We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Horizon Guest House

81, Cemetery Road | Kudapaduwa, Negombo 031, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Blue Horizon Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Modern ensuite room of decent size. Tasteful communal areas with nice back garden. Great service. A couple of small maintenance issues, but this didn't detract from the experience too much. 5 mins walk from beach. 5 mins walk from a charming little tourist strip of a few great restaurants huddled together. Popular with Europeans. Reminds me of Cyprus.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Jetset497
zhaoqing
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

i just stayed one night with a few friends, the staff is very friendly and help, it is very rare that by the side of the reception the boiling water and tea and coffee are available all time for the guest and free of charge that is very good and convenient. the room is clean and neat, but my friends... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rantuswamy
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

Large room with balcony, fridge, hot shower, great a/c and wifi. Close to beach and places to eat. Staff are very very friendly and helpful. Tea and coffee on tap in reception. Breakfast fresh fruit, toast and eggs cooked to order. Great value.

Helpful?
2 Thank Law2833
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

This is a very basic guesthouse. The Manager is very nice and helpful and the breakfast was excellent with lovely fresh fruit to finish. However if you can afford a few extra dollars stay somewhere else. The room was very basic with items that were broken. The toilet was filthy and smelt awful. The holes in the mozzie nets were... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlanGJ53
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your time for writing a review about us even after few months. We are sorry to note that you were not satisfied. How ever we are pleased to inform you that all shortcomings you have mentioned on your review now has been fixed. we do it regularly in November each year before the season starts. More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

A/c, good wifi, walking distance to all the food and whatnot by the hotels. Could prob do those little things like make sure the window screens by the shower were securely closed to keep the Mosquitos out of the bathroom, but I had no qualms really. I'd come back here and stay again for sure

Helpful?
1 Thank Dingo2464
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

We arrived at about 21:30 (9:30pm) to the guest house and stayed only for few hours in the room. A person welcomed us gave us the keys to the rooms on the ground floor and left and was not reachable after our arrival at the reception desk. we wanted something to drink there was no one to serve. The TV... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZIVA69
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

We had a very pleasant stay in Blue Horizon. The managers were really friendly and the rooms were nice and tidy. In comparison with other hotels this hotel offered really good value for your money. The location is perfect and by using the short cut it is just a few minutes walk to the beach. Tip: This hotel doesn't have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten C
United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

Blue Horizon is nestled in an attractive and friendly neighborhood within easy walking distance to local fruit and food stands, the beach, and the main tourist drag. The rooms are comfortable and are complete with hot water, air conditioning, mosquito netting, free wifi, included breakfast (ask for the traditional string hopper breakfast), and self service all day tea and coffee... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess C
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Stayed 2 nights at $26 a night on single basis in Room 8. Spacious room with comfortable bed. Shower had good pressure and hot water. Lower ground room towards the back. Quiet and dark when needed made for a good sleep. Wifi worked well. A little tired and a few rough edges but great value at this price. Breakfast included... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJS1966
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Considering the cost of accommodation in Negombo, Blue Horizon is still very good value for money. However over the years, its quality has deteriorated due to lack of maintenance. Rooms 1,2 & 3 facing the road experience road noise. If the noise is not a problem, these rooms have the best balconies. Room 4 can be considered as the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank toa4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
0.1 mi away
Holiday Fashion Inn
Holiday Fashion Inn
#10 of 176 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Rani Inn
New Rani Inn
#27 of 176 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barracuda Beach Inn
Barracuda Beach Inn
#55 of 118 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Tourist Guest House
2.3 mi away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#13 of 176 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Horizon is only 15 - 20 minutes from the International Airport and only approx 100 mtrs from the beach. An approved guest house by the Ceylon Tourist Board since 1981.Now BLUE HORIZON guests can enjoy organized tours in Sri Lanka from 02 to 14 days for an unbelievable price. This service is only for our valued guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Guest House

Address: 81, Cemetery Road | Kudapaduwa, Negombo 031, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: $17 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Horizon Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Horizon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Guest House Hotel Negombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay