We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ubad Retreat

Traveler (198)
Room & Suite (34)
Pool & Beach (19)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Ubad literally means "medicine", is a word that the famous Ubud derived from. Offers a unique-affordable accommodation in an old village of Ubud: Jukutpaku village, where daily life is an offering towards the God, the nature, and fellow human being. Feel the warm of real Bali, where the art, culture,and religion are blended with the comfort of accommodation facilities. Outdoor pool and restaurant are available. Its garden is planted with an organic plantation. Each room is equipped with LED TV, air conditioner, coffee/tea maker, spacious bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, and above all the services comes from the heart. Enjoy a unique Balinese village experience at Ubad Retreat, Ubud-Bali. Ubad Retreat... Where Ubud is precious
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
185Reviews
250Photos
9Q+A
20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 143
  • 35
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Myself and my partner stayed at Ubad Retreat for a month and loved every single minute! Our room was spacious and private (No 7), the most comfy bed we have slept in! What we really liked was the personal touch of all the staff......Gus, Adi ,Gusti, Wayan, Iou and Bella. Thank
Read more
Response from UbadRetreat, Pemilik at Ubad Retreat
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Cockerel9, Before you arrived, we were a bit nervous about how to treat you the whole long staying 'home' at Ubad Retreat. But all the nerve literally disappear for the friendliness, openness, you name it, you've shown just when you arrived. So relieving, we can't thank you enough... This is the first time everyone clearly mentioned, which made everyone's day, although it is now raining hard here. The time taken to write and acknowledging the service and facilities of Ubad Retreat was much appreciated. You know, Ubad Retreat's highest achievement is to be called "Our New Family!". Its thrilling indeed, we shall keep it that way. Happy New Year 2019, Dear. See you again 'home' soon and take care.. Yours sincerely, "Your New Family"
Read more
We booked Ubad retreat on the positive reviews it received in the past. On arrival, we were greeted by Gusti and all seemed well. Soon after, he left the building and unfortunately, that is where it all ended. On entering our “double delux” room which we booked and payed for 4
Read more
Response from UbadRetreat, Pemilik at Ubad Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Ballaratt, On behalf of the team, we do apologize for the inconvenient you have experienced upon check in to Ubad Retreat. We take your comments seriously and do all necessary action accordingly. Please allow us to clarify few points of your comments as the following: 1/ Your reservation that you have paid in advance and have been prepared by us is for 2 adults and 2 children, with breakfast for all and ONE (1) extra bed in the room. Due to its size, each room can only accommodate one extra bed. This is clearly stated in the room description as well as in your reservation confirmation detail, either hardcopy and softcopy. Kindly check again. So the prepared arrangement was one child got extra bed, while the other one shared bed with parents. 2/ Upon check in, you insisted to have two extra beds instead of one that the room can accommodate. We would be glad to add another extra bed without additional cost if the room size allowed. This was also clearly re-explained to you upon check in, but you refused the explanation, keep insisting, while both sides knew your reservation detail stated otherwise. 3/ Your statement "This attendees aggressive mannerisms towards my family..." is a strong statement accusing us. It is serious indeed. With previous reviews taken into a count, such behavior is strictly prohibited and comes with a serious penalty if any of us doing so. And at Ubad Retreat, all guests is treated as part of our family member, instead of just a regular guests. That's Ubad Retreat's fundamental concept and thats how we gained our previous reviews. Hence, as a standard procedures to check both sides stories, our staffs confirmed that since arrived you've already shown a disappointment for a reasons we have no clue about. Then after taken into the room, you aggressively demand TWO extra beds, refusing all explanation and reservation detail, as well as keep raising complains. Its a pity that we didn't hit a mark for your holiday, however all in all we also glad to learn now you are enjoying holiday in Bali. Again, we do apologize for the inconvenient caused. Hoping only the best holiday for you and family. Sincerely, Gus and the entire family
Read more
+4
This places was absolutely nice, very good service, and the staff very friendly, the roo. Is super nice, quite, in the middle of garden fresh air, nice pool, if you are going to ubud and look for nice and cheaper places to stay better go to this place, i recomend this ubad
Read more
Response from UbadRetreat, Pemilik at Ubad Retreat
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Dhandung S, Thank you for giving us a shot for staying with Ubad Retreat recently, as well as for your 10/10 review here on tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed everything offered and wishing to welcome you again 'home' to Ubad Retreat soon, for a longer stay. Take a good care and see you.. Sincerely, Gus & the entire family
Read more
+3
I always have a love for the boutique hotels that gives a personal touch over the luxury or overly commercialized feel of the more fancier hotels. So, I chose to enjoy the homey touch over luxury while finding Ubad Retreat as an option of accommodation within a conference
Read more
Response from UbadRetreat, Pemilik at Ubad Retreat
Responded Dec 8, 2018
Dear Marilin A, On behalf of Ubad Retreat, I would like to thank you for the time taken to write fabulous review about your stay with us. It feels like reading a story, light and detailed yet meaningful one. Its truly a pleasure indeed. All of us here is beyond happy to learn that you enjoyed being part of the family during your stay. We work hard to meet expectations, and we're glad to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon.. Cheers Gus and the entire family
Read more
+6
Ubud’s Real Medicine Ubad Retreat is home away from home! We arrived unexpectedly and stayed for over a week, returning again and again to visit our new Bali family. What a gift to our authentic Bali experience! Here are all the reasons why you might want to stay here:
Read more
Response from UbadRetreat, Pemilik at Ubad Retreat
Responded Nov 23, 2018
Dear Laryssa T, Its truly amazing review you have written here on trip advisor that we are literally speechless about where to start responding it. The detailed list, the awareness, the happiness, the regular stuff (location, staff, facilities, etc) was second to none, by far. Really appreciated it, Dear. It was Ubad Retreat who is actually honored having you recently, that we believe more it wasn't coincidence that you were here. Thank you for your openness, understanding, thoughts, and many other aspects that you have shared, that all travelers should have, which way beyond our expectations. And in fact, the way you shared the awareness about preserving Bali's land, water, culture, its peoples, traditions, and its sustainable economy, is much better than what we could do. Many travelers out there will read and triggered by it, we believe. You have set the bar higher for us, indeed, in a very positive way. Can't thank you enough for the tremendous support... Now, its time for the regular things: we missed you and counting for the day of your return 'home' to Ubad Retreat. Come again and spend more time whenever you can. You know you will always be welcome, as family of Ubad Retreat. Take care... Sincerely, Gus and the entire family of Ubad Retreat
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementUbad Retreat
Garden
Photo provided by managementUbad Retreat
Garden
Pool View!
私が泊まったお部屋。こじんまり可愛い
部屋の外に。のんびりできます
PreviousNext
1234567
What is the average prices of the meals here?
Dear Pudefam, Our menu selection prices ranged from IDR 35k-IDR 85k. Let us know should you require further information or assistance. Thank you. Warm regards, Ubad Retreat
0 votes
Hello Abhishek, Thank you for your question. All rooms are facing the pool basically. Balinese room is the room that separated from the other 5 rooms in the house, it give more privacy should you need it. Superior rooms are those next to each other. Apologize for the delay. For more information or assistance required, please feel free to let me know. Hope it helped. Yours sincerely, Adi
0 votes
Hello Cliff S, Thank you for your question. We afraid the construction will be still going on July, however as you can see our previous guest's review, its bearable so far and didn't disturb their stay. Hope it helps. Let us know should you require further information or assistance. Sincerely, Ubad Retreat
0 votes
Hi Chen, Ubad Retreat provides airport pick up at IDR 400,000 net per way. It approx similar charge if you take airport taxi. It takes 1-1.5 hours drive to Ubad from airport
0 votes
do you have kitchens in the rooms?
Dear Taremorya, Thanks for your question. Kitchen is not available in the room, however should you wish to cook, we would be more than happy to allow you cooking in our main kitchen. Yours, Gus
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"Every room is unique and equally nice. So, just pick by the bed types / room size depending on your need."
"If you need more privacy you can book their one bedroom house in separate hut"
"walkable distance for Monkey forest, shopping center& restaurant. Tea and coffee machines in the rooms."
"All rooms have good views of pool. Upstairs is remote."
"Back rooms for privacy, middle rooms for pool view and access."
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
$32 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyarUbud
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing