We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 952: English reviews
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were a little disappointed with this hotel. We visited for two days and unfortunately it was not what we expected. Reviews previously had said it was dated and they were not wrong. This hotel could use some work to modernise. Compared to all the hotels we and visited on our tour the service was not as good at check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naomi H
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Today we got well and truly done. We asked where the shops were, to be led down an alley, a unsuspecting old man wearing a Lacoste polo walking in the same direction with a very high pitched voice started walking with us, we tried to go back but he said there was a very nice temple near his home, after... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jak C
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us. We would like to know further details about the situation that you have faced so that we could take appropriate actions to avoid such from happening in the future. Kindly write to us (E mail: bbh@cinnamonhotels.com) with further information. WE hope you stay in the hotel was fine. Wish you all the... More 

Ella,sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Bentota Beach an Icon of Bawa architecture , magnificently situated between the Bentota River and the Sea, is reputed for long tradition of hospitality. The large comfortable rooms with great views of the river and sea, sprawling lawns beneth coconut palms, and on the unspoilt beach, one can walk both ways, as far as the eye can see ! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank senadhi
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review posted following your satay with us at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are overjoyed to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, the company of our crew and their services. It is our pleasure indeed. The compliments given to everyone are much appreciated and highly inspiring us. We wish you and your family... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Good swimming pool, very close to me the beach. Nice garden. Rooms are average, could be cleaner. We felt there was some sand in the bed after they cleaned the room. It could be they did not wash it well. Breakfast is good also but service is poor. Over all not bad.

Helpful?
Thank Ali Yacoub A
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review posted following your satay with us. We are happy that you have enjoyed most of your satay with us. The comments that you have made about the bed linen, restaurant services are well noted and thanks to you, required actions could be taken to avoid such situations in the future. We wish to... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a good nights sleep and good food then I suggest you don't stay here. There is a train track right in front of the hotel with trains passing through it in the night sounding their very loud horns. The hotel looks very old and in need of serious renovation. We booked 2 rooms and both AC units... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Wiggywig2014
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us and for the review posted. We really regret to hear that you have not enjoyed the stay with us and we apologize for the inconveniences you have faced. We thank you for bringing certain drawbacks of the hotel to our notice and we will definitely look in to the mentioned areas and... More 

Colombo Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bentota beach hotel is one of the best palces to spend your holiday . Smooth golden Sandy beach is perfect to swim and kids will enjoy it by making sand castles. Walking on the beach in the sun set is a fantastic experience. Hotel is an old one with lot of space. Now its managing by cinnamon group, one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charith S
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review posted following your satay with us at Bentota Beach By Cinnamon. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your review is a highly tempting one for the readers and we are thankful to you for posting the same. You have explained most available facilities with glamour. The mentioned... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,077 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent 3 nights here at the end of a Sri Lanka tour and absolutely loved it. The reviews don't do it justice in my opinion. It's a beautiful hotel. Our room was very big, extremely clean and modern. It had a lovely balcony and a good big bathroom too. Breakfast and dinner were included for us and were great. Lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank champkis
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review posted following your satay with us. It is an awesome one indeed. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for all the compliments and positive notes made as they are really encouraging. We highly appreciate you r recommendations also. While wishing you all the best, we... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good place. nice beach. Bathrooms ok but not very neat. compact bathroom. Nice sea view room. Aircon ok. 32" tv. Coffee maker. Normal staff. Fresh air room. Staff not friendly just smile as show. Anyway no complain for my stay.

Helpful?
Thank EMI S
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review posted following your stay. We hope you have also enjoyed your stay and we will consider your concern relating to the staff and will have required training and coaching for them to be of better service. Please do visit us again in the near future for more memorable stay of course. Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its been a family haunt and we've been visiting at least once a year for a weekend holiday at the beach since I was a kid. I love the beach front (especially during the season in dec to feb), the great food (their spicy crab being a favorite of mine), nice comfortable rooms, lovely pool (the little rocks being being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devini S
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review posted following your satay with us at Bentota Beach By Cinnamon. We highly appreciate your repeated presence here and we delighted that you have enjoyed our facilities, services and the location. Thank you also for the recommendations and explanations of our water sports services and the spa treatments. They are tempting for the... More 

Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a huge resort on the beach & river. The beach is lovely although was quite choppy when we stayed & the river was great for water sports. Our room was large with a great balcony overlooking the river. The grounds have lovely grassed areas with plenty of day beds. There is also lots of activities to do if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jimmel
SanjeevaPerera, Front Office Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review posted following your satay with us at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We also appreciate the recommendation given for the readers. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your overall stay and as you have explained our location with the beach, big garden and the river is one of the key values we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,243 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1236)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (248)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (207)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (469)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 29 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 8 in Beruwala
4.0 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
3.0 mi away
Whispering Palms Hotel
Whispering Palms Hotel
#2 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect get-away from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, banana boat riding and diving. The hotel also hosts other recreational activities such as a tennis court, squash court and archery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range: $85 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay