We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 317: English reviews
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Travelling with a 9 month old on his first OS holiday, I was a little nervous to say the least but I need not have worried - JMC was great! The only negative now being that the bar has been set quite high! The room was lovely with a good Fijian feel and had plenty of space for our baby... More 

Helpful?
Thank CBAR81
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

We met up with some NZ friends here for a family holiday. The resort, staff, location, experience are amazing. We did the private island escape for our wedding anniversary and the staff made us a complimentary cake and threw in a bottle of sparkling wine with our picnic. Other highlights were stand-up paddleboarding in the bay, the village visit and... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank NomadGretch
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Easily our best family holiday ever ... We visited with our 5yo, 3yo and 6 month old and from the moment we arrived we felt at home.... The staff and facilities are just amazing and was the most relaxing holiday we've ever had (even with our children! ) Can't say enough how thoughtful and helpful the staff are and a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BPC16719
Hawkesbury, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

We came here not realising it was for families. The resort was lovely but noisy with all the kids. At 6am we were woken daily from parents on their way to off load their kids at Bula club and having loud conversations (possibly the only conversations they had in a day) along the way. They showed no regard for others... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank Trish C
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016

We have mixed feelings about our stay at Jean Michel Cousteau. The resort itself is just beautiful. The location & the staff were fabulous. We did holiday in Fiji during a very hot time of the year and the humidity was very high. The bures & entire resort do not have air conditioning which we found hard at night time... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Dani P
Helen R, Manager at Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Bula Dani, Vinaka for taking the time to write about your experience on Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort. We have a wonderful family of staff and we appreciate your recognition of them. We also value your constructive comments as it allows us to put measures in place to continue improving our service. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2016

It has taken me a while to write this review however we had the best family holiday ever at Jean Michel (May 15). we were hooked as soon as our friends told us every child under 5 gets a full time nanny. We have a 3 year old and a 1 year old and it was simply fantastic. Our nannies... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank adam s
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016

My wife and I spent just over two weeks here: our Bure was wonderful, food excellent, staff very friendly. Scuba diving spectacular, the best we have seen in our world-wide experience (we dove over 20 times). Although just the two of us, we could see they had a robust children's program (separate children's and adult pools). Truly eco friendly: grow... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Jean-Michel Cousteau Fiji Resort, staying in a beautiful beach front bure with our two teenage daughters. I cannot sing our praises loud enough for the facilities, activities and the beautifully warm and welcoming staff, who are obviously well trained but naturally obliging and willing to do anything possible to make... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ellenyoung0102
Helen R, Manager at Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka. Did we love your review? In your very own words "Absolutely"! Thank you for the perfect review and furthermore for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us at Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort. Firstly, so wonderful to be able to travel together as a family. To have the opportunity to share quality time... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

The most wonderful place to relax, we wouldn't go anywhere else for a break from the hectic lifestyle we lead. We can't recommend the resort enough. Children are very welcome and are kept busy with activities through the day by the wonderful staff.

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
Helen R, Manager at Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Ni sa bula Lee, thank you so much for recent review of Jean Michel Cousteau Resort. We are so delighted to know that you and your family made such good friends keeping busy with our wonderful staff. Furthermore, pleased that you were able to travel together as a family. To have the opportunity to share quality time with loved ones.... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

Wow. what a place! From the time we got off the bus from the airport we knew this was a special place and we were right! Nestled into the point of Savusavu bay with a spectacular outlook the accommodation (stunning thatched roof bures), food (a smart combination of contemporary western and authentic local dishes) and service (attentive and genuine) were... More 

Helpful?
Thank FOODIE1274
Helen R, Manager at Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka, Wow, what a response! Thank you for the perfect review and furthermore for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us at Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort. Yes, you are right when you say it is the "little things" that make the difference. We appreciate all feedback especially the "human experience" as it is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

301 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (278)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
5.2 mi away
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 11 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
7.8 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#6 of 11 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
3.3 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
1.0 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 11 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Boutique Eco-Resort ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: Lesiaceva Point Road, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 9999, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Price Range: $1,019 - $1,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jean-Michel Cousteau Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort - TEMPORARILY CLOSED Fiji/Savusavu
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay