We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3080 NM Hwy 434 PO Box 1198, Angel Fire, NM 87710
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$139
View deal
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Etrip
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (20)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Angel Fire
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.8
Value
4.8
Travelers' Choice
Experience The Retreat at Angel Fire. Your mountain getaway awaits at the Retreat at Angel Fire! Enjoy one of our 10 private cabins nestled on 12 wooded acres. No shared walls or outdated condos -instead enjoy a quaint cabin in the woods. The perfect place to unwind in quiet serenity, connect with nature and simply relax. Watch wildlife from your covered front deck while enjoying the crisp mountain air and listening to the hum of the wind in the aspens throughout the property. It’s not uncommon to see deer grazing or napping in the field, or see turkeys wandering through the property. In winter months, we have sleds for kids to romp and play. In the summer, hunt for pinecones and enjoy wandering the property and the beautiful outdoors. Take in the majestic southern Rocky Mountains, towering pines and crisp cool mountain air. Grill dinner out on one of our conveniently located propane grills (propane provided). Have s'mores in our signature chiminea and just enjoy time with family and friends.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hiking
Patio
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Fireplace
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
49Reviews4Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jon H wrote a review Aug 7
2 contributions
We stayed here from 8/5 to 8/7 for a wedding we were attending. Upon arriving we walked in and the whole cabin smelled like bacon grease and the dishwasher had a sign saying it was out of order. The next morning I attempted to shower and while trying to turn on the shower it turned a little and the faucet and the knob came off. We called to have it fixed but this took quite awhile and we had no access to the 1 bathroom in the cabin and the water was turned off. This was especially hard give my wife and daughters had know access to a bathroom to get ready for the wedding they were in that day. Not to mention they were supposed to be over at the brides cabin helping her get ready for the wedding. We ended up having to go to there cabin to shower and get ready. Then when we asked for some sort of compensation for the dishwasher being out of order and the problems with the shower we were told nope. I can't recommend this place to anyone. Sorry not sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelisa Heddin, Owner at The Retreat at Angel Fire
Responded yesterday
Jon, We are genuinely sorry for the inconvenience to your stay; as evidenced by the incredible amount of 5 star reviews we have received from other guests, this is certainly not the norm. We work very hard to ensure our guests have a great time when staying with us. The shower had been working prior to your arrival when we cleaned your cabin that day and was working for the previous guest. It appears that the cartridge had broken when you used it on Saturday morning. We jumped through hoops to get the issue repaired and responded immediately. We had the issue repaired in less than an hour. I’m so sorry to hear about the odor. We will discuss this concern with our housekeeping staff. We did not provide you with the refund you demanded because you were the one who had broken the shower, and we jumped through hoops to get you taken care; with the issue being resolved within an hour. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and wish you and your family the very best.
Read more
Sherman B wrote a review Sep 2020
Amariillo, TX, United States10 contributions15 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in Wolf 1. The cabin was roomy, clean and comfortable. Deer meandered past at least two times each day. Just a few miles from the resort, and beautiful 45 minutes drives to Taos and Red River. Already planning a return visit!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelisa Heddin, Owner at The Retreat at Angel Fire
Responded Jan 19, 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you come back.
Read more
Scott M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful setting, very peaceful and relaxing. Cabin was well equipped with everything you need. There’s a lot of deer and chipmunks to keep you entertained. The owner, Dean and his manager Aly are very accommodating and super nice and thoughtful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Julie L wrote a review Jul 2022
Austin, Texas3 contributions
We had a great, relaxing time at this wonderful cabin. It was incredibly clean and had everything we needed. The description said “rustic” but we found it to be anything but. Check in was so easy and management communicated with us before we arrived and while we were there ready to meet all of our needs. The location was great and even though there was a cabin next to us, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Would have loved a king bed instead of a queen, but that was a minor thing. We will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brendan UK wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom10 contributions23 helpful votes
Great welcome and a really modern, clean and comfortable cabin. Equipment and cooking utensils were all high quality. Netflix and Amazon prime in the tv. Heating worked well. Peaceful location. Only lost one star as the shower was poor and the hot water slow to come through.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelisa Heddin, Owner at The Retreat at Angel Fire
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so sorry to hear about your issue with the shower. Based upon your feedback, we had it worked on immediately after your stay. We work really hard to ensure our guests have an incredible time and that our property is always well maintained. Feedback from our guests helps us accomplish that.
Read more
Michelle L wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Had an absolute wonderful time at this cabin nestled in the woods. Very clean & accommodating! Abundant wildlife in the area and truly feels like a retreat! Convenient to all amenities in the village of Angel Fire!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelisa Heddin, Owner at The Retreat at Angel Fire
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Michelle, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being our guest. We hope you'll come back soon!
Read more
Joseph A. wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I along with our 19 month old came to Angel fire for New Year’s Eve seeking a winter wonderland, and we were not disappointed. We received a text from Aly, the manager when we were driving up the cabin the morning of check in stating that check in may be slightly delayed due to many check outs and being short staffed. I called her and asked if there was any way we could check in early because we were already on our way to Angel Fire trying to beat the winter storm. She said that she would try her best. She texted us like three hours later informing us that our cabin was clean and ready for our arrival. We arrived to our awesome cabin just it began snowing, and it did not stop until the next morning. The next morning our truck was covered in several inches of snow, so I called Aly and asked if we’re could borrow a broom or ice scrapper with a brush. She said she would bring one to us. A few minutes later, she was outside brushing all the snow off of our truck. Later that afternoon, I was having difficulty driving up the steep snow covered road/entrance to our winter 4x4 only cabin location. I called Aly again to ask if they could snow plow the road up to our cabin and in front of it. Again, within minutes Aly’s husband was on the way in a bob cat to snow plow the road/ entrance to our cabin. This made it a lot easier to drive up and down from our cabin. He even brought some more shampoo and body was to our cabin door that I requested earlier that afternoon. Not only are the cabins more than we expected, Aly and her husband went above and beyond to ensure our brief two day stay was a memorable one. We will be back again, and will tell our friends and family about stay in the mountains.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelisa Heddin, Owner at The Retreat at Angel Fire
Responded Feb 10, 2022
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; we really do work hard to ensure our guests have a fantastic experience! We are so blessed to have Aly and Jesse on our team - they are amazing and work so hard. We hope you'll come stay again soon!
Read more
Eliz wrote a review Dec 2021
Albuquerque, New Mexico9 contributions4 helpful votes
This was our very first trip to Angel fire. We had a good time overall, however there were some drawbacks: 1. It is a must to have chains or good tires. We were Stranded in snow cold for an hour inside the retreat before we got any help. - There is no bottled drinking water in the cabin - if you have them In truck make sure to keep in cabin else it’s all frozen. - The Shower was partially open- water comes all out- it’s a mess especially if you’re going with little kids. - The Thermostat control is only in living room, in case you’re hot/cold- you’d have to get up and go there to reduce/ increase temp - Any requests were responded that all service agents were busy with other things and couldn’t attend to yours. - There’s No board games as mentioned in the website - There was no directions for bear - so be prepared to get lost and find directions on your own. I think apart from these, it’s a good place- we might go there again well prepared.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelisa Heddin, Owner at The Retreat at Angel Fire
Responded Feb 10, 2022
We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us; we work so hard to ensure all of our guests have a fantastic time! We do tell anyone traveling to the mountains in the winter to always check the weather before they travel and strongly advise people to bring chains when you are traveling in the winter - regardless of where you are staying. We had provided this advice to you in the information you received prior to travel. I'm so sorry you had this experience. You were traveling during a storm that had dumped over 18 inches of snow and were coming in during that storm event. Our staff worked overtime to get our property plowed and keep everyone safe. They also pulled you out of the snow drift for free, even though anyone else in town would have asked you to call a tow truck - this is just a sample of how we work hard to take care of our guests, even when things don't go as planned. You are correct, we do not provide bottled water; however, our water is well water and is safe for drinking, we haven't had any complaints about water quality. The cabin you stayed in does have a remodeled shower with a glass partition - we haven't had anyone else complain about water splashing - that said, though, if you come back, just let us know - we are happy to provide extra towels or a bathmat to catch the water when your little one splashes and plays in the shower. Our cabins are 750 square feet with one thermostat which is located at the middle of the cabin - it just isn't practical to put in more thermostats for such a small space. We do have board games available to guests, you need to request the games and we will happily deliver to your cabin. That said, unfortunately, due to the storm event we had mentioned, unfortunately, our staff were all working overtime to plow the property and couldn't bring you the concierge items you had requested during the storm - we are so sorry for that, as that is typically not the case. In terms of directions to your specific cabin, we do provide directions to guests - you were sent an email the day before your arrival which included a map of the property and your cabin assignment. We also texted this same map and directions to you the day of your arrival and also text a video with directions to your cabin as well. I have gone back to our records and have verified that all of these communications were sent to you. I don't know if you didn't provide correct contact information or if you somehow missed these. Also, if you do get lost on our property, we send all of our guests our cell phone number the morning of your arrival so that they can reach us and get directions or help if they ever need anything. Again, we really work hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us, and are sincerely so sorry to hear that you did not have that experience. We wish you all the best!
Read more
K Tika wrote a review Nov 2021
Albuquerque, New Mexico5 contributions3 helpful votes
5/5! Our family had the best experience! The service is amazing, very quick response, and friendly staff! I will definitely be recommending this place my friends and family about this place and experience!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelisa Heddin, Owner at The Retreat at Angel Fire
Responded Feb 10, 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come stay again soon!
Read more
Teri H wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Wonderful cabin nestled in the mountains. We loved everything about the place. The owners kept in touch by text and was willing to provide what we needed. Will definitely stay there again. Loved watching the deers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelisa Heddin, Owner at The Retreat at Angel Fire
Responded Nov 10, 2021
Teri, Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay - we look forward to having you come again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$177 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoAngel Fire
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Retreat at Angel Fire
Which popular attractions are close to The Retreat at Angel Fire?
Nearby attractions include Enchanted Circle Pottery (4.8 miles), Angel Fire Resort (2.8 miles), and Angel Fire Bike Park (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Retreat at Angel Fire?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at The Retreat at Angel Fire?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Retreat at Angel Fire?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Retreat at Angel Fire?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Retreat at Angel Fire?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mikuna Grill Peruvian Southwestern Cuisine, The Bakery & Cafe at Angel Fire, and Angel Fired Pizza.
Is The Retreat at Angel Fire accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.