We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This has to be the most memorable holiday ever.The Swiss and German owners were so friendly.Good food and diving was fabulous.Such amazing reefs.Be carefull about getting sores here.My heal got chaffed from my booties (suggest you wear swimming socks under booties)and it got infected to the point where I could not walk when I arrived home.Charcoal poultice and green soap... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andre S
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Andre, Thanks for your review.....Just a tip:-) CONTRARY to common belief it is NOT good to have the wound open. This is a tropical climate. So we ALWAYS recommend to have a wound, never mind how small, attended to immediately. This means putting Magnesium Sulfate on it if it has closed on the top, so it can stay open... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

We visited Dolphin Bay early August 2016 and stayed for 5 nights with a light meal plan. The staff is lovely and helpful, and dinners on the beach with candle light lovely. We went diving only one day and snorkelling the other days - definitely a good place for diving with the rainbow reef. Snorkelling off the beach and further... More 

Helpful?
Thank reefshark2016
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the diving, snorkeling and your time with us. While the dive sites are good, unfortunately Winston did a number on some of the snorkel sites.......Our site of the island has a micro climate with very little water and therefore, if we have no rain for a long period in our winter time, we have to... More 

Beechwood, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Close to Rainbow Reef. Secluded & quiet accommodation with good snorkeling off the beach but unfortunately the management didn't seem interested in taking snorkelers out to the reefs. The food was excellent and the light meal option is sufficient with seconds freely available. The bures however were in need of repair & renovation. Staff were friendly & welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank ian6633
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Ian, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry you did not get all the snorkeling in you wanted off the boat. However, we only have 2 boats and it is first come first serve. Unfortunately we were fully booked the week you were here. For safety reasons we do not allow snorkeling... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here direct on the Rainbow reef. We can only agree to all the rave reviews of the super friendly and helpful staff - both before and during your stay. The food is great and the bures are equiped with what you need, though a bit dated. Having dinner at the beach together with other guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank futtrup
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Erik for taking the time to write a review we very much appreciate it. I hear you about the extra charges and just wanted to mention that we quoted all the charges in advance. Also we are NOT anywhere near a road or shopping facility everything basically has to be brought in by boat in advance which increases... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Dolphin Bay is the place to be, if you ask me. Once you make your way there (most commonly by big plane, then little plane, then car, then little boat), you will never want to leave. Dolphin Bay is a diver's paradise and most people go there to do at least a little bit of diving, but if that's not... More 

Helpful?
Thank snapjanet
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Janet and thank you so much for the review. I speak for all the staff if I say we miss you! Wherever you are right now, I hope you are having a great time and hopefully we will see you back here some day:-) Viola More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

with remote environment and limited electricity supply, dolphin bay divers retreat gave us a experience that far away from modern society. we really love here, warm staff, great food, and especially the decoration of dinning table is so beautiful that we cant not stop take picture of it. diving is good, equipment is quite new, dive master is attentive. when... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevin l
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

I can't possibly write everthing I want to about this place! So I will try to keep it relevant. This place is one of if not the best places I have ever stayed at (40th country travelled to). This is not a resort, more an informal retreat to get away from the main tourist drag, but more importantly to sit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Persia S
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for the great reviews!!!! We already MISS YOU!!!!!! I got back safe and sound but too much civilization in Savusavu:-) No MORE ice cream...:-) you cannot stop diving....so let us know when you are ready for the next step! Lilly, the turtle is waiting for you:-)miss you! Viola More 

La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

This place is just heaven on earth for divers. You are next to Rainbow Reef which isgreat diving and the place is just like if you were home. The staff is friendly and efficient. The food is great. The beach nice. The atmosphere so chilled... I can't imagine coming back to Fiji without coming again in this place. Loved it... More 

Helpful?
Thank florence d
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Wow is all I can say! This place is great. Very secluded and private. The staff is all very super nice and they wait on your every need. There are no roads and no electric (solar powered lights. A generator runs several times each day so that you can charge phones, cameras ect). If you want to get away from... More 

Helpful?
Thank MacDonald1580
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula you 2, Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We loved to have you with us and everyone here is proud of your praise, it made that big Fijian Smile come out:-). Hopefully we shall see you back one day! Viola More 

Waiyevo, Fiji
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

I visited Dolphin Bay many years ago for one night with my boyfriend at the time who was working for Viola & Roland. The boat ride over was an enjoyable smooth one, heads up to Apex the captain with his cheery disposition and who was very informative of the surrounding islands whilst driving the boat he would point out landscapes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine O
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Geraldine, it has been a long time! Thanks for the lovely review. May be we will see you and Markus here one day:-) and you will even try a dive:-) Viola More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (108)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#1 of 2 in Matei
5.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#3 of 11 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat is a small family style dive resort on the Rainbow Reef in Fiji. Accessible by boat only it nestles in a horseshoe bay, surrounded by Rainforest, White Sandy Beach and Palm trees. Minutes to all the dives sites including the world famous white wall, famous for Softcorals, 20+ dive sites to choose from this is the ideal dive spot. Dolphins, Reef Sharks, tropical fish, it's all there, including a PADI dive shop where you can take courses in English or German. Accommodations range from bure with private bathrooms to Jungle Tents with shared bathrooms, all with comfortable beds and mattresses and very close to the beach. Let the soft lull of the waves put you to sleep, sip a glass of wine in your hammock and let the fish go by! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat

Address: Vanaira Bay | Rainbow Reef, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Price Range: $27 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat Hotel Taveuni Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay