We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mason Elephant Lodge

Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561 Indonesia
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
16 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Orbitz.com
$373
$208
View Deal
Travelocity$208
Expedia.com$208
Otel.com$222
CheapTickets$208
getaroom.com$307
Lol.travel$373
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (1453)
Room & Suite (187)
Videos (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Bali’s most unique hotel and winner of the 2016, 2017 & 2018 World Luxury Hotel Awards for Best Luxury Lodge in Asia and Best Luxury Eco Safari Lodge in the World. Ideal for animal and nature lovers, guests staying at the Mason Elephant Lodge arise to the sights and sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens and jungle. Get up close and personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive and intimate elephant experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Spa
Concierge
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Refrigerator
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
1,355Reviews71Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 903
  • 247
  • 73
  • 39
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Me and my husband researched a few different places in search of somewhere the elephants are treated right, we came across a review on this place which stated the elephants were well looked after and the staff didn’t use any sharp objects to get them to cooperate. This wasn’t the case unfortunately. We booked to wash and swim with the elephants. Washing was great at first, then when the elephant wasn’t doing as she was told by the staff, I witnessed him punch her just under her ear. Then we went to go ‘swim’ with them. You don’t swim with them at all, you’re told to get on their necks and they walk around in the water with you on them (as well as a staff member behind you) As I watched the staff I noticed they all had something in their hand, as I looked closer I noticed it was some sort of sharp metal that they were stabbing the elephants with when they wanted them to go under water. This absolutely sickened me and I felt terrible for giving a place like this my money! We then went to see the 2 month old baby and his mother. I was even more distraught when I noticed the baby being stabbed in the head so he would go over to some children. Do not go here if you love animals, your heart will break when you see how they’re treated.
Read more
Response from MasonAdventures, Manager at Mason Elephant Lodge
Responded yesterday
Thanks for putting in your review, 941LMS.
Read more
+1
Property's Favorite Review
I read so many reviews about this place before I came, some negative and some positive! Being a huge animal lover I was very sceptical however I’m so glad I went! What a special way to end our holiday and honeymoon! We paid extra to stay in the park view room and well worth the money in my opinion. Opening your doors to see those beautiful elephants, waking up to them and going to sleep with the there is such a lovely experience! So where do I start .. we stayed two nights (this is ample by the way) On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff, and received a complimentary drink (Very tasty). They went through all details with us thoroughly, showed us round, took us to our room and brought our luggage up to us. On arrival to the room we had a lovely fruit bowl, a mini bar full of goodies (extra charges if used which wasn’t a problem to us) We had every elephant experience the park does 😍 that evening we got collected from our room by a elephant and taken down for a candle lit dinner - this was beautiful! Very tasty. The following morning we went to wash the elephants and then swim with them (surreal experience).. wow! That was amazing. We were the only people there and it was super! Private area to swim with them. We had lots of fun! It is clear to see their handlers love their elephants. The elephants do roam, and yes they are chained at certain points (only when it’s feeding time) this is expected. Any handler will explain the reasons why. Photos can be taken with the elephants whenever and staff around the park are more than happy to take them for you! (They get amazing pics and videos) Highly recommend this place!!
Read more
Response from MasonAdventures, Manager at Mason Elephant Lodge
Responded Nov 25, 2018
Hi Chelsiex, thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review on your stay! We're thrilled that you took the time to learn about our elephants and our park and had some lovely experiences with us :)
Read more
Although I made reservations for all elephant activities we wanted to do months prior to our arrival and received a very detailed schedule of events, once we arrived there are actually no reservations for events just long lines waiting with day visitors that are not hotel guests. While I originally booked the activities and my E-mail confirmation says it includes breakfast now that we arrived we are told breakfast is not included. Elephants are shackled in the leg. The public bathings are not clean and have a towel (not disposable and not for one time use) for all guests to use. I find this very disgusting. The reservation department confirms via E-mail, but the email is not honored. I am very disappointed.
Read more
Response from MasonAdventures, Manager at Mason Elephant Lodge
Responded yesterday
Hi Jennifer, thank you for taking time to write your review
Read more
Really annoyed we didn’t do our research on this place, as well as they try to market this place as a sanctuary, it’s not. The elephants we saw were there to be exploited, nothing more. Ride, swim then back on the short chain. See picture of one stretched on her chain to get a drink.
Read more
Response from MasonAdventures, Manager at Mason Elephant Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Ollie, thank you for stopping by and putting in your review. I just needed to mention that yes, we have our elephant activities to help to continue to look after our herd to the best of our ability and given the limitations here in Bali, but I also wanted to reassure you that we have never once condoned the use of any inhumane training practices since day one, our elephants do have numerous opportunities to interact and socialise with each other, and the only times during the day that our elephants are on their pads is during meal breaks while they're not with their mahout, and at night.
Read more
Most awful sad treatment of animals. Just simply horrifying. These giant beauties are not let free to roam ever and forced to perform all day long . They live their entire lives on a 3 ft chain . Nightmare. Avoid at all costs and do not support this operation. They are not saving elephants like they claim, but exploiting an already bad situation
Read more
Response from MasonAdventures, Manager at Mason Elephant Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time for your review on us, Chani. However, I just needed to mention that we do take the welfare of our elephants very seriously, and yes they do have numerous opportunities to socialise and interact with each other, and the only times during the day when they're on their pads is if they're having a meal or if it's at night. Additionally, it's also worth mentioning that we're just about to open our new elephant free roaming area since we recently were able to secure a bit more land from the local village for it now.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
elephant safari park hotel ubud, elephant safari park and lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbud
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing