We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel

Save
Share
Tamanu Po Box 380595, Punaauia 97718 French Polynesia
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 12/30/2022.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (2271)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (674)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Punaauia
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.8
Value
3.4
Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a premium beachfront location thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic sea view and on the sister island named Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faaa, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
French
2187Reviews66Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 551
  • 784
  • 493
  • 206
  • 153
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ingsie wrote a review Aug 2021
Wakefield, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
I had booked to stay here in April before the Covid 19 virus struck. When the island was locked down the hotel agreed to refund my stay. Despite contacting them many times over the months and promises it would be processed by their Reservations Manager and Hotel Manager nothing ever happened. I waited the 33 days of their lockdown and a further 90 working days as advised by Reservations Manager but still they did nothing. I then contacted my card issuer and invoked a chargeback against the hotel. Even during this time they had 45 days to either agree the chargeback or dispute it. Nothing was heard so the money was finally mine, over 7 months after I should have stayed. If this is is an example of their customer service before you arrive I dread to think what it's like once there. One this is for certain I'll never stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
MCC wrote a review Nov 2020
South West England, United Kingdom237 contributions294 helpful votes
Super large room with efficient air conditioning, WIFI, balcony and luxury bathroom. Very pleasant service both checking in and out, but especially in the restaurants and bars. The breakfasts were a delight with the chef cooking to your taste and specification, the fruit stall making you a fresh fruit cocktail with a choice of your fruits, A place to go again in the middle of our winter.; outside temperature mid 80's and continuous sunshine. All holiday necessities taken care of. Beautiful sunsets.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Audrey Lao SIng, Propriétaire at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Aug 26, 2021
ia ora na, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort - Managed by Sofitel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Mauruuru
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alli D. wrote a review Mar 2020
Sturbridge, Massachusetts5 contributions3 helpful votes
We decided to pay a little more to stay at this hotel for one night before flying out the next day and regret our decision. The hotel itself is very outdated. The beach looks more like a boat launch area and the water around the hotel unfortunately looks very dirty. The pool was nice with a sand bottom and the restaurant that looks out over the ocean has a beautiful view. However the restaurant is very expensive and we did not think the dinner was worth it. We ended up paying as much to stay here for one night as we did at the Sofitel on Moorea which was infinitely nicer and a much better experience. In hindsight I wish we had saved some money on Tahiti and chosen a less expensive hotel for the night as this one was absolutely not worth the cost.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Bungalows here are not worth it. Save your money and spring for a bungalow on Moorea instead.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Audrey Lao Sing, Marketing at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Aug 26, 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. we were sad to read that you didn't completely enjoy your time with us. Your opinion allows us to improve our service in order to better welcome you in the future. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hpsov wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia23 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night before visiting Moorea, and 2 nights after our Paul Gauguin cruise and it was great. Champagne, chocolates and fruit in the room both times (we are Accor Gold, it might have been because of that). The staff were all fantastic. The breakfast buffet was huge and dinner food was very good. It has a large pool and beach with limited snorkeling. Booked a room with 2 beds and was given one with a single king bed. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful in fixing it and having someone help us move our things to the new room. A great hotel, but don’t have your whole holiday here, go to Moorea, Bora Bora or a Paul Gauguin cruise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing_SofitelFP, Marketing & Communication at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Mar 11, 2020
ia ora na, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort - Managed by Sofitel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Mauruuru
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
64Paeony wrote a review Mar 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed in one of the bungalows for our 40th wedding anniversary. It was simply amazing! The room was spotlessly clean and very modern with all the luxury you could wish for. We enjoyed the champagne and fruit packages. The views are spectacular. We swam in bothe the sea and the swimming pool and enjoyed all the amenities the hotel had to offer. The staff were particularly helpful and when we had to check out a few hours before we left for the airport we were given a hospitality suite in which to shower and change.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MANAGEMENTSOFPOL, Marketing & Communication at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Mar 9, 2020
ia ora na, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort - Managed by Sofitel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Mauruuru
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bradenob wrote a review Mar 2020
Jacksonville, Alabama52 contributions42 helpful votes
We got off our cruise ship and headed to this resort until we could catch our plane back the next day. They wouldn't let us check in (it was 830 AM) but less us use a day room to relax and change, which was nice. They had our room ready by 11. The pool was nice, but by the early afternoon it was overrun with families with kids - a bit surprising, considering the cost, and unusual for us after a 10 day cruise with no children on board! The bar was convenient, but the drinks were nothing special and were $20 each! The service was nice, but the place definitely needed updating, and while our room had AC, we couldn't get it very cool. The bar had good snacks (also expensive) but the restaurant, Le Carre, had only average food but cost around $90 each, including one drink, so we thought it was very overpriced. I guess we were hoping for something a bit more exclusive, and a dinner far nicer, for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing_SofitelFP, Marketing & Communication at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
ia ora na, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our resort. we were sad to read that you didn't completely enjoy your time with us. Your opinion allows us to improve our service in order to better receive you in the future. I want to tell you on behalf of the entire team that our only objective is to share a moment of happiness through a wonderful experience with each of our clients. Rest assured that we will take the necessary steps to ensure that this does not happen again. We sincerely apologize for this and hope to welcome you soon. Mauruuru!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Auxdrea wrote a review Feb 2020
Shanghai, China223 contributions41 helpful votes
Great Sofitel 4 Star hotel on Tahiti. The hotel is around 20 minutes from the airport and offers you a great stay and a very considerate staff. The rooms are spacious, the surrounding very green next to the sea and you also have a saltwater pool with a small sand beach. The breakfast is always a buffet just on sunday you have a special brunch buffet with more warm choices than usual. They have a lot of raw fish ceviche, sashimi and other good dishes. It's an oasis of calm and everything there is super calm, which is very important and nice. You also can borrow snorkeling gear for free, which is a must because there are so many fish next to the beach. Very nice hotel, of you search calm nice place, that's it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing_SofitelFP, Marketing & Communication at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Feb 26, 2020
ia ora na, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort - Managed by Sofitel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Mauruuru
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler605795 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Highly impressed with our stay at this hotel. The welcome package including Champagne, fruit basket and sweets was greatly appreciated. Excellent service and great facilities including snorkeling and swimming. Very clean rooms and well kept grounds. The overwater bungalow was very upmarket and exceeded our expections. Will definitely stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing_SofitelFP, Marketing & Communication at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Feb 26, 2020
ia ora na, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort - Managed by Sofitel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Mauruuru
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen H wrote a review Feb 2020
Woking, United Kingdom22 contributions33 helpful votes
I have stayed in sofitel all over the world and generally they have been good. This one is a disgrace to the brand .All the common areas are disgustingly dirty eith the pool being g green and murky.The breakfast buffet is shared by vermin which come and go at leisure .we took one look and moved to the intercontinental .The photos on the website bear no relation to reality .The management are positively hostile and lie at will. They maintain that the carpet stains were from a function the night before where in reality they had been there for years .The manager did apologise to us for this saying the carpet was to be replaced in a month . New management is required at this hotel until then avoid at all costs
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing_SofitelFP, Marketing & Communication at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear Sir, We are really sorry that our property did not reach your expectation. We did remember that you arrived very early for your check-in (around 6:30 AM) after requesting your early check in You spent about half an hour looking around, but you had decided from the beginning to leave (you had already booked another hotel) and left without letting us try to reverse the situation. Our general manager would have been delighted to meet you at that time to be able to react on the moment and thus allow you to live a Sofitel experience like almost all of our guest staying with us. We really are sorry each time we do not fulfill all our guest expectation and we hope you keep a nice souvenir about our beautiful destination.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mads wrote a review Feb 2020
Seattle, Washington844 contributions139 helpful votes
+1
We checked into the hotel well after 3pm and our room was not ready so we were upgraded to a suite. We were very surprised but the suite was awesome! We had a huge balcony overlooking the ocean and the pool. Our room was huge as was our bathroom. The a/c worked very well in the bedroom but didn’t work at all in the sitting room. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and spacious. The gardens were very beautiful and there is a very large sand bottom pool. There’s also a beach volleyball set. We didn’t spend much time at the hotel but we liked what we saw. Beach towels needed to be returned by 7pm at night to the towel hut and there was one night we were bummed to return them so soon since we were using them to lay on and enjoy the warm evening. We had just stayed at Sofitel over on Moorea and I will say we enjoyed our bungalow over on Moorea more. The beach/waterfront of this Sofitel was much smaller and not as picturesque as our Sofitel on Moorea. This Sofitel needs a bit of updating to compete with the one on Moorea. The mini bar at this one is NOT complimentary, contrary to the one on Moorea. If you are looking to stay in an overwater bungalow, spend your money at the Sofitel in Moorea! Just judging by the outside, Moorea’s looked way nicer. Nonetheless, our stay was great and we have no major complaints!! It is very close and conveniently located near a pharmacy, grocery store and some restaurants! We walked down the road every day. Our ride to the airport on an early Sunday morning was no more than 10 minutes although during the week traffic can get quite heavy. We did not dine on the property but heard a Polynesian show happening one night with live music. Once again, staff was great and friendly and we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing_SofitelFP, Marketing & Communication at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Responded Feb 14, 2020
What a wonderful sharing of experience! We are delighted to have welcomed you to our corner of paradise! We do our best to make you live a real Polynesian experience. A unique experience. The teams are very touched by your comment and thank you very much. Mauruuru and we hope to see you soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
le meridien tahiti hotel papeete, le meridien hotel tahiti, le meridien papeete, papeete le meridien
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Le Meridien Tahiti
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsTahitiPunaauia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
149
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel
Which popular attractions are close to Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Nearby attractions include Museum of Tahiti and the Islands (0.4 miles), Arahurahu Marae (3.7 miles), and Mahana Park (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lotus Restaurant, Blue Banana, and Chez Remy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arahurahu Marae (3.7 miles).
Does Tahiti Ia Ora Beach Resort managed by Sofitel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.