We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Explore all that downtown Albany has to offer from TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center. Our all-suite hotel in Albany, New York offers an exceptional location near the city's most desirable locations including the Empire State Plaza Convention Center, Times Union Center and SUNY Albany.
For the price, you can get what it should be at this tier. For me, that is good enough and recommended to you. I want to give the Lobby representative a big applause for their big smile and enthusiastic, especially JasXX. You know that.
Driving in on Moulton from the interstate, the neighborhood seemed on the poor side. On the way was expansive Lincoln Park to the left - the Martin Luther King Memorial on Martin Luther King Way is a nice side attraction. The hotel seems to be located "between" neighborhoods, with the nearby Medical Center justifying the higher prices. Room wise, we unfortunately did not ask for a quiet room and got one facing the main street and all its traffic noise throughout the night. So make sure you ask for a room away from the noise. Old wall heaters were efficient but loud. Another problem is that cleansers they used had a distinct odor to it that would not go away. A third problem - no room safe. A fourth problem, the advertised airport transportation was that they would call you a cab. Lighting in bedroom could have been better. The good? -- Staff was very nice. The rooms had two tvs, both worked well. Bed was OK, not great. Kitchenette was adequately supplied. Hot water worked fine. The free breakfast was OK, with sausage patties, egg patties on bread or bagels. Juices and yogurts were also available.
Response from WHGGuestService, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
Responded Nov 1, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed; providing all of our guests with a fresh, clean and comfortable stay is our top priority and we are very sorry that we did not succeed. We are very blessed to have a team in place that is invested in our guests. Your comments were shared with them and we discussed what we could have done better. I am confident that your next stay will reflect the improvements your comments generated If I may impose on your time, I am curious as to where you saw an advertisement for airport transportation as I will need to correct that misinformation. Warmly, Kathy Tabora General Manager
Came here for a show at the Egg. About 1.2 miles away and not a bad walk. We were a little concerned about the neighborhood, it seemed a bit sketchy. However, we found it fairly safe to walk at night. The room was spacious and had everything you need...kitchen, living space, bath...all good. There was a very strange odor in the room. Couldn’t get used to it? Breakfast options were pretty slim....we opted to go out. Staff were friendly and courteous. Offered to give us directions and recommendations for dinner. Not sure I would stay here again.
The hotel was out of the way but the room was not bad. It looked pretty much as advertised. However, I could have done without the mouse that ran out of the bedroom, across the living room floor, and into a hiding place in the kitchen. I booked this as a solo, not with such a companion.
I was disappointed to walk into my room only to find there is no shampoo or hairdryer. Had to search the whole room for those late at night with wet hair all over my face and waited for a long time to get them from the front desk. The comment requires a 200 word min but I don’t want to waste more time on this hotel. Not coming back.