We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is really something special. Spotlessly clean throughout, delicious free breakfast and afternoon tea every day, an extensive dinner menu full of tasty local Javanese dishes, enormous villa with a daybed on the veranda to while away the hours being immersed in the spectacular mountain scenery, a heavenly on-site hammam and spa. I could go on and on! But... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcsee77
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear mcsee77, Thank you very much for your fantastic comments; the MesaStila team is very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the whole experiences during your 7 nights stay at MesaStila. We are located right in between Yogyakarta and Semarang area, beside our guests are provided with a wide range of free daily resort activities, our guests are also... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

This place is probably the most beautiful original place where we stayed in Indonesia. The location is just wonderful, surrounded by volcanoes and the forest, the villages around are also nice and authentic. We were based here while visiting the temples in central Java and although you need a car it's so worth it! We had booked one of their... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyside1984
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear sunnyside1984, What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for your fantastic comments; the MesaStila team is very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the whole experiences and loved every minute of your time at MesaStila. This is great that you found our resort is the most beautiful original place you have ever stayed in Indonesia. Each room... More 

jakarta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

This place has beautiful view and nice villas, but the service is terrible, and the food in their restaurant was awful. The worst staff was the reception officer. The receptionist called Nur charged miscalculated expenses and pushed us to spend more money then needed. When we pointed out that he miscalculated, he raised his voice and did not handle things... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sabai95
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear sabai95 and Gabriel O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at MesaStila. Having read both of your reviews, we have received a different report from our Manager on Duty (Nur Pahluwi) who has handled you and your group upon checked-in on July 7, 2016. You have booked a voucher from local... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

My family came across this wonderful "pit stop" many years ago during our land trip from Yogyakarta to Semarang. Back then it was still called Losari Coffee Plantation. And as a city kid, I was entranced by the natural environment and rustic Javanese environment/architecture of the resort. My family have not had the pleasantry to stay in the Villa's as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AvantiSukma
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear AvantiSukma, What a fantastic review! Thank you very much for your superb comments; the MesaStila team is very happy to hear that you and your family have always enjoyed the visit to MesaStila. We cannot wait to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, Sugeng Sugiantoro Resort Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

I came on a group retreat so my experience might not be the same as a general tourist, but had the most lovely stay with such friendly, attentive and thorough service. Our every need was catered for with such politeness and efficiency. We were in a big group with multiple events throughout our stay and complex logistical needs, and everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sarah H, Thank you very much for your fantastic comments; we are very delighted to hear that you and the group have enjoyed the whole experiences at MesaStila. You have stayed in a beautiful Joglo House and each room at MesaStila has been reconstructed from an original Javanese antique wooden house and is decorated with original antiques art collections.... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

Truly magnificent. Not fake luxury - not spa'd out (they do not threaten to "awaken your sense" nor to arouse your Kundalini - they are content to offer warm, attentive service, huge and well appointed rooms, with 11 acres of grounds with a beautifully landscaped coffee plantation to wander around) but a true haven of peace up in the hills,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ursa387
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ursa387, What a great review! Thank you very much for your wonderful comments; the MesaStila team is very happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed the whole experiences and loved every minute of your time at MesaStila. This is our pledge to do everything possible to make the stay of our guest’s most enjoyable and memorable... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

The house were knock-down from dutch owned heritage houses, this makes their villa(s) are different from other. The receiptionist building was an old train station. Here you can have coffee plantation tour host by the staff or try their well-known massage and waking up to sunrise with view of mount sumbing/sindoro or merbabu. Staffs very friendly and helful, they are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hnywln
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear hnywln, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at MesaStila. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the whole experiences at MesaStila. Each room at MesaStila has been reconstructed from an original Javanese antique wooden house and is decorated with original antiques art collections. Built within a charming coffee plantation,... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We had such an amazing stay that we wondered if we could extend our trip, despite needing to pay extra to change our flights. The room was super comfortable and artfully decorated. The vibe from the entire property was welcoming, peaceful and relaxing. I feel like we've been transported to a land without worries. The ever smiling and helpful staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yudith H
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Yudith H, What a fantastic review! The MesaStila team is very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the whole experiences and loved every minute of your time at MesaStila. Thank you that you found our staffs are caring and friendly implementing to our commitment in delivering the services with a Tulus (serving with a whole-hearted). We agree with... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

In short – this is a very enjoyable, lovely and peaceful resort with an amazing Hammam and spa, however it is not a ‘retreat’ (with a ‘retreat atmosphere’ joined by likeminded) and it is not really recommendable if you are a solo traveller... MesaStila is a truly unique place, set among lush green hills in Central Java. The resort has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sanne H
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sanne H, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at MesaStila. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed most of your time at MesaStila and loved our foods particularly the star fruit salad. Thank you that you found our resort was lovely, peaceful and our Hammam Spa was... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We stayed only for 1night and enjoyed an excellent service. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The place is beautiful and peaceful surrounded by coffee plantation. The club house is a well preserved historic mansion of the dutch colonial era. They offer some activities for free for staying guess. We will definitely come back to stay longer

Helpful?
1 Thank L b
MesaStila R, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Dear L b, Thank you very much for your fantastic comments. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the whole experiences at MesaStila and thank you for sharing us some nice photos. This is great that you found our staffs are caring and friendly. Beside the heritage 1928 Club House, the true magnificence of MesaStila is in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

700 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (505)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (170)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (145)
Viewed
Ambar Family Villa (27)
Viewed
Ambar Two Bedroom Villa (23)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Aroum Villa (18)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magelang
21.3 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 9 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Asri
Hotel Puri Asri
#12 of 20 in Magelang
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#5 of 9 in Borobudur
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#4 of 9 in Borobudur
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
13.7 mi away
Amanda Hills Bandungan
Amanda Hills Bandungan
#36 of 60 in Semarang
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
MesaStila Wellness Retreat offers an escape from the demanding daily grind. We believe that whatever form it takes, to care for your wellbeing now means a more vibrant life, greater energy and an all round better you. The essence of the retreat is defined through the calming and powerful environment in which MesaStila sits - encircled by eight magnificent volcanoes and set within fifty-five acres of gardens, plantation and tropical jungle. The fundamental elements of the retreat are offered through the stillness of the lush vegetation, the power of the incredible views and the familiar warmth from the people that live in nearby villages. Add to this passionate staff, the healing essence of Asia's most authentic and unique Hammams, genuine Hammam treatments, a variety of exceptional wellbeing offerings, spa treatments that range from intense scrubs and cleanses, to deeply relaxing body treatments, healthy cooking classes and physical activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat

Address: Desa Losari, Grabag, Magelang 56196, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang
Price Range: $176 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your MesaStila Resort and Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losari Spa Retreat And Coffee Plantation
Losari Spa Retreat & Coffee Plantation Hotel Magelang
Losari Coffee Plantation Magelang
Losari Coffee Plantation Hotel
MesaStila Resort And Spa Retreat Magelang, Indonesia - Java
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Magelang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Magelang
#4 Family Hotel in Magelang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Magelang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay