We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jl. Sriwedari No. 5, Ubud 80571 Indonesia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (135)
Pool & Beach (26)
Dining (22)

About

#24 of 760 Specialty lodging in Ubud
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.8
Gaia Retreat Center is nestled in the heart of terraced rice fields located in the creative mecca of Ubud - the most desirable location in Bali and voted the friendliest town in Asia. The view from the villa is quintessential Bali. Think swaying palm trees, therapeutic breeze, beautifully landscaped rice terraces and wind chimes singing away. The grand entrance of opens up to marble and teak wood that has 8 bedrooms, on-site massage room, far infrared sauna, soft hot tub jacuzzi, semi open dining area overlooking the rice terraces of Bali and a beautiful chlorine-free pool with decks and views to soothe the body and mind. Our mission is to establish a health and wellness center that supports people in body, mind and spirit through our signature detox and meditation retreats as well as the opportunity to rent our space for group retreats.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Yoga room
Free breakfast
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Facial treatments
Wifi
Pool with view
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Adults only
24-hour security
Concierge
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Bidet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
199Reviews4Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 180
  • 12
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
nicole wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions
+1
I was unsure what to expect for my first detox retreat ever. Picked up at the airport with a bottle of fresh coconut water and some protein snacks- was a great first impression and I knew I was in the right place. The centre is a truly beautifully balinese style building- with open air kitchen and views across the beautiful Ubud landscape. Walking up to the birds and water and view every morning was priceless - I had the terrace room and I could just sit there forever and never tire of that view, beds fixed and rooms cleaned everyday. The attentiveness of the staff was also special- you are given an itinerary to follow and everything was just so easy. Meals waiting for you, driver (Kadek) ready to take you wherever you needed to go, therapist ready to greet you- very organised. Enough balance between your own time and treatments. All treatments were wonderful (even the scary first - colonic irrigation- I was made to feel relaxed and comfortable and I felt everything was very professional) The food was incredible- Comang is an excellent chef!! (I choose the light cleanse and even decided to have juice only for 1-2 days as there was an abundance of food- next time I will def do the deep cleanse) Agung was a perfect host and even went out of her way to help me further on my healing journey - by introducing me to some local Balinese healers. I really felt this added to my healing journey and overall Bali experience. I was treated incredible with such friendly staff and really felt safe at a time in my life where I was a little fragile and scared. I would recommend Gaia retreat to anyone who wants to take that first step into detoxing- I feel so much better for it and will continue to do a detox's whenever I can. Terima Kashi Gaia Rereat xxxx
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Upstairs rooms - have the best views. But all rooms were quaint and beautiful in their own way.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Center Bali, General Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded 1 week ago
Nicole, wow! Thank you! 🙏🏼 So glad you enjoyed your stay and well looked after by Agung and our entire team. Your review truly really lifted Team Gaia's spirits up and hope your spirit equally stays uplifted in the long run. Proud of you for taking the leap to gifting yourself time off at Villa Gaia, while immersing in a therapeutic, overall holistic experience. Know that you're more than welcome to return with 10% discount as honored below in my email and to anyone else you feel may need it and refer your name when booking. Blessings and love from Team Gaia to a speedy recovery! 💪⭐💕
Read more
Twconsulting wrote a review Jun 2020
Seattle12 contributions9 helpful votes
I attended a raw vegan detox retreat here in early 2019. From the moment I entered the property there was a calmness that took over my entire being. The grounds are nestled in Ubud jungle and are kept authentic and clean. The staff and the service they provide is what made this experience life-changing. Every single need or want is tended to. Want a massage? Want freshly prepared cuisine? Want to tour a temple? Want to take a Botony walk and learn about Bali naturally occuring herbs? Want to take a cooking class? Not only were my needs met, but they were so good with informing us about culture and expectations. This saved (me in particular) any embarrassment from not knowing these things as I entered temple, or walked through the rice fields, or embarked on a ritual purification at a Balinese water temple. By the end of my trip, I was emotional leaving my new Balinese family at Gaia. I cannot wait to see them all again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose a 2nd level room with a deck!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Center Bali, General Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded Jul 22, 2020
Tonia, thank you for taking the time to share your uplifting reflections during your stay at Villa Gaia and immersing in the island's beauty, peace, support and our delicious healthy meals as well as all the excursions and holy water purification. Our family is your family and we look forward to having you back again at our sanctuary to recharge! Blessings from Villa Gaia.
Read more
Kristen Yates wrote a review May 2020
Prague, Czech Republic7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Hosting our retreat at Gaia was a true gift in every sense of the word! From the moment we stepped in, we were all held as true family in this home away from home – that feeling helped our guests go so deep in their process and helped to facilitate a magical experience. From the beautiful rooms, AMAZING food, wonderful endless support from the staff... and all the little touches that helped make our retreat so magical... I just can't say enough about our experience with the Gaia family. Thanks to the passion and care of their team, Jen and I were able to focus fully on facilitating the experience we came to create. Any concerns from the guests were met immediately with proactive response and a true sense of care. The facilities are gorgeous – we loved our daily workshops in the shala (with a gorgeous handmade flower mandala as a beautiful touch!) The warmth and love brought from every staff member here is unmatched. A huge highlight was the vibrant meals made with love by Made and the wonderful kitchen staff - I can't recommend Gaia enough for hosting an unforgettable retreat. So much love to the Gaia family!! <3
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Center Bali, General Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded May 17, 2020
Thank you Kristen for sharing your uplifting reflections and feedback! It was a delight to have hosted your group and have you tuck into our homemade, cosy delicious healthy meals. Blessings from Team Gaia to yours truly!
Read more
shmones wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland5 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed at Gaia Retreat Center for a retreat over New years and had an exceptional time. The staff was super friendly, they cared for us lovingly and made it an overall great stay. The rooms and facilities are wonderfully decorated with an eye for detail. The location is perfect. Just outside of Ubud where you can escape the busy vibe but just a 5-10min ride away if you need anything. I would definitely recommend staying at Gaia and am looking forward to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Ce... B, Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Mona, thank you for sharing your positive experience! We feel delighted that you had an overall satisfied stay from proximity to town, support and love by our staff and aesthetics of our sanctuary. Looking forward to having and to hosting you again in the near future!
Read more
Gayane A wrote a review Jan 2020
Moscow, Russia7 contributions5 helpful votes
Having spent 10 days at Gaia retreat center, I can only say - this is a truly amazing place, it totally acceded my expectations! I chose to go for deep cleanse juice detox. Apart from nourishing and tasty juices, the package includes all kinds of massages, spa & Ubud sightseeing tours Though the detox itself was challenging in the end, it very much helped me reboot my system & regulate sleep. The place itself is truly an island of paradise, the rooms are spacious and beautifully designed. Most importantly, the staff of the retreat center was fantastic, I've never received such an amazing care and support! One thing I would suggest is to consider: have an onsite nutritionist who can support clients throughout deep/light cleanse, as well as provide more personalised advice on how to maintain healthy and well-balanced diet. Many thanks, Vila Gaia, I will certainly come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Ce... B, Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Gaya and Uli, it was an absolute delight having looked after you as you journeyed your way through our detox retreat. Thank you for sharing your uplifting reflections, constructive feedback and feeling recharged under our care and support. It would be a delight to have and to host you both in the near future again - blessings from Team Gaia!
Read more
Thao N wrote a review Dec 2019
Atlanta, Georgia37 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
After traveling for 4 consecutive months, I arrived to Bali feeling defeated. I was really worried that I was not going to give Bali a fair chance because I was ready to go home. To combat that feeling, I decided to do a retreat! I quickly decided that I wanted to do a juice detox and after some thorough researching, I knew I wanted to go with GAIA Retreat because they seemed to have offered the most for my money! Due to my procrastination, their only availability was one week sooner than desired, but I didn’t want to give up the opportunity, so I took it. From the moment they pick you up to the moment they drop you off, you are very well pampered! I appreciated that my scheduled was planned out for me from day one with plenty of free time to do my own thing. Some of the guests made arrangements to go into town to explore, but I spent my entire stay at the retreat basking in some very much needed alone time! There was so much to do! From daily yoga, daily massages, swimming in the pool, sitting in the sauna, daily juices and soups, colonics and hikes, I never got bored! I was also lucky enough to meet the owner and his family and join them in a Christmas fire ceremony. The juices were delicious and I never felt hungry for long. There was never a shortage of drinks. I found myself struggling to keep up! Also on my last full day I requested to do the light cleanse because I wanted to try the food. It looked so amazing and it WAS (and that’s coming from someone who lovessss food!) The staff was also very lovely! They were all very kind and accommodating of any changes or requests I made! Overall the facility was clean minus some bugs here and there, but that is to be expected when you’re surrounded by the nature. I am so thankful for this retreat because it has restored my energy for Bali! I have two and a half weeks left and I cannot wait to immerse myself in this beautiful island and kickstart 2020 on a good note! Thank you GAIA! If you are looking for somewhere to let go, unwind, and relax while detoxing, GAIA is the place to be! I highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Ce... B, General Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded Dec 27, 2019
Thao, what a delight, surprise and honor to have received and read your reflections today. Thank you for taking the time off to gift yourself after your months on end of traveling. To pause and recalibrate at our haven. To immerse in our deep cleanse program and transition to our light cleanse. As a foodie, it means a lot to hear that you enjoyed our delicious healthy light meals. It was an honor to have and to host you as you travel and traverse through our world. To welcome 2020 with new and wide open arms. Thank you once again for being here and sharing your uplifting feedback! Wishing you a wonderful new year ahead as you start 2020 a-new!
Read more
Monica3383 wrote a review Dec 2019
Hollywood, Florida6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Pros: the owner is kind and he reimbursed me the money for the remaining days when I decided to go to a cleaner and better hotel. The staff is nice and friendly . The 3rd night I was given a better room that looked like the one on the website. Cons: - Big ants in the bed - Even thought I purchased the most expensive package (luxury option when booking), during the first 2 nights I was offered a room that had dirty walls and didn’t look similar to any photos from the website - there was no tea available, early in the morning, when in my detox schedule I was supposed to drink some with the vitamins - the hotel is not clean - the wife of the owner was quite impolite when I expressed the disappointment of having ants in the bed, mentioning that next time I should not book the garden view rooms. I paid 3100$ for 6 nights and selected the luxury option. I’m not sure what else I should have chosen to have a decent room from the beginning. Also I was told that is expected to have ants in the room and bed since that’s how it is in Bali. Other hotels in Ubud do not have that expectation. - They charge a foreign transaction fee for credit cards, fee that other hotels in Ubud do not charge
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Ce... B, Owner at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded Dec 21, 2019
Dear Monica, we are sincerely sorry that you had an uncomfortable stay with us and at the same time grateful for your constructive feedback towards the room you had stayed in which has now been revamped into a more polished state. Our guests love how cosy the room is and perhaps the semi-outdoor bathroom welcomed a couple of friendly ants into your room. We had wished that the second deluxe room you had stayed in offered you a much more relaxed stay - upstairs facing the rice fields as it is also, one of our most popular, cherished rooms. Our fresh lemongrass and pandan ginger tea was being freshly brewed as all ingredients are prepared locally from our garden. Hence why it wasn't ready early morning - yet it was not part of the detox protocol. It is simply complimentary herbal tea on tap. The supplements can be taken with water. We appreciate that you were looked and loved by our staff and that the extension of refund was a generous compensation. Apologies for the unfortunate encounters and circumstances once again. All our guests leave on a truly satisfied note and we ensure to maintain those same standards year after year. Your review is fully appreciated.
Read more
Sh O wrote a review Dec 2019
Minchinbury, Australia2 contributions
My time at Villa Gaia was spectacular. All the staff there are beautiful-super heart centred, hospitable, compassionate, genuinely attentive and helpful. I felt so welcomed, held, and taken care of. Even on the deep cleanse, there is an abundance of juices, smoothies and soups. I struggled to finish everything. Although the detox symptoms (headaches, nausea ect) are to be expected, you will never feel hungry here. They really look after you. I feel so nourished, rejuvenated, open and connected on all levels -mental physical spiritual and emotional. I would without a doubt recommend Villa Gaia to anyone in need of some TLC, rest, clarity, and nourishment which really, is all of us. Thank you so much for an unforgettable experience :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Ce... B, Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded Dec 8, 2019
Beautiful reflections, observations and sharing your rewarding detox journey with the world is inspiring for many others! Thank you Shirin for being here, entrusting in us, or looking after yourself - and allowing us to pamper and look well after you. We hope to have you back in the near future - blessings from Team Gaia!
Read more
tariara wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
I was a guest at Gaia retreat centre for my 18 day Yoga teacher training. I cannot think of a better location to have done this!! Practicing yoga while overlooking the thriving jungle was a dream. Philip has designed a perfect oasis just down the road from the bustling centre of Ubud. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, keeping the centre spotless and decorating it with fresh flowers every morning. They served us some of the best food you will have in Bali, plus a bonus is it is all so healthy! I did not miss or crave anything as for me I felt all the meals were balanced and filling. The rooms were so peaceful and comfortable, making it easy to settle in. My favourite part of the centre is the tranquil pool which overlooks the jungle. I highly recommend Gaia to anyone looking for the calm in Ubud. You can tell a lot of heart has gone into this space. Thank you to Noura and team Gaia for my stay :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Ce... B, Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded Nov 18, 2019
Tara, thank you for taking the time to share your feelings, feedback and constructive experience! It is a delight to have read and passed your uplifting words to all of our members at Villa Gaia. Glad you have enjoyed our delicious and healthy meals to feeling fully supported at our venue by the pool and enjoying all the intricate details! We hope to have you back again - blessings from Bali!
Read more
msolari23 wrote a review Nov 2019
San Francisco, California, United States4 contributions
I was excited by the pictures before I arrived but its seldom that reality is more amazing than the pictures of a retreat center and this was the case at Gaia. First of all the staff are INCREDIBLE at everything. They anticipate your every need. They were beyond kind and helpful with anything that you'd ever need. The food is one of the best I've had in Bali and they use the best of the best local ingredients from Buda Bali and all that. They kept the place spotless and beautified with flower mandalas and fresh incents. Fresh fruits and amazing smoothies served always with ingredient combinations I never dreamed possible. The rooms are astonishingly beautiful.. Despite being semi close to the center it feels like you are way way way far out of town because you hear the jungle buzzing beautiful sounds at night that lead to magical dreams. The practice space was perfect for yoga with giant beautiful flower of life designs embroidered curtains to block the sun when necessary or opening into the beautiful jungle. Oh and there is a pool and even a sauna. The staff and owners are the kindest and they will guide you to everything you'd ever need to manifest your dreams in Bali. Everyone here represents the best that Bali has to offer. Gaia Retreat Center embodies the spirit of this island. I highly recommend you com here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaia Retreat Ce... B, Manager at Gaia Retreat Center
Responded Nov 6, 2019
Miguel - thank you for taking the time to share every detail that lifted your spirit up by being here at Gaia Retreat Center. We are honored to have supported you, from healthy meals to aesthetics to the cleanliness of our rooms, the shala view, flower-mandala-touches that go a long way created by our wonderful Team Gaia ... and everything else in between. Grateful for your kindness, happiness and reflections!
Read more
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Villa Gaia
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbud
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gaia Retreat Center
Which popular attractions are close to Gaia Retreat Center?
Nearby attractions include Ubud Sari Coffee Luwak Agrotourism (0.1 miles), Har's Garden (0.08 miles), and The Global Harmony Monument (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gaia Retreat Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Gaia Retreat Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Gaia Retreat Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Gaia Retreat Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gaia Retreat Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Avocado Warung Ubud, Abe Do, and Mr. Wayan, Coffee & Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gaia Retreat Center?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool, a sauna, and a yoga room during their stay.
Does Gaia Retreat Center have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Gaia Retreat Center offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Gaia Retreat Center have airport transportation?
Yes, Gaia Retreat Center offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Gaia Retreat Center located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Ubud.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gaia Retreat Center?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.