We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown

Save
Share
500 Northern Blvd, Albany, NY 12204-1036
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (7)
Bathroom (2)

About

#41 of 50 hotels in Albany
Location
3.2
Cleanliness
2.7
Service
3.1
Value
3.1

Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Albany, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Close to some of Albany's most popular landmarks, such as C.H. Evans Brewing Co. (1.2 mi) and New York State Capitol (1.4 mi), Albany Red Carpet Inn is a great destination for tourists.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown offers guests free wifi.

Plus, Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown offers a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Albany's popular lobster restaurants such as Albany Pump Station CH Evans Brewing Co., Jack's Oyster House, and Yono's Restaurant, all a short distance from Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown.

If you’re looking for something to do, Albany Institute of History & Art (1.2 mi), Lark Street (1.1 mi), and The Stephen and Harriet Myers Residence (0.8 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Red Carpet Inn Albany.

Enjoy your stay in Albany!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
84Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 15
  • 24
  • 12
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chris wrote a review Nov 2018
Montreal, Canada158 contributions80 helpful votes
It's very cheap and not that far from downtown although it's not downtown like the title says. The main problem is the smell. Our room was not dirty (it was OK not super clean) but the smell and humidity is something. Even if it's a non-smoking room, it smells like it is. I did not feel safe in this area but nothing happened, so I think it depends on your personality. 1 night max and just for sleeping, you don't want to chill in the room for too long.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
moe.ron wrote a review Nov 2018
Apalachin, New York5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I’m a truck driver and was recently stranded in the Albany area due to first snow of the season. I picked this location due to the fact that I needed CNG at a fueling station nearby. I figured it was just for the night and how bad could it actually be... I was SHOCKED!!!! I would not take my shoes off in this room. The walls were covered in stains, dirt and grime. I checked for bed bugs and behind the bed was condom wrappers amongst and all sorts of garbage. Over head light fixture had bare bulbs. Smoke detector was covered in a plastic bag. I pulled bedding off other bed to put on the floor so I could take my boots off and the blankets had human stains on them. Was the worse place imaginable. Can not believe they would have rooms like this. I told them I wanted another room and the front desk said he “assumed I wanted the cheapest room”. He switched me out to a little bit bettor room but not much. Paint peeling on the ceiling and was filthy but the bonus was no human stains on the sheets and blankets. I slept in my cloths and socks and the snow couldn’t have stopped soon enough for me to get out of that dump in the morning!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Adolfo P wrote a review Jul 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very bad motel. The carpet is so dark of dity. Smell bad. Go some where else. The motel is so old. Window dirty, wall dirty, the bed were so so. Towel are clean. The bathroom , the toillet didn't flush. I had to add water to the thank to flush. Over all very bad motel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjiv P, Manager at Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown
Responded Jul 23, 2018
I'm sorry you had a bad experience but we do not have any room numbers starting with a "1". There are 2 Red Carpet Inns in Albany, perhaps you've stayed at the other location? We are on Northern Blvd. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Starky54 wrote a review Nov 2017
Hamilton, New York72 contributions4 helpful votes
Nice older hotel but clean and convenient to downtown (1.5 - 2 miles); Took Lyft to Palace Theater downtown for less than $6. Room was clean, but mattress should be replaced with better grade. Was just basic with no padded top. I would stay here again and recommend to friends. It's not a 5 star hotel, but for about $70 on a weekend, it works just fine for a lot less than other hotels in the area. Room had small refrigerator and microwave, TV and well functioning, quiet, heating unit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dawn647 wrote a review Sep 2017
Tonawanda, New York37 contributions12 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here to break up a sixteen hour drive. The placed was filthy! The carpet was so gross I wouldn't take my sneakers off. The bed sheets had several cigarette burns in them. We brought our own pillows in and I left them there. We slept as best as we could (considering the noise and partying that was going on) until 6am and checked out quickly! When I told the man at the front desk about the holes in the sheets he very cheerfully offered me a cup of coffee. No thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Robert C wrote a review Jun 2017
New Oxford, Pennsylvania254 contributions89 helpful votes
We were quite surprised at this motel. We were using it just as a lay over on vacation and were a little worried to be honest. When we pulled in we were nicely surprised at the neat appearance and the front desk staff was very nice and helpful in finding us a room earlier than 3PM. He also made some very good suggestions for restaurants in the area. The only complaint I would have is that the non-smoking room smelled like smoke.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Check the room for smell iff you are very sensitive to smoke
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marco Z wrote a review May 2017
1055 contributions158 helpful votes
Dropped to stay for a night before I continue my trip. Selected by price! Well don't expect much for a couple of dollars, but u get a lot. My room was smoke free, car found place directly in front of my room. Room itself was clean, not spotless. The tube needs some new silicon around the walls , but okay. Receptionist was friendly, the lobby offers free coffee in the morning. The room doesn't have a coffee maker which is a minus. Wifi is strong and complementary. Beds were comfy. Recommended for one night .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nay34 wrote a review Mar 2017
Queensbury, New York59 contributions8 helpful votes
The rooms walls and Windows were dirty.garbage in trash can.quiet location.They need to learn how to snowplow.we parked on the side by our door but complained and in morning they knocked on door to early and we told her checkout is 11a and she said there was nothing on door.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Parul P wrote a review Mar 2017
New York13 contributions2 helpful votes
A little worried with the reviews I saw, but my room was fine. It was not smoked in, and it was clean and comfortable. The staff was professional. The property is well kept. I will recommend this hotel to others.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: most of the rooms have parking right in front of the door
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sorcha M wrote a review Feb 2017
Dublin, Ireland13 contributions15 helpful votes
Comfortable room but smelled of marijuana. Shower nice but not very hot. Man at reception in morning was very unfriendly. Nice bed. Lady at check in was friendly. Outside area in the back is v pretty.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red carpet inn albany downtown hotel albany, albany red carpet inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkAlbany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED CARPET INN ALBANY DOWNTOWN - Prices & Hotel Reviews (NY)

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown?
Nearby attractions include USS Slater DE-766 (2.0 miles), New York State Capitol (1.4 miles), and New York State Museum (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Iron Gate Cafe, 677 Prime, and Grappa '72 Ristorante.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Carpet Inn Albany Downtown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting New York State Capitol (1.4 miles), Schuyler Mansion (2.2 miles), and Albany County Historical Association (0.9 miles).