We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Beach Lodge & Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
177 Poruthota Road | Palagathurai, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Beach Lodge & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Whaw, what an excellent lunch/dinner option right on the beach (which is for the rest not very interesting). Also the prices were very honest! We ate the grilled crab and even our kids loved it and asked to come back to eat the delicious food here. Also the passion juice was excellent. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Katleen_12
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are ok. Negombo is nothing special. The hotel is right on the beach. The beach is very, very dirty. There is rubbish everywhere. You can not swim in the sea due to extreme current. The hotel is perfect to travel from there or to stay 1 night before departure.

Helpful?
Thank Peggolita L
Meerut
Level Contributor
197 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a hotel with zero negative issues yet I give  five because it had some of the essentials I was looking for in my Sri Lankan tour       The most impressive feature in this lodge was the long and uncluttered sandy beach in the backyard - some what like the private beaches one finds in high end beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjjohn
Srilankasbeachlodge, Owner at The Beach Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review

May I tell you that guests flow in and out, there are many to complain, of course there are the others who accept little faults and accept that they have got monies worth... Now on the other hand you have taken the time to give all readers the good and bad of a little guest house we call "" The... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great spot, really helpful and friendly operator & staff (like, REALLY helpful); clean & tidy rooms if a tad aged = very livable just don't expect 4-star. Food was excellent with dining at the edge of the sand and looking towards the beach/sea. Close by there are huge varieties of local and western-style food restaurants and bars, some very upmarket.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dan4dd
Saint-Malo, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Without a doubt the worst hotel of the 10 we stayed in during our trip to Sri Lanka, it also happened to be one of the most expensive! The service was dismal, the room was shabby and unclean, the air conditioning didn't work properly, nor did the wifi, the meal was also the worst we had during our trip and... More 

Helpful?
Thank bruce w
Ricky A, General Manager at The Beach Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are deeply sorry your experience with us has disappointed you and caused such a negative review. We fully wish to rectify all shortcomings with the various areas of service you've experienced. Most importantly and please note, we wish to clarify that you have NOT BEEN charged for your second night's reservation at our hotel. We have thoroughly... More 

Valletta, null, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

Great Location for a great value. Rooms are simple, clean, hosts are very friendly :)They also organized a 6 days trip for us with Sri Lanka Brother Tours. If you arent a luxury person, give this place a shot. It`s worth it

Helpful?
Thank Paula249
Srilankasbeachlodge, Owner at The Beach Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much, your comments tell the story by itself, as some guests try to cover their mistakes made by them complaining of the services and more, for personal gain... We go out of the way to give all our guests a memorable holiday, you have seen and commented about this.....its much appreciated. We are all human and there... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

Tasty food and great view on the beach under the cool of the trees despite it being over 30°. We visited a couple of times since we didn't find many cheap places on the beach. Try the seafood and you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Matt G
Srilankasbeachlodge, Owner at The Beach Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review

We of course accept ""constructive criticism"" still in your case we read a great comment and thank you .....remarks such as this tell guests what they are to accept, as we make every effort to see guests have a memorable stay, and when we read comments such as yours we feel its a job well done.. Please do return someday... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic laid back place we just strolled up to from the beach. Staff are attentive and friendly and the extensive menu (with lots of seafood) is helpfully arranged. Sri Lankan and western options abound. We initially came for a glass of chilled wine and beer. Then we returned for food. The crab (rs900) was so generous, grilled... More 

Helpful?
Thank M M
Srilankasbeachlodge, Owner at The Beach Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review

Unfortunately there is no better word than ""Thank You"" still it comes from the bottom of our heart.....we are delighted as you have said what you received, and we are proud of a job well done.. After all we do all possible to please you, coming from so far away .. Visit us once again ....... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

The Beach lodge is located right at the beach and as the name suggest is a lodge with simple basic room room facilities. Its clean, earthy, raw and the staff is extremely friendly. It took seconds for me to check in and reach my room. If you arent a luxury person, give this place a shot and i can vouch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kohli9raveena
Srilankasbeachlodge, Owner at The Beach Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review

Guests who appreciate and spell it out are few, so you can feel our delight... Thank you friends you have told others that we do our best to offer you a memorable holiday and that its rewarding Best wishes & many thanks More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2015. Lovely people , very friendly and willing to help with bookings etc. Service is typically Sri Lankan , slow , slow , and slower. Our room was on the ground floor and made up to have a nautical theme , not desirable and not conducive to clean floors as the sand gets... More 

Helpful?
Thank walter101
Ricky A, Front Office Manager at The Beach Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks very much for your review and your stay with us. We apologize for the delayed reply to your review, and want to assure you've we've taken serious note of your comments. Our rooms have had some changes in the weeks after Christmas, and the wattle and daub rooms are being redone so that their theme does not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#7 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#4 of 35 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#6 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#9 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 922 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are situated on the beach, just 20 minutes from the International Airport, and offer a homely atmosphere with personalised service; our visitors wall with comments from many countries confirms this. You may sun-bathe or relax - the beach is yours. The Beach Lodge--Where Waves Take Care Of Your Dreams. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Lodge & Restaurant

Address: 177 Poruthota Road | Palagathurai, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: $43 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Lodge & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Beach Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay