We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence

Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2015

My room was great cosy and comfortable The location perfect The amenities excellent and the food provided was really enjoyable I cannot more highly recommend this place to any one. My stay here and the people I met were a highlight of my 2 months in India

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri C
Reviewed August 16, 2015

I stayed here on my first time in Varanasi. I was traveling alone and hadn't been in India for very long. I was at first quite intimidated by Varanasi! But, I'm so glad I chose to stay at Ram Bhawan because the common areas made for the perfect meeting place. Right away I met lots of people with whom I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
kent
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Myself and my partner ended up staying in this hostel for a week, its a tranquil place, the staff are lovely, its perfect location, it has the best roof terrace cafe you could ask for and the food you get with the price is amazing! I would recommend everyone stay here!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liffy18
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed April 13, 2015

We loved our stay of 3 nights in the Ram Bhawan residence, really want to recommend this to everybody. The staff was extremely helpfull and friendly, the room (and actually the whole accomodation) was beautifull and extremely clean. Breakfast and lunch are included, nice moments around the lunchtable with the other guests, great food. This place is an oasis in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nicolenicole2015
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Reviewed April 3, 2015 via mobile

Visited a few years back. Return visit and still impressed. Building has the great atmosphere of a sympathetic renovation. Rooms great. Breakfast and (super) lunch included should you wish. Well run place representing good value for money. Ghat location perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GlynCarre
Nantes, France
Reviewed February 23, 2015

A huge disappointment. I guess it all depends on who stays there. The house was mainly occupied by a group of noisy and not really friendly Indian architecture students and some American undergrads. I ran away from it after one night and would not necessarily recommend it. Not so well located either.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JFLR187198
faustoaarya, Public Relations Manager at Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence, responded to this review

Dear Member, We are sorry to hear you were displeased by your stay at Ram Bhawan. The Kautilya Society and The Varanasi Heritage Foundation both have offices in Ram Bhawan and due to their work of preserving the heritage of the city they host study trips and university exchanges with universities in India and abroad. You happened to stay with...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed January 26, 2015

I satayed in there for 10 days from the last days of december to some days in Jaunary. I went there only for five days but at the end the mystic of varanasi and the good enviroment of the hostel convinced me to stay longer. I have been in quite a lot hostels and hotels in India and this palce...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Martincacereal
Mumbai
Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Kautilya in Sept 2014. It is a traditionally structured house which gives it a different feel. The top floors are so quaintly kept with a swing, self use kitchenette, terrace and all that ...it feels like home. I met some very interesting ladies here as well. A satvic environment is maintained with shoes being kept downstairs, only...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank priyankawriting
Beijing, China
Reviewed December 1, 2014

I really loved the experience with Kautilya Society Residence. Good staff, food and energy. If I go back to Varanasi I will stay with them. I think its a little bit hard to find the hostel, but you can ask the local people about the localisation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natigolin1
Reviewed November 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights and felt very comfortable in the hostel. Nice people clan rooms hot showers that really work. If you want ,you can prepare your own breakfast. Also rooftop place invites for relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wolfgang S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
1,168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#21 of 73 in Varanasi
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 73 in Varanasi
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somit Paying Guest House
Somit Paying Guest House
#9 of 208 in Varanasi
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ram Bhavan is the hospitality structure of the Kautilya Society. A four floor building architected in a traditional style in the historical area near Dashashwamedh Ghat, with a terrace with a wonderful view on the river and the city. It is the residential facility for members in Varanasi, providing accommodation with half board and lodging throughout the year. At Ram Bhavan members can enjoy the warmth and protection of a family-style environment, as well as the good and reliable meals of our personally-trained cook. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence

Address: Munshi Ghat D 20/21 | Old Varanasi, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Price Range: $12 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All the rooms I saw were all very unique”
nettlemypetal, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the riverside are quieter.”
rayc691, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“Last floor rooms are pretty nice.”
cicihahakoko, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
“I chose the private double and was amazing.”
456lilyw, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on top floor: good for sleep, bad for WiFi -- and bring your own padlock!”
I6266XAjoshb, Mar 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hostelworld.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates