We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kapithan's Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kapithan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Start your review of Kapithan's Inn
 Click to rate
Chennai
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked the room over phone and with all great reviews on the internet I blindly went ahead to the place to see the rooms were not to my satisfaction. It was dark, AC was noisy and two of the rooms almost share a bath (a 7 ft wall to split the bathrooms) and a comment "who is going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babhu
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this review

This man had booked 2 AC rooms over phone, he called thrice to confirm the rooms, and made us hold the room till 7 p.m. Finally he reached and started inspecting the room before checking-in and wanted to negotiate the price for 1 night’s stay. As alleged by him, we have no shared bathrooms and each room has its own...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my wife recently stayed here, it is clean and very central to everything, however we were offered a breakfast on the morning we arrived ( 2 omelettes+tea/toast),the Bad Taste kicked in when the landlady demanded 800 Rupees for her basic breakfast !? Average price anywhere else R100 I would like an explanation ? Advice for fellow tourists.. stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony O
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this review

We find this review funny. This gentleman had very decent breakfast with toast/butter/jam, omlettes and a pot of Tea for 2 persons x 3 days. But this couple can’t remember what they had as they were heavy boozers. They are an aged couple between 60 – 70 years of age. I still have his breakfast account in my book. 3...

Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We came late in the evening in high season and it was hard to find a room such spontainious as we are. It was the last room we could get. The prices are fair and the owners very helpful and friendly. First we wanted to stay just for one night, but on the next day we decided to stay longer....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine S
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Christine for your very positive review. We would be happy to host you for your next visit to Cochin.

Reviewed August 8, 2016

We stayed at Kapithan's Inn during our visit at Kerala. This is a friendly and reasonable bed and breakfast place It has a great location and close to all the attractions. I gave it an excellent review because Mr Pius helped us organize and plan our first visit to Kerala. Kapithan's Inn took care of all the arrangements and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deequest
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed February 10, 2016

My husband and me , we stayed at this beautiful Homestay run by a family. The house is in a very quite and nice place, although is very near the restaurants and shops, about 10 minute walk. We also enjoyed the Kathakali Theatre (3 minute walk from Kapithan's Inn) where we could attend classical music concerts (Sitar, tabla), Classical dances,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fatima341
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 10, 2016

Our experience of staying here was that it is a clean and friendly place with helpful staff who organised pick up from the airport. It is very close to the main attractions in Fort Cochin. We stayed in a 'cottage' which is actually a small block of 6 apartments behind the main house, they are safe though slightly cramped if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Birgit C
Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice home stay in Fort Cochin. The rooms are clean and the owners are very helpful. It's in a good location and is walking distance to the Chinese fishing nets. There are good restaurants nearby. I would happily recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stel113
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place that serves a good breakfast, hot water, and a comfortable bed. The rooms are well equipped, and there are tables to sit at outside. The problem is three fold. (1) The lady isn't the friendliest I have met, there are few smiles here. (2) The room was tiny and has a cupboard screwed to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stephen W
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive comments about the room and the breakfast. The guest has made this review in comparison with another property where he stayed before. The room which he selected in our property is much cheaper than the one he stayed in the other property. If he had chosen our rooms of the same price he would have enjoyed...

Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

For the price we paid, this hotel does not deliver compared to another place we stayed at in Kochi. We booked a standard room with A/C. It was very small and had a broken wall cupboard in the way of the bathroom door. The bathroom was tiny and had no place to put more than a toothbrush in the tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine N
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this review

This review is the continuation of the above review as they both are partners and stayed in the same room. We do not appreciate her comparison of our room with another accommodation as each property has their own features and facilities according to the variation in price. If you get some extra attention elsewhere you cannot expect to get the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We arrived in Cochi late evening, exhausted and weary after a long journey and were greeted warmly by the host, and shown to our immaculate suite and bathroom. After we checked in, we were sent up tea and coffee (even though there is no restaurant, but breakfast is available), leaving us feeling refreshed. The location is great, it is on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sutapa M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#69 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#92 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiramel Residency
Chiramel Residency
#40 of 415 in Kochi (Cochin)
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elphinstone Residency
Elphinstone Residency
#58 of 415 in Kochi (Cochin)
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Garden Residency
Fort Garden Residency
#70 of 415 in Kochi (Cochin)
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mother Tree B&B
Mother Tree B&B
#42 of 415 in Kochi (Cochin)
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
PLEASE NOTE THE CHANGE OF PROPERTY NAME - FROM KAPITHAN INN TO KAPITHAN'S INN We have elegantly furnished cozy rooms for budget travellers with affordable prices. Rooms are avaialble Non AC and with AC, attached bathrooms with hot and cold showers. Also have exquisitely furnished modern AC suite rooms for high end travellers with TV, refrigerator, balcony etc. Family rooms are also available with 4 beds in an AC suite room. We are centrally located and have easy access to beach, historic monuments, restaurants, shops, theatre with cultural activities, yoga and meditation centres, massage parlours etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kapithan's Inn

Address: 1/931 Near Santa Cruz Ground | K. L. Bernard Master Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $13 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapithan's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kapithan's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapithan's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kapithan's Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kapithan's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“First we asked for a standard room but it was rather small, then we changed for another big room so we could accomodate my teenager son and it was very comfortable and clean with AC too., it had a lot of space and small living room”
 of 5 bubbles Fatima341, Feb 10, 2016 | Read review
“Cottages much nicer than standard rooms”
 of 5 bubbles birgitc2016, Jan 10, 2016 | Read review
“We saw just our room, but I suppose an even better choice would be one upstairs, especially if one's going to visit Fort Cochi in monsoon time, as during a violent rainfall our room was for a while totally flooded - and that's in November, too.”
 of 5 bubbles 617LindaK, Nov 26, 2012 | Read review
“all rooms are great, those on the 3rd floor give out a great view of the city! p.s. if you take breakfasst, ask for the omlette with onions!! Asis (one of the employees there, terribly funny and helpful guy) will get out the best omlette you ve ever had!”
 of 5 bubbles AnaB503, Nov 14, 2012 | Read review
“The normal rooms are a better value than the suites. Take a suite if you want a spacious room or are traveling with kids.”
 of 5 bubbles Lilacs75, Jan 16, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question