We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luigi's Complex

Palma Rima Avenue Kotu Beach, Kololi, Serekunda Gambia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (121)
Room & Suite (38)
Pool & Beach (25)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 14 hotels in Kololi
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.8
Luigi's Complex: Luxury Serviced Holiday Apartment and Hotel consists of 18, 1 and 2 bedroom self catering apartment and 14 bed and breakfast rooms. All rooms have free wi-fi and AC. Furnished to European standards. Reasonably priced with NO hidden extras. Ideal location for those who treasure their independence without sacrificing their comforts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located

Location

Palma Rima Avenue Kotu Beach, Kololi, Serekunda Gambia
Luigi's Complex
297Reviews27Q+A76Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 257
  • 30
  • 4
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Radiator123 wrote a review Dec 2023
Kent, United Kingdom1 contribution
After visiting Luigi's restaurant many times, we finally stayed in their apartments this Christmas period and only wished we'd done it sooner. Our apartment was clean, tidy, comfortable and very well equipped and was a real home from home. It was also regularly cleaned and maintained. The staff across the complex were great, being very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the on-site shop was extremely useful. We'd highly recommend for couples friends and families :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: You have to book direct with them via email rather than a live booking system online, so you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sue S wrote a review Dec 2023
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom172 contributions128 helpful votes
Desperate to escape the dire weather and politics of the UK we booked a last minute week away at Luigi's Complex, influenced by the very positive reviews the place has received. Although we have both travelled extensively neither of us had been to Gambia before and were not quite sure what to expect. The Complex is small and was virtually fully booked over Christmas with mainly retired Brits, many of whom seemed to come each year for 6 or more weeks at a time and knew each other from previous visits. We booked an ordinary room and it took us a little while to adjust to how small and dark it was, though it was equipped with all we needed, on the ground floor and very close to both the restaurant and the small pool, which was helpful as my mobility is making stairs an increasing struggle. The bed was comfortable, though the duvet a bit heavy for the warm weather. The pillows were a bit rigid too and the shower room rather tired and basic, but these are such personal preferences. There was a very efficient ceiling fan, a similarly efficient AC system and mosquito netting at the windows. We'd hadour yellow fever jabs and were taking anti-malaria tabs, so felt safe and well throughout and experienced no problem with mosquitos. Our only other cavil was that as avid readers we found the lighting in the room too inadequate to read unless we were using backlit Kindles, iPads or iPhones. There was also poor light to make up or do hair, but the place is so relaxed that quite quickly one ceased to worry about such things. Everyone lives in the most casual T shirt, shorts and swimwear. There's a rather small pool but this did not seem to worry most of the other residents who remained on the comfortable padded loungers all day without swimming. There are enough loungers to go round and bagging them with towels is verboten! Billed as a Pasta and Pizza Restaurant Luigi's does indeed serve mainly Italian food, but it is simple, affordable, authentic and clearly well liked locally as the restaurant is often quite busy. We were able to order a good freshly-made breakfast each morning and observed that many with apartments self-catered. The piece de resistance was the Christmas Lunch to which well over 100 people came, including some delightful children and some helpers from a nearby school which Julie supports. The meal was incredibly well organised and included traditional English vegetables and ingredients seemingly unavailable in Gambia. It culminated in Santa Luigi arriving with prezzies in a decorated wheelbarrow for the children guests. What became clear quite quickly was that Julie runs a very efficient ship. Her staff are all friendly and helpful, the rooms and communal space are immaculate and the Complex is very well situated. A huge beautiful beach, Kotu, is a two minute walk away where sun loungers, umbrellas, beach bars and gentle Atlantic breakers are readily available. Opposite there is a classy new hotel, The African Princess, the big gorgeous pools of which can be used by non residents for £10 a day, as can the good restaurant, if you prefer to swim in a bigger pool than the one at the Complex. There are a number of friendly, if basic, bars and restaurants in the same road as Luigi's offering a fairly limited range of meals and drinks. Gambia is worth exploring and Julie or one of her team can organise trips very easily and have taxis on standby near the Complex. We took a one day trip and would have liked to take an up river one too but there was no availability at Christmas. These things can be booked on line in advance. One final point: if like us you're cat lovers you will love Luigi's as some 40 stray cats have been adopted and are fed daily. All beautiful, friendly, clean and healthy (and quiet) they silently patrol the place, enjoying attention and adding a dimension to the retreat. The office functions with rarely fewer than 3 cats sleeping comfortably wedged beside the computer, or on a window sill. There are also two friendly house dogs.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: As for an apartment to give yourself more space and the option to self cater.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ReedCath wrote a review Sep 2023
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom26 contributions9 helpful votes
After receiving an email confirming the availability of an apartment, we asked for bank details to pay by return… in the meantime we paid £1000 for flights only to receive an email saying the rooms are no longer available… thanks Luigi’s flights paid for and nowhere to stay… poor customer service
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded Nov 14, 2023
Dear Ms Reed, If you check your emails, on the 16 September2023 (10:35), we emailed you informing you of a 2-bedroom apartment that had become available. We cannot hold rooms just on inquiries. As we had not heard from you, another booking request came in and responded immediately on the 18th of September 2 days after your request, so we took the booking, and we immediately emailed you to inform you that the apartment was no longer available. Had you responded and informed us that you were interested to book we would have held the dates while you arranged your flight. Please check your email dated 18th September 2023 (23:54)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
vegel1 wrote a review Jul 2023
Heggedal, Norway222 contributions88 helpful votes
Visited during off season. Quite, with few tourists. A bit sad the restaurant was closed, but, it did not ruin my holiday. Coming back to Luigis was exactly as expected. Stayed 14 nights for combined holiday and work. I knew perfectly well that this gem of a hotel is worth every single money spent. Staff, location and rooms (Deluxe Suite) is above everything else you can get in The Gambia. Its so clean, tidy, comfortable and with all the amenities you need. Wifi works perfect, I love the fact that the hotel is an animal friendly place with a lots of cats and dogs living in the facility. I would highly recommend Luigis compared to other more expensive alternatives around the area. Its a one minute walk down to the beach. A place you will definlity return. I will!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Deluxe Suite and late check out
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jonhopkins1711 wrote a review May 2023
London, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Just returned after a fantastic week staying at Luigi’s. Superb accommodation, spotlessly clean, great food, service and staff. Easy access to the beach, bars and restaurants nearby, or a short taxi trip to the Strip for a wider selection. I’d highly recommend. Been travelling to Gambia for 30 years. This place is a gem.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sharon H wrote a review Apr 2023
3 contributions
We have been to Gambia 23 times. We have stayed in great (and expensive) hotels including Kairaba, African princess, Tamala and Balafon. This year we decided to give Luigi’s a try. We must say this hotel was by far the best. The owners Julie Luigi’s and their staff were always smiling and ready for a little chat. Lovely to go away but also lovely with those little home from home touches and that is exactly what you get. Food in the restaurant is outstanding. We will be returning next year and Luigi’s will alway be our first choice for accommodation (if available as a very popular hotel). A massive big thank you to Julie Luigi and all the staff at the hotel. But an especially big thank you to the laundry service. First time I ever came home with just a carrier bag of dirty washing from my holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mitzey wrote a review Mar 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom816 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed at Luigis with my daughter for a 2 week stay, the reason I am giving this rating is that I could not find any faults, the room was very clean with little touches such as bath robe slippers. Milk was in our room when we arrived. We went SC the kitchen was well equipped everything you need if you wanted to prepare own meals. There is a small shop on the complex Anna’s she supplies most basic foods at a good price, she is a lovely lady also her son can’t remember his name he was so polite and helpful. The rest of the staff from bar restaurant cleaners and reception staff all really nice. I don’t usually eat pizza but had quite a few in Luigis restaurant (delicious) If I went back to The Gambia I would hope to stay here. This complex is only yards from the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa S wrote a review Jan 2023
Chelmsford, United Kingdom48 contributions55 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 weeks over Christmas in a one bedroom apartment. I don’t know what more I can add to absolutely faultless. Julie, Luigi and their wonderful staff are superb hosts. Nothing is too much to ask and nothing goes undone or forgotten. Anything anyone could possibly want is on hand. The shop on site is a little gem. Fresh bread twice a day along with most other essentials + more, all at the same prices(or less) than the local supermarket. The whole site is kept amazingly clean, tidy and superbly maintained, organised and runs like clockwork. Management staff and fellow guests were all wonderfully welcoming friendly and incredibly helpful and kind. The facilities are excellent, I must just remember my gym stuff next year. The atmosphere was just what you need for your holiday. Julie and Luigi themselves catered for Christmas dinner and did an exceptional job of providing a wonderful full 3 course Christmas meal for approx 100 guests. A fabulous day was had by all. We can’t wait to get back to Luigi’s Complex next year. We enjoyed it so much we booked before we left.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure to get out and about and meet the locals. The local restaurants are very good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lorraine P wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
First class service from Julie , luigi and all the staff during our 11 night stay, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are beautifully done and have the comfiest beds and we loved the fact that the safes and Aircon is all included. Pool is great to cool off and having the beach so close ment we had the best of both worlds. Food as always is amazing. Thank you, we will be back 😊
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robin G wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We are on an Overland trip of Africa in our Land Rover. We needed a place to stay for Christmas and found Luigi's Complex with an Internet search. We stayed for 6 nights, eat food, drank and were merry. Close to the beach and a lot of other attractions. Great staff, friendly owners and one amazing Christmas Lunch. Thanks. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kololi area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
luigi`s complex hotel kololi
LOCATION
GambiaBanjul DivisionSerekundaKololi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LUIGI'S COMPLEX - Prices & Hotel Reviews (Gambia/Kololi)

Frequently Asked Questions about Luigi's Complex
What are some of the property amenities at Luigi's Complex?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Luigi's Complex?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Luigi's Complex?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Luigi's Complex?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Luigi's Complex?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cassy's Cafe & Restaurant, Solomon's Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Kunta Kinteh Beach Complex.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Luigi's Complex?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Luigi's Complex have airport transportation?
Yes, Luigi's Complex offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Luigi's Complex?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Luigi's Complex offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Luigi's Complex?
Many travelers enjoy visiting National Museum (9.4 miles).
Is Luigi's Complex accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.