We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Villa Araliya

Show Prices
#16 of 39 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Araliya
Villa Araliya
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

A nice place: very clean and comfortable, friendly helpfull management, great pool area where they serve a good breakfast. Cash only is inconvenient, especially when they " dont have any change" f. I. when you pay for AirPort transfer. Price setting is somewhat steep when I compare to other accomodations I had in Sri Lanka, where $110 might carry you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coenwessels
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I cannot recommend this place highly enough . Beautiful rooms , and environment, sparkling swimming pool but most of all every one so friendly and helpful . Especially as I was on my own here . The owner Stephanie is a yoga teacher and runs yoga classes here which I unfortunately didn't manage to do. It was a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tasteful little escape. Arrived in the middle of the night after a long flight and checked in for a short sleep before heading East the next morning. Our room was spacious, rustic and very clean. We enjoyed a quick dip in the crystal clean pool before a simple but tasty brekkie washed down by several awesome cups of tea. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meishee_Lady
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Stayed in a beautiful villa with a gorgeous pool and gardens. The pool was a bonus as the beach in Negombo is not the best. The owners were very friendly and our children were particularly fond of the dogs, kittens and turtle. This was our last destination in Srilanka and it was the perfect end to our holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaym4440
London
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

Our least welcoming stay in Sri Lanka. Fortunately, it was for one night only. While every thing was clean and tidy, we were faced with notice after notice expounding the rules of the house from use of electricity to payment for using the pool towels. The breakfast was the least generous we had in Sri Lanka, possibly one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerrypmac
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

We spent here one night only and had to leave the following morning, so unfortunately we didn't get the chance to see the surrounding area. But that one night was perfect, in a clean and well serviced guesthouse with a local feel. Nice pool, friendly owners and a family atmosphere that made us feel at home. I recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garretti1983
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Many thanks for staying with us.

Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

This was to be our last night during a 16 day Sri Lankan holiday. We were impressed by the warmth of the Sri Lankan people until our Villa Araliya experience. The place did not look like the photos on the web site. It appeared shabby and in need of a polish. We were not told we could not pay by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne A
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Thanks for your write up, as i can clarify few things. I am the wife of the owner who you say became aggressive and insisted. I was there too and have seen all what went on. You checked in and you have told our staff how much you like the room, etc. Then you have used the room for at...

Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We landed in Colombo and took a room in this splendid pittoresque hotel. Well run, very good quality materials, nice staff and good cook. Wifi a bit slow (as in many hotels). We took a walk easily to the beach (no swimming) and tuk-tuk's to Negombo center, fish market, temples and lagoon. Stay there and stay away from the larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stef_Le_Frog
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comment.

Paris, France
Reviewed July 20, 2016

This hotel is well located near the touristy part of Negombo (BTW, the worst of the cities we visited during our tour of Sri Lanka). The hotel is just 10 minutes walking from the main strip (shops and restaurants) and the ocean. Rooms are OK, though the window in the bathroom offers no privacy. The staff was generally nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catello L
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to write a review.

India
Reviewed May 6, 2016

Villa Araliya was tucked away off the main road. The room was large and comfortable. We spent most of time in the pool or on the beach (5 mins walk on the opp side of the main road). The main road had plenty of shops and restaurants, walking out for a meal was not a problem. The hotel had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poonamc2010
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

474 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Apartment (72)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Triple Room (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 39 in Negombo
1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 39 in Negombo
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 39 in Negombo
717 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 39 in Negombo
863 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Villa Araliya

Address: 154/10 Poruthota Road | Kochchikade, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: $97 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Araliya Hotel Negombo
Araliya Hotel Negombo
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negombo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Villa Araliya staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Villa Araliya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had a downstairs room. it was lovely and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles josephinen959, Sep 26, 2015 | Read review
“Not one in the old building.”
 of 5 bubbles 110brianm, Mar 25, 2015 | Read review
“For a family, you'll get a house. Awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles LaureP633, Feb 26, 2015 | Read review
“Family apartment really good value”
 of 5 bubbles 984ashleighv, Aug 25, 2014 | Read review
“Our deluxe room was spacious with large bed”
 of 5 bubbles margaretwright, Mar 7, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay