We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Desmond Hotel Albany

Save
Share
660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
IHG
$93
View Deal
eDreams
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (235)
Room & Suite (115)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Desmond Hotel Albany
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 52 hotels in Albany
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Newly renovated IHG affiliate hotel conveniently located 1/2 mile from Albany International Airport at Exit 3 of the I-87 Northway and adjacent to Wolf Road. Consistently voted "Best Local Hotel" in the Albany Capital Region for outstanding customer service and unique atmosphere. 323 renovated guest rooms and suites, on-site restaurant/bar, fitness center, indoor pool, and complimentary 24/7 airport shuttle service. Guest rooms include multiple USB charging ports, in-room safe, Keurig with complimentary coffee/tea, and plush bedding. NOTE: The hotel is currently undergoing renovations as we transition to becoming part of the IHG/Crowne Plaza family in 2020. Renovations include guest rooms, lobby/front desk, public areas, meeting space and restaurants. We are excited to be creating a new and improved experience for our guests, and appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. Please note that the images may vary due to renovations and the uniqueness of our property. UPDATE: Our pool and fitness center are currently closed for renovations.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Full view
54Somewhat walkable
Grade: 54 out of 100
24Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
1,736Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 830
  • 479
  • 256
  • 100
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
richardhall2019 wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
Wonderfu stay The staff did everything possible to make us feel welcome and safe. The rooms were newly renovated and very confortable. The meals were excellent. Everything was done under to make our confernece a success.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
donnacurtsinger21 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
What a wonderful place to have that outdoor feel inside for a wedding. The koi pond was amazing and created that garden feel. I would recommend the Desmond.for any special event. They are very accomodating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
sd0dds wrote a review Mar 2020
Parishville, New York1 contribution
The Desmond is undergoing some major renovations to update their facilities! Yay! As always, the staff was friendly and accomodating. Food is always outstanding. Still need usb charging ports in their rooms...maybe that's part of their updates. Overall a good stay and a great place for a conference.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Shawn G, Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It sounds like you are as excited as we are for our upgraded property! You will be happy to learn we will have no shortage of USB plugs in our guest rooms. They are built into both the desk and lamps within the rooms allowing for several devices to be connected at once. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Shawn Green Director of Rooms Division
Read more
Maryanne D wrote a review Mar 2020
Camillus16 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice hotel. Classic. Staff were mostly great.(one front desk person was a little snarky when asked abt shuttle availability to train station— maybe she was simply having a bad day) . I’d stay there again if given opportunity. ** the hotel is being renovated — the contractors were polite/considerate of guests and noise!**
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Carissa W wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
The absolute worst hotel experience. Did not get the room I booked. The food and service at The Tavern was disgusting. Customer service was less then helpful and unwilling to make up for their mistakes. Condescending and rude. Checked in at 4:40pm and checked out at midnight. I could not stay there any longer, especially after the crawling ant in the bed. They charged my credit card even though I had already paid through Hotels.com. At least that was refunded. They would not offer a cost adjustment to me because I used a third party to book at their hotel. I was basically shamed for it. Hotels.com tried to speak to The Desmond, with no prevail. I emailed Shawn Green, who’s information was given to me, hand written on a ripped sheet of paper. I have not received any contact back. The Desmond needs to know the experience I had. The Desmond needs to take responsibility for the horrible experience we encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shawn G, Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear Guest, Your experience was certainly not up to the standards of our hotel and we are disappointed you did not receive the level of service our guests are accustomed to. As I stated in my email to you I want to reiterate that we will use this to help our team grow and learn and are grateful you have brought this to our attention. Best, Shawn Green Director of Rooms Division
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the desmond albany hotel albany, desmond americana, the desmond hotel albany, desmond hotel albany
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkAlbany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Desmond Hotel Albany
Which popular attractions are close to The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Nearby attractions include Colonie Center (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Conveniently located restaurants include Warehouse Grill & BBQ, Professor Java's, and KOTO Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Desmond Hotel Albany have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Desmond Hotel Albany offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Desmond Hotel Albany?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Desmond Hotel Albany offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.