Morgan State House

Morgan State House

Panorama shot off the room. Of course the perspective is distorted
Traveler (141)
room 4B
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 1 left at
$349
Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 1 left at
$349
Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Breakfast included
$319
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 3 small hotels in Albany
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
The Morgan State House is an elegantly restored 19th century building with no elevator. It is located in the Washington Park Historic District and is close to many of Albany’s downtown attractions. Suites at the Historic Inn and apartments at the Washington Park State House have seating areas, work desks, and cable TV. All suites and some of the apartments are equipped with free wireless. The apartments have kitchenettes or full kitchens, as well as elevators. Breakfast is included at The Morgan State House every morning. We are a non-smoking inn and are unable to accommodate children under 16. Laundry service and dry cleaning are some of the many amenities the hotel provides. The New York State Capital, a National Historic Landmark, is one mile from the Morgan State House. Albany International Airport is a 20 minute drive away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

393 State St, Albany, NY 12210-1201
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Albany Intl Airport
441Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 297
  • 100
  • 23
  • 16
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joe wrote a review Jan 2021
Clifton Park, New York3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Now I know that Albany doesn't scream "vacation" or "romance" to many, but WOW, this place is both of those things and more!

My girlfriend and I recently visited so that we could celebrate our Christmas together and also have time to spend Christmas with our families. Although we only stayed one night, the staff were very welcoming and accommodating! They helped us with parking nearby, navigating the city, and so much more. They also went through the trouble to prepare homemade goodies all individually wrapped in plastic even though we were the only ones there that night!

It also goes without saying that the place is beautiful. The pictures don't lie. This was, without a doubt, the most charming hotel we've ever been to.

They checked our temperatures at check in. They keep the house very clean and sanitize regularly. And they even sanitized the pens we used to sign documents. Between their safety practices and the fact that we were the only ones there that night, I'd say it was one of the safest places we could travel to in terms of COVID.

All in all, it was an amazing stay, and we might return next year!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Read their website for information on the rooms. Call them if you have any questions. They're...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alastair_8 wrote a review Nov 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom237 contributions196 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 1 night in Room 2 Park, a smartly and well-furnished, bright, spacious room overlooking the park with Queen bed, seating area and very modern bathroom with a double vanity unit.

The inn was just a short walk from restaurants, the State House, and downtown.

A continental, self- serve breakfast was available in the morning.

We would certainly stay here again if returning to Albany.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maryabh wrote a review Oct 2022
Blythewood, South Carolina5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for a week with my sister in this unique historic old home turned Inn. My first impression in entering was the gorgeous original woodwork that was polished with not a spot of dust anywhere. Upstairs in my room I found the same attention to detail in the sparkling clean bathroom. The cozy bed and pillows were as dreamy as they looked. In the morning, my sister with the bad back declared her bed perfect as I did mine. At breakfast we found muffins, bagels, breads, and hard-boiled eggs. Plus cereals, with lots of fruit - bananas, apples oranges. The refrigerator was stocked with yogurts and bottled water. Each morning there was a specialty tart, like broccoli cheese or asparagus ham. Throughout our stay we could access the snacks in the kitchen, and we particularly enjoyed coming back in the afternoon to have a cup of tea and a slice of homemade banana bread. Some mornings we met other guests from other countries, other states, young and old; and all were happy which meant to me that they were enjoying their stay as well. A technical conference was in town and a few of the participants stayed here instead of the 'big' hotel. The colleagues could meet and talk at various seating areas including the oasis of a garden in back. Of course, behind this gem of an Inn are the proprietors who are friendly and do everything above and beyond to accommodate guests. It was obvious that they really care about their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
Room Tip: Garden rooms have greater natural light.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B V wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked almost every room in the Morgan State House for an upcoming wedding (for the bride, groom and family members). This booking was made months in advance.

18 days before our wedding they called and cancelled every room due to construction that was running late. We had spoken to several members of the Morgan State House over the phone during booking and they had never mentioned that the rooms were under construction or that there would be any chance the rooms would not be available. They were aware that this was for a wedding and in fact we were paying extra for their "wedding package".

This is incredibly unprofessional for a business. And on top of it, the staff member who notified us was totally unapologetic and honestly a little rude.

I would not recommend booking a room here for any important event
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Kuhtic, Owner at Morgan State House
Responded Jun 28, 2021
We absolutely understand the frustration and disappointment of all our guests affected by the delay of our renovation project, and we are very sorry for this inconvenience. The last thing in the world we want is to call a guest and tell them that we are not able to honor their reservation. Unfortunately, it’s almost impossible to anticipate unforeseen issues when renovating a mansion built in the 1800s. The moment we were notified that there would be significant delays; we contacted all guests that were affected to give them time to secure other accommodations. We offered to help relocate every guest. We additionally sent a list of hotels near our location with contact information. We do not have a wedding package and there were no charges to any guests affected.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Svadyaya wrote a review Nov 2021
Anchorage, Alaska38 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for just one night while passing through Albany. The owner greeted us warmly, invited us to spend time in the main house even though our room was in the comfortable condos a couple doors down, and gave us great tips about what was nearby. He also invited us to get snacks from the kitchen and make ourselves at home.

The main house is absolutely beautiful and so tastefully decorated and preserved. The neighborhood is pleasant and within walking distance of many good restaurants, with an excellent park across the street.

Our room in the condos was also beautiful and comfortable, with soft, fluffy bedding, a kitchenette, robe, and hot chocolate and popcorn stocked in the room.

The next morning we awoke to find our rental car had been towed from the park. The owner had told us we would be fine parking there as it was a weekend, but unbeknownst to all of us there was a fun run going on that Sunday. When the owner found out what happened, he gave us a ride to the tow yard and paid the towing bill! His hospitality and service was exemplary and we are so grateful.

Although Albany was just a stopover for us, we loved our time there in this guesthouse and also enjoyed visiting the beautiful statehouse, excellent state museum, and walking in the park across the street. We hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
clsta wrote a review Jul 2021
Tucson, Arizona79 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful serene B&B. We enjoyed the suite with a kitchen and sitting area. The suite was beautifully appointed and having a kitchen was great. The breakfast was delicious and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We were happy with the off street parking arrangements which is a bargain at $10/day. Great choice in downtown Albany!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert L wrote a review Oct 2021
64 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This beautiful old home, converted into a B&B, was the perfect spot for our overnight stay...the room ambience was great, very comfortable bed and good location. Our room came with a small kitchenette, which would have been perfect for a longer stay. The bathroom was small and the shower was not easy to access, the only negatives. And, for the price and it being a B&B, we expected a far better breakfast than an assortment of muffins and bagels...more fresh fruit than just the banana and a hot option would have been nice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David B wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Elderly well cared for mansion adjacent to Washington Park
Comfortable well equipped rooms and plenty of sitting space inside but particularly outside in the well kept yard.
The house is the star and is worth staying for that reason alone but take the parking option if it’s available when you book to give access to a secured parking lot behind the house. Otherwise it’s street parking, with a lot of difficult to interpret restrictions!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take the $10 per night parking option.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mcbr wrote a review Jul 2023
Dallas, Texas203 contributions117 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was very disappointed in my stay here. My room was in the condo building and from the beginning it was not what I expected. The lobby of the building had an unpleasant odor and the furniture was run down and had holes chewed in it, I assume by resident's pets. The room was very eclectic (a jumble of older furniture) with an older window unit which was so noisy I couldn't hear the TV. The bathroom was vintage and not in a good way. I agree with those who said the breakfast is inadequate. No need to describe it, just read the other reviews. The parking was across the street behind the hotel and while I understand the parking issues of older cities, I didn't feel safe returning to the hotel after dark.
The employees are cordial, but that doesn't make up for the condition of the premises. Definitely not the "Luxury" accommodations advertised.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nancy W wrote a review Mar 2023
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Half of the "bed and breakfast" experience is the breakfast, and this one was disappointingly minimal. No hot food; no homemade goodies at all. All prepackaged carbs, except for cold hard boiled eggs. For one night totaling over $200, this was a very poor value. My adult daughter and I have stayed in many B&Bs all over the country, and it's the lamest effort we've ever seen, not even as good as a cheap hotel chain breakfast bar.
On the other hand, the hosts were friendly and helpful, the common areas attractive, and the room was clean and comfortable, though plain. Good location, and parking wasn't too much of a hassle.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pat W asked a question Aug 2016
Batavia, New York24 contributions8 helpful votes
Does the Morgan State House have off street parking?
Answer from EPK50
Buffalo, New York6 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, for a small daily fee, there is a gated (code numbered lock) lot in back of the inn. Street parking can be tough in this residential neighborhood if you need to park after the locals have parked for the night.
Robin F asked a question Jan 2015
Commack, New York4 contributions
yes is it available for 1/24 for just the one night
Answer from chuckkuhtic
Yes, We have availability on Saturday, 1-24. Give us a call. Janine
David Garfield wrote a tip Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom185 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do the free tour of the NY state capitol, it’s informative and entertaining "
Read full review
Maryabh wrote a tip Oct 2022
Blythewood, South Carolina5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Garden rooms have greater natural light."
Read full review
Robert T wrote a tip Oct 2022
Sussex80 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We chose the parking offered for a slight extra charge, at the gated lot behind the B&B."
Read full review
JGee4 wrote a tip Jul 2022
Somerset, United Kingdom28 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing the garden are quieter - and have the best views."
Read full review
David B wrote a tip Jun 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the $10 per night parking option."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Albany area.
PRICE RANGE
$173 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
morgan state house hotel albany, morgan state hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkAlbany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MORGAN STATE HOUSE $178 ($̶2̶2̶0̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Morgan State House
Which popular attractions are close to Morgan State House?
Nearby attractions include Albany Institute of History & Art (0.3 miles), Lark Street (0.2 miles), and ROCKS (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Morgan State House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Morgan State House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Morgan State House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Morgan State House?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Morgan State House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Villa Di Como Ristorante, Iron Gate Cafe, and Rain.
Is Morgan State House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Albany.
Are there any historical sites close to Morgan State House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting New York State Capitol (0.5 miles), Schuyler Mansion (1.1 miles), and Albany County Historical Association (0.7 miles).
All Albany HotelsAlbany Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlbanyHotels near Morgan State House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars