We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sheikh Salem House

El Melal Street | Eel Garden, Assalah, Dahab 14611, Egypt
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sheikh Salem House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Ha, I've never stayed in a hostel this far off the deep end before. Nasty dirty, there was a padlock on the door from the outside so we couldn't lock it from the inside and there was a huge opening above the door to the common area so privacy was non existent or anyone wanting to creep in could have.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
Sheikhs, Business Partner at Sheikh Salem House, responded to this review

Dear Sue, We are very sad to read your review and i am personally sorry that you were given a room which should not have been given to guests at this time. Unfortunately on the date you stayed the guest house was almost full and you were given a room which is in much need of attention. This situation should... More 

Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you don't give much care for the room service and want enjoy staying in one of the best locations in Dahab this place is quite nice. It has nice arabian sit on the beach for tanning in the morning, and wounderful night time with friends for driniking and listining to music. Very close to the local market where you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Atef_Cinemania
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great stay as a returning customer. Thank you Nicole and Hasan for making it memorable and enjoyable. What I asked for I got, Hamad was an outstanding waiter/ look after the guest in every aspect ones holidays should see fit. The front rooms have mind blowing views, great price. Keep the news off the TV, stop the black dog barking... More 

Helpful?
Thank dager
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have been coming to Dahab since 2003. I have been staying at Sheikh Salem House since 2006. This year it was closed for a few months for renovations and I was lucky it opened in time for my stay on this trip to Dahab. I am staying at Sheikh Salem House from April 9 to May 3 2013. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby R
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Love the place ,been going there for 3 years in a row without a problem. A real taste of local life. Nicole is really accommodating. Staff are really honest, after a good night out, my camera fell out of my bag in the restaurant- 7am the next morning I had a knock on my door. A member of the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank dager
northwest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I cannot fault this hotel at all ....for price, unbeatable...........staff.Nicole and Mohamed are great, so helpful in every aspect. Location for me was great .............10 mins stroll to centre of Dahab but quiet enough to relax and be away from the noise. 2 mins walk to the shops of Assallah Square, where you can get anything you want. Rooms are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank doe1Northwest
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband, mother in law, and I stayed at Sheikh Salem for 7 nights. We had a great stay! The staff here are very helpful, and The Lazy Camel Cafe is wonderful to relax in and enjoy sounds of the Sea. The rooms are cheap, clean and basic. Just how we like them for 16 months of travel. JIt is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Giselle1978
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was my second time round at the Sheik and I must say this little laid-back place at the northern edge of Dahab has become my second (spiritual) home - a gem of a place right on the beach! And according to the lovely and helpful owner Nicole the throat chakra ley lines pulsing just underneath! Reading some previous rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank gipsy0203
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I do not normally put pen to paper but in the interests of balance and fairness I felt that I had to.I was very surprised at the experience of the family mentioned previously as it was the total opposite of mine.Having stayed at Sheik Salem many times both solo and with my children I have never encountered cockroaches,lack of towels,dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shahanna14
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This place is terrible! We went for our family vacation with some friends and their kids, from 4 to 11 years old. We stayed there 4 days 3 nights. My friends had to move to another hotel cuz they couldn't stay another night there. But we wanted to give this hotel the benefit of the doubt cuz of the other... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank TheLarsenFamily
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#2 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 mi away
Dive Urge
Dive Urge
#1 of 27 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.0 mi away
Sol Dahab Red Sea Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheikh Salem House is the famous budget guest house at the heart of the Bedouin community in Dahab. Stay right on the beach next to the famous Eel Garden and enjoy the best of local hospitality, in one of the nicest locations in Dahab. We offer a relaxing and peaceful environment for travelers of all ages so come and discover more of Dahab and become one of our big family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheikh Salem House

Address: El Melal Street | Eel Garden, Assalah, Dahab 14611, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Price Range: $8 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing