We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence

Jl Raya Kupang Indah, Surabaya 60189, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Asia Travel to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

i stay in the sommerset appartmet, its beside the hotel, the apartment is classy and old kind, its needed to be upgraded, but the breakfast served is delicious. the location is a bit far from the center city, but since surabaya's traffic is the same as jakarta so if needed to go any places on time l, consider to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dery Eka Putri H
Bryan L, Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Dear Dery Eka Putri H, I appreciate the time you have taken to share this insightful note, and for your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet, with its selection of hot and cold Western and Indonesian favourites. Being situated in the western part of Surabaya, we are the nearest hotel to the Satelit tollway,... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the 3 bedroom serviced apartment for a nite. My dad came here in 1998 and said nothing much had changed. Old building and breakfast was not at its best. Check in was quick..but housekeeping people took forever to bring additional amenities. Overall, it was just OK experience and value stay.

Helpful?
Thank dimasjb
Bryan L, Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Thank you, dimasjb, for spending some of your Lebaran holiday with us here at Somerset, and for your encouraging comments concerning the value we provide. We regret that our breakfast buffet was not to your liking - we strive to provide an international selection that caters to our diverse clientele. For your next visit to West Surabaya, we hope that... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have used this hotel many times for business trips to Surabaya, tried the apartments once, but never again after having to change the room 3 times due to problems of electrical items not working. The hotel is of the older style would possibly benefit from a little bit of restoration, but generally the rooms are comfortable. The best thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank p0larbeer
Bryan L, Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for making Somerset your home in Surabaya, p0larbeer! While we are delighted that our hotel wing and all facilities has more than been satisfactory for your previous visits, we are sorry for the inconvenience encountered during your recent stay at our Serviced Residence wing. I would be most grateful if you would share your booking details with me... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

This was a business trip, staying for a month. There is a main hotel block and two serviced tower blocks apartments. The apartments are big, with a large living area, comprising of TV lounge area, kitchen breakfast bar area, equipped with fridge and washing machine. The other room is a large bedroom with TV and full bathroom. All air-conditioned and... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave p
Bryan L, Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Warm greetings from Somerset Surabaya, and thank you for your recent stay and comprehensive review, dave p. We are delighted that our spacious and well-equipped fully-serviced apartments and property facilities suited your requirements. Your comments concerning the bar are noted - we offer various promotions, including Happy Hour each day, to enhance the value to our customers, although our regular... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

The room was cozy where you can choose hotel or serviced apartments. They have special rate for long term stay and it's so worth it! The location is very strategic nearby highway and convenient to visit malls around such as Ciputra World Mall or PTC Mall and many choices of restaurants nextdoor. Staffs? SUPER HELPFUL!

Helpful?
Thank Stiefan S
Bryan L, Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Dear Stiefan S, thank you so much for your very kind comments concerning your recent stay at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence. We are indeed blessed with such a strategic location, being near shopping malls, extensive dining options at our doorstep, and being the closest hotel to the highway that connects to Juanda Airport and the outlying industrial and... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

We staied here one night at 9 floor, the room is quite big and comfortable, there is also an extra pillow very soft, good quality of sleep , the dinner was quite poor instead, indonesian buffet very simple and quality food really standard, overall was good, need to improove the food

Helpful?
Thank Delbs69
Bryan L, Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Thank you Delbs69 for making Somerset Surabaya your "home away from home" recently. We are so happy that you enjoyed a great night's sleep - we are very proud of our bright and spacious rooms and value-pricing. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not find our dinner buffet to you liking, as we have received many positive... More 

Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016

This is now my favourite hotel to stay in Surabaya. I have had stayed at all types of rooms offered (deluxe, executive or the suite). The rate is really competitive for the quality we get. The location is close to toll road, making it easier to get access to many locations around Surabaya. Surprisingly, the breakfast has the best quality... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pamudi73
Bryan L, General Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much, pamudi73, for your glowing comments and making Somerset your home away from home! We are delighted to be recognised for the excellent value that we provide - as the largest hotel and serviced apartment property in Surabaya, we offer a wide range of accommodation to suit all budgets, both for short and long-term stays. Our Chef... More 

Surabaya
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

I think this hotel is very underrated. I had a meeting held in this hotel and i stayed for a night. I was really expecting nothing from this hotel. I was so surprised to see that actually it was a pleasant to stay here. The room is quite roomy, nice hot water, good wifi and very comfortable bed. The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank metahanindita
Bryan L, General Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your most encouraging comments, metahanindita, in highlighting our spacious rooms, comfortable bedding and overall value. Guests are spoilt for choice, with our extensive selection of hotel rooms and suites, or fully-serviced apartments of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. Perhaps you may consider a vacation here with your family or friends - we look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016 via mobile

I have seen this hotel 5-6 years ago for some days during my business trip and even then it was a tired place... I can assure you it didn't change at all! Service at check in and general staff is friendly and helpful but they can't overhaul the furnishing of the rooms from 1980, old smell, not working of faulty... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank aho3
Bryan L, Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your return stay and review, aho3. Our hotel rooms were renovated progressively from 2012 to 2013, while our apartments followed shortly thereafter. The renovation brought lighter colours to create a more airy feel in the rooms, and we regret that our style is not to your liking. We acknowledge that this a largely a matter of personal... More 

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

surabaya
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2016 via mobile

I've 2 days business review recently, so we had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. The menu was so boring because it was exactly the same the whole day ! Also few options of under quality fruits....this was one time I avoid fruits for dessert.

Helpful?
3 Thank eljees
Bryan L, Manager at Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to Somerset Surabaya, and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, eljees. Sorry to hear of your disappointing experience, I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef for review and corrective action. We endeavour to provide as much variety as possible, with a wide array of dishes which are rotated.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.8 mi away
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences
1.0 mi away
Rich Palace Hotel Surabaya
Rich Palace Hotel Surabaya
#59 of 119 in Surabaya
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ascott Waterplace Surabaya
Ascott Waterplace Surabaya
#24 of 119 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#15 of 119 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alana Surabaya
The Alana Surabaya
#7 of 119 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence is managed by Ascott International, a member of The Ascott Group. Strategically nestled in prime city locations, Somerset Surabaya Offers a seamless blend of comfort and convenience, showcasing contemporary decor and modern amenities. Its friendly services are delightfully infused with local culture. Savvy executives who enjoy good living will embrace the location and facilities of our residence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence

Address: Jl Raya Kupang Indah, Surabaya 60189, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Price Range: $35 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and ETB so you can book your Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Surabaya Hotel And Serviced Residence
Somerset Hotel Surabaya
Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence Java
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#22 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay