We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JUKUNG Hostel

Traveler (42)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)

About

#229 of 685 Specialty lodging in Ubud
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Jukung Hostel is a chill hostel in the center of Ubud, close to absolutely everything, but situated in a secluded courtyard away from the hustle and bustle of the street. Jukung is the Balinese word for the traditional Bali sea canoe. A fairly heavy, small hardwood dugout, usually equipped with outrigged pontoons and a single sail, used by centuries of Balinese fishermen and sailors. Jukung Hostel is a meditation on this ocean-faring legacy. It is a work of art and heart which took seven years from conception to completion. The hostel has been decorated inside and out with thousands of boat pieces, stones and tiles to produce a living space unique in the world and distinctly Balinese. It is also equipped with all modern amenities. Strong wireless provides seamless international Skype calls, the dorms are air conditioned and the showers heated. Every spacious bunk is provided with a light, a power point, a shelf, a curtain, two clothes hooks and a foot locker, in true nautical style. There are ample power outlets in the common areas, a well-equipped kitchen and cold beverages in the fridge.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
43Reviews
2Q+A
1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 7
  • 2
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
DO NOT I repeat DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL. The staff were incredibly rude, there was never anyone behind reception, they didn't seem to care about the guests at all and there were RATS in the room. When I asked if I could check out early and get a refund for the nights I
Read more
Response from Swam_Dewa, Owner at JUKUNG Hostel
Responded Feb 18, 2018
Dear Alexandra M, thanks for your review. We really sorry for what happened during your stay. The hostel had been renovated after the issue. We shut it down for about 2 weeks on December 2017 to maintain and resolve of rat issue. The staffs had resigned either. Temporary we do not have staff but owner and family work together for cleaning and serving our guest since January 2018 until recent. Please forgive us for our past service, operational staff procedure and everything. Hope for better future to give you the best we can give and please stay with us again. Regards, Jukung Hostel.
Read more
I regret to stay here. Rat nibbled my bag. There is a hole in my bag.. my bag price was almost 200 dollors. staff said that i will call manager. and he disappeared. If u want your travel to be horrible, stay here. Rat will nibble your bag and anything.
Read more
Response from Swam_Dewa, Guest Relations Manager at JUKUNG Hostel
Responded Oct 25, 2017
Dear myongjink939, thanks for your review. We were really sorry of what happened so terrible during your stay. We saw together that your bag filled of dry noodles almost the whole bag. We do not allow guest to keep or eat on room, we have custom area on 1st floor and also big enough refrigerator to keep your food during your stay. Please use them. Rats are handled well and we promise at least they do not come to room again. We follow territorial from many source included searching over internet how to resolve the rats issue. Please do not hesitate to come and stay with us again. Hope you always have a great time during your traveling. Regards, Jukung Hostel.
Read more
I was disappointed with this hostel after having read such great reviews. Good place for solo travellers and the interior decor is super cool however there was one major issue...rats! If you're afraid of big rodents, kinda the size of a small cat I'd highly recommend
Read more
Response from Swam_Dewa, Guest Relations Manager at JUKUNG Hostel
Responded Oct 25, 2017
Dear Aimee L, thanks for the both positive and negative points of your review. We were really sorry of the rats issue happened to your friend during your stay. We improve daily our handling issue procedure. We searched from many sources included over internet on how to resolve and handling this issue. We promise for a better and comfortable staying in future. Please do not ignore our hostel. We love everyone all over the world to stay with us. Hope you all always have a great moment during your holiday. Regards, Jukung Hostel.
Read more
6 bed dorms with AC, private hot shower. The staff is very nice Have laundry service They clean the room everyday. For attractions: you hace plenty of agencies around. Mt. Batur costs here 350k and I found in 300k outside. I recommend it!
Read more
+1
The hostel is in a beautiful building with lots of charm where everything looks like its been designed with love. That is the only thing that stopped me giving the place a 1 star review. We stayed 2 nights and while we were there 2 very young men were in charge. All they wanted
Read more
Response from Swam_Dewa, Owner at JUKUNG Hostel
Responded Jun 24, 2017
Dear Felicity W, thanks for your attention and review. we improve our cleaning operation daily by read our customer review and react to solve its problem. The pictures show on here are not on our room but one of our additional bathroom near the kitchen area on 1st floor. Each room has one bathroom and 2 other additional outside your room. During your stay there were 2 staffs which one is senior staff and other is trainee. They been order to do everything the best and hope for the better future service. We were realy sorry if they or our services did not fit your need.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbud
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing