We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Balava Hotel

Save
Share
Jl. Kol Sugiono no. 6, Malang 65134 Indonesia
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (271)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (12)

About

#25 of 215 hotels in Malang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

The Balava Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Malang, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

The Balava Hotel features a 24 hour front desk, a rooftop terrace, and a concierge. In addition, as a valued The Balava Hotel guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Nearby landmarks such as Kanjuruhan Stadium (1.1 mi) and Panderman Hill Stone Monument (1.1 mi) make The Balava Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Malang.

While in Malang be sure to experience nearby Chinese restaurants such as Melati Restaurant, Depot Gang Jangkrik, or Depot Gang Djangkrik.

If you are interested in exploring Malang, check out one of the parks, such as Alun Alun Tugu and Taman Lalu Lintas Merjosari.

Enjoy your stay in Malang!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
167Reviews4Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 61
  • 50
  • 11
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
marleycat21 wrote a review Dec 2019
Redbourn, United Kingdom176 contributions101 helpful votes
Luckily we were only here for one night. The first impression of the hotel was good. The reception area was clean and airy and the breakfast area looked lovely, especially as part of it is out in the open ( I later found out that this is where the smokers sit, so had to have breakfast inside). Our room was right next to the train station, and while the trains did not disturb us the announcements did. Our room also overlooked the pool and main road. The bedding in our room was grubby and so were the towels, my towel looked as though someone had used it to wipe their dirty feet on. We had no hanging space or cupboard, just 2 coat hangers to put our clothes on.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rusli_Arsyad, General Manager at The Balava Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Dear Valued Guest Marleycat21 Thank you for staying at The Balava Hotel Malang and for taking your time to share your experience with us, your constructive comments are most valuable for our improvement Thank you for the compliment of our cleanliness reception and breakfast area, however there are some issues that we have to overcome in order to meet guest satisfaction. Once again, we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback pertaining our lapse of service that shows your most concerned intention for our improvement. we are looking forward to welcoming you in your future visit to Malang. Best Regards, Rusli Arsyad General Manager
Read more
Putut R wrote a review Nov 2019
Jakarta, Indonesia74 contributions8 helpful votes
It's not a first time i going here... But it's first time i booking in here not with my name ... Then ya it's first time i have trouble with this hotel... Very noise from another room, i can heard anything in another room and when they talk i can hear too... It's very bad...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rusli_Arsyad, General Manager at The Balava Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Dear Valued Customer Putut R, Thank you for staying at The Balava Hotel during your visit in Malang. We highly appreciate and thank you for taking your time and sharing your constructive feedback for our improvement. We are sorry that you have inconvenience during your stay with the noisy from another room. It will be much appreciated if you could inform us during your stay so that we can take any solution to make your stay more comfort hence we could do the actions immediately. Once again thank you, we are looking forward to welcoming you in your future visit to Malang. Warm Regards, Rusli Arsyad General Manager
Read more
David Syamtar wrote a review Oct 2019
Jakarta, Indonesia47 contributions11 helpful votes
I was fascinated by the hotel pictures on the website and one of the travel apps but it didn't match expectations. Hotel location next to the flyover and the train station and you can here when train come. I waited long enough without being reprimanded by the hotel receptionist. There was only one person on duty in the afternoon when I arrived. You can hear any activities outside your room and is a annoying for me. The road to the room is not good because the carpet looks unkempt and uneven. I had breakfast around 9 am but almost all the food was gone and when I asked for it to be refilled, it took the hotel staff a long time to come out with additional food. The only thing I like is the atmosphere of the restaurant which is very natural.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rusli_Arsyad, General Manager at The Balava Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Dear Mr. BangDave, Thank you for staying at The Balava Hotel Malang and for taking your time to share your experience with us, your constructive comments are most valuable for our improvement. I am sorry to know that we did not manage to meet your expectations, particularly in check in process, condition of corridor carpet and breakfast. Indeed some areas need special attention to provide the high standard and quality service. It has been shared with the leadership to ensure necessary steps are in place to prevent this from recurrence. Our guest experience and satisfaction on each visit is our utmost priority and that we are committed to take all necessary actions to prevent any possible inconvenience. Once again, we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback pertaining our lapse of service that shows your most concerned intention for our improvement. Warms Regards, Rusli Arsyad General Manager
Read more
Chris R wrote a review Sep 2019
Phoenix, United States58 contributions15 helpful votes
Upon checking in, we were stunned over the extremely poor condition of the walls. They had undergone very significant dents and discolorations, as if there had been movers moving furniture in and out 50 times. The internet was quite unreliable. It is extremely noisy, due to the chants coming out of the loud speaker from the next door mosque starting at 3am and again at 5am, as well as the various trains that run throughout the day and night blowing their horns. We could not get much sleep as a result of this. The neighborhood was extremely chaotic. It takes a very long time and huge amount of daring to cross the street in there. I once had to pay someone to run out with a sign and stop traffic. The site indicates that there is a bar, but this is deceptive, because they do not serve alcohol (only "mocktails")
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rusli_Arsyad, General Manager at The Balava Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Dear Mr. Chris, Thank you very much for choosing The Balava Hotel Malang and for sharing your review. We are sorry if hotel location and condition, your expectations were not met but your valuable feedback has enable our team to take corrective actions and measures in order to ensure that the services provided. However some parts for hotel location is beyond our control. Please be sure that your review has been highly appreciated by the all team and that we remain focus to consistently improve our services and facilities Hoping you will visit us again. Warm Regards, Rusli Arsyad General Manager
Read more
Maryam S wrote a review Jul 2019
Los Angeles, California, United States105 contributions72 helpful votes
I stayed here one night, don’t rely on the photos on the hotel’s website that shows amazing rooms. The rooms are dirty and the bathroom is full of molds. The hotel is two hour drive from the domestic airport but it’s walking distance to the train station. Very low quality and super dirty rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Rusli_Arsyad, General Manager at The Balava Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Dear Valued Guest Maryam S, Thank you for staying at The Balava Hotel during your visit in Malang. We highly appreciate and thank you for taking your time and sharing your constructive feedback for our improvement in term of service. We are very sorry that you have inconvenience during your stay with the room's condition, we have investigated this matter and we have brought this matter to our internal team attention for making necessary action and follow up and assuring to make improvement. We are working towards to do the best to rectify the area you mention, working day by day to improve our service, thank you again for having participate to this process. Once again thank you for the feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to Malang Best Regards, Rusli Arsyad General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$19 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaJavaEast JavaMalang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Balava Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Balava Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Eng An Kiong Temple (0.6 miles), Museum Bentoel (0.6 miles), and Museum Musik Indonesia (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Balava Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Balava Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Balava Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Balava Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Balava Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Depot Mie Sawahan, Hungry Kitten, and Depot Mie Gadjah Mada.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Balava Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Balava Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Balava Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Balava Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Balava Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.