We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Atapattu Walawwa House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Atapattu Walawwa House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Start your review of Atapattu Walawwa House
 Click to rate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Atapattu Walawwa is located just outside the Galle historic center in what was formerly the residence of a local justice. The 200 year old estate has been faithfully refurbished with period pieces and modernized with state of the art bathrooms, a swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. There is, however, no television and no air conditioning. If you require either, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottInIndia
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 6, 2016

Nice building and can understand why people like it but extremely expensive for what it is. I would not go back as there were issues with the room which weren't good enough - all of which were very basic and poor. But it needs to drop its price!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Janaka G, Owner at Atapattu Walawwa House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed but we get all sorts. Demand for refunds and refusal because you wished to change your itenary should not be used to denigrate any institution.

Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Our family of 4 needed a last minute booking in Galle in high season and came up with the Atapattu Wallawwa and were so very glad we did. Booking was a breeze - reserved online and asked for a call back re an extra bed in the room which was done same day. Arrived in Galle and realised we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Featherbutte
Janaka G, Owner at Atapattu Walawwa House, responded to this review

Thank you very much. See you again. Dr G

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 3, 2015

I don't want to be rude about this hotel. It just wasn't for us. In fact, after one night we made an excuse about having to 'go back to London' and left. The truth is it's not really a hotel - it's a museum. So if you want an interesting cultural experience it might be for you. We regret that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brett T
Janaka G, Owner at Atapattu Walawwa House, responded to this review

This is a 260 year old heritage home. It is meant for people who would like to enjoy the ambiance of the place and the culture of Sri Lanka. Obviously a thoughtless selection best expressed by the criticism of the rest of the guests as not fun loving and and not going out. I regret that the guest chose the...

Quarry Bonk
Reviewed October 18, 2014

This is a 200-year-old mansion, part of which has recently become a hotel and part is becoming a museum that the owner and part-time resident can show you around. The Saffron room, which we had, appears to be the best, with a lovely four-poster bed and mosquito net, a spacious bathroom and a wonderful balcony looking onto the garden to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JeffAstle
Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a delightful old home built 260 years ago and set in beautiful gardens. It is full of charm and is so peaceful and a welcome break from the noisy streets of Sri Lanka. We stayed here 3 nights and could have stayed longer. The home is built to benefit from the flow of air from outside but unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
Janaka G, Owner at Atapattu Walawwa House, responded to this review

Similar meals can be bought at varying prices in one country. You do pay extra for the tranquility and the atmosphere .

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had a FANTASTIC experience starting here. It's a gorgeous old property which offers a blissful escape from the city, and yet is simply 5 minute walk to the city centre (Galle Fort). The owner is a kindly old man who is the perfect host. The staff are so friendly and helpful. It's like staying in an ancestral property that's not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seems-Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Blissful, peaceful and serene. All in a short working distance to Galle Fort. The host and the staff were welcoming. The service was excellent and attentive. We felt like we were at home; the immaculate gardens and pool were ours to wander through and use at our our leisure. The food was good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Atapattu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willow F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.0 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Kikili House
Kikili House
#27 of 279 in Galle
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Sanron Home Stay
#133 of 262 in Galle
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Winds Hotel
Harbour Winds Hotel
#141 of 262 in Galle
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Renaissance
Villa Renaissance
#85 of 262 in Galle
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilgrims Villa
Pilgrims Villa
#100 of 279 in Galle
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Protected monument 260 years old .An architectural gem around 8000 square feet and a well manicured garden of 1.5 Acres in the heart of the city 15 minutes walk away from the Fort and 5 minutes from the city. The beach of Unawatuna is 15 minute in a Tuk Tuk. If crass commercialisation that defines modern hotels detracts from the authenticity of your event or your stay in Sri Lanka then we invite you to enjoy the rustic hospitality honed over centuries offered by Atapattu Walawwa. From the delicious healthy village cuisine to the profound immersion into the serene granduer of Sri Lanka's past , You are sure to be liberated for a while at least from the maddening monotony and bland homogeneity of modernity. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Atapattu Walawwa House

Address: 35 Lower Dickson Road, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Price Range: $78 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atapattu Walawwa House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atapattu Walawwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Atapattu Walawwa House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Atapattu Walawwa House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Consider the cinnamon room. It's slightly more expensive, but totally worth it. It has its own verandah and a huge bathroom with a Victorian style bath. It's like your own personal haven.”
Seems-Singapore, Aug 8, 2014 | Read review
“With only a limited number of room, they are all good.”
willowf451, Jul 8, 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question