We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Villa Araliya

Show Prices
#16 of 35 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Araliya
Villa Araliya
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our least welcoming stay in Sri Lanka. Fortunately, it was for one night only. While every thing was clean and tidy, we were faced with notice after notice expounding the rules of the house from use of electricity to payment for using the pool towels. The breakfast was the least generous we had in Sri Lanka, possibly one of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank gerrypmac
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

We spent here one night only and had to leave the following morning, so unfortunately we didn't get the chance to see the surrounding area. But that one night was perfect, in a clean and well serviced guesthouse with a local feel. Nice pool, friendly owners and a family atmosphere that made us feel at home. I recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank garretti1983
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Many thanks for staying with us. More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

This was to be our last night during a 16 day Sri Lankan holiday. We were impressed by the warmth of the Sri Lankan people until our Villa Araliya experience. The place did not look like the photos on the web site. It appeared shabby and in need of a polish. We were not told we could not pay by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne A
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Thanks for your write up, as i can clarify few things. I am the wife of the owner who you say became aggressive and insisted. I was there too and have seen all what went on. You checked in and you have told our staff how much you like the room, etc. Then you have used the room for at... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We landed in Colombo and took a room in this splendid pittoresque hotel. Well run, very good quality materials, nice staff and good cook. Wifi a bit slow (as in many hotels). We took a walk easily to the beach (no swimming) and tuk-tuk's to Negombo center, fish market, temples and lagoon. Stay there and stay away from the larger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stef_Le_Frog
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comment. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

This hotel is well located near the touristy part of Negombo (BTW, the worst of the cities we visited during our tour of Sri Lanka). The hotel is just 10 minutes walking from the main strip (shops and restaurants) and the ocean. Rooms are OK, though the window in the bathroom offers no privacy. The staff was generally nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catello L
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to write a review. More 

India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

Villa Araliya was tucked away off the main road. The room was large and comfortable. We spent most of time in the pool or on the beach (5 mins walk on the opp side of the main road). The main road had plenty of shops and restaurants, walking out for a meal was not a problem. The hotel had no... More 

Helpful?
Thank poonamc2010
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at Villa Araliya at the end of our (too short) holiday in Sri Lanka and we loved it! If we ever built our dream home, that would be it. We felt at home immediately and despite seeing other guests every now and then, it felt like we had the place to ourselves. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cat-lib
Sstephanie2009, Owner at Villa Araliya, responded to this review

Thanks great to hear, thanks! Hope to see you soon again. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

Staff were friendly. Found the hotel expensive at 125 USD per night - after discount. Hotel does not take credit or debit cards, which makes paying for large bills extremely difficult.... Cash only policy was so inconvenient we moved hotels during our stay. Close to the beach and short walk for some good bars and restaurants.

Helpful?
1 Thank SporeFlyer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

Checked in for 1 night...staff unfriendly from the moment we arrived. Had to wait for everything even though we had a booking. Checked in after 4pm and we couldn't go to our room as maintenance was fixing something. For 100 Dollars per night, the curtains were broken, the amenities were poor (no hair dryer??), staff unfriendly , breakfast was thrown... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016

An absolutely charming place, wonderful frangipani trees in a calm courtyard, with crystal clear pool and laid-back atmosphere. The gate is kept closed at all times, guaranteeing maximum privacy. There are animals on the premises (cats and dogs), but they weren’t disturbing at all. Our room was simple, but stylish. With a mediterranean flair I would say. A/C was good,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kasia_mip
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

472 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Apartment (72)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Triple Room (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 35 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#7 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 35 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dickman Resort
Dickman Resort
#2 of 35 in Negombo
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#10 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Villa Araliya

Address: 154/10 Poruthota Road | Kochchikade, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: $86 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Araliya Hotel Negombo
Araliya Hotel Negombo
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay