentioned about the breakfast and only 2 of you making such trouble for the breakfast. (About your lost money) You mentioned that, while you were having breakfast and the house-keeping was cleaning the room and when you came back from the breakfast, the house keeping just finished cleaning the room then, you noticed that you lost money from your wallet: Well, if you know that house-keeping stolen your money; in that morning at 09:30 you came to lobby and you were looking for 2 helmets because you rent a bike and you want to drive out with your bike. Within a minute we help you and found 2 helmets were hanging on your bike and then you drove off. At 15:30 you came back from outside and you passing lobby and you gave us a complaint that you lost money 2,800 baht and 20 Euro note. Dear Ladies!, If you knew that the house-keeping stole your money after you return back from breakfast and why did not complaint in that morning at 09:30 when you came to lobby looking for helmets but why you waited 7 hours later after you returned back from outside and you started complaint at 15:30 hours. What is this meaning exactly to you? Why you wait too long to complaint? We asked you to go to police station to give report and after that to claim with hotel insurance but you never want to give us cooperation. You are just simply asking the staff the lobby that you want money back. As you have hotel bills 5,931 baht, on the day of your departure, you were trying hotel to help you to get a reduction from that amount. So, this is all what you have been doing. Regards, Sun
Read more
Julia wrote a review Jul 2022
Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Moracea is a beautiful hotel complex. The transfer was very punctual, the hotel rooms were very clean and beautiful, the spa was very good, the food was delicious and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Everything was perfect! I have never experienced such kind and attentive service as in this hotel. I felt very welcome. Above all, a big thank you to the management and staff Max, A, Cher, Arm, Gai, Ing Fah and Big for this memorable stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daeng Nithithoranan, Guest Services / Front Office at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
DearJule_ko_2, Good morning from Moracea by Khaolak Resort,Thailand. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay with us at Moracea by Khaolak Resort. It is always a great pleasure to hear that our guests had a lovely stay and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the rooms that you had and your holiday with us. I am very much appreciate all of your kind compliments and recommendations and for recognizing the services from the restaurant staffs. I certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Yours, Sun
Read more
Julia K. wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
+1
Moracea is a wonderful hotel right on the beach. Incredibly courteous and kind service, very clean and beautiful hotel rooms, very good spa, great service and food. You feel welcome straight away. So far the best hotel I have stayed in! Thanks especially to Max, A, Cher, Arm, Gai, Ing Fah, Ken and Big for a memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daeng Nithithoranan, Guest Services / Front Office at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear jules_ko2104, Greetings from Moracea by Khaolak Resort, Thailand. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Moracea by Khaolak Resort. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guest had a fantastic stay and I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your holiday with us then, the team will be delighted to know that they had pleased you. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay with us soon. Yours, Sun
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$37 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
khao lak hotel khao lak
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Khao Lak Resort
LOCATION
ThailandPhang Nga ProvinceTakua PaKhao Lak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
207
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moracea By Khao Lak Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Moracea By Khao Lak Resort?
Nearby attractions include Merino Khaolak Tailor House (0.9 miles), John And James Fashion (0.6 miles), and John Armani Tailor (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moracea By Khao Lak Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Qcumber, Cafe' O Bar, and Walkers Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Moracea By Khao Lak Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Moracea By Khao Lak Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Moracea By Khao Lak Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Khao Lak.
Are any cleaning services offered at Moracea By Khao Lak Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Moracea By Khao Lak Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.