We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Alaska Camp & Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Alaska Camp & Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Oracle, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a family run hotel. The staff is very attentive and will stop what they are doing to help. There is a very nice common area with free WiFi. It is centrally located next to the foot bridge and has easy access to both the beach and the main road. Everything you need is within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Brooke H
Zagazig, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Located in the heart of Dahab, Near to everywhere you wanna go. A good place qith clean rooms and nice beds. Lovely staff and travellers stay here often. They let u make tea or coffee when u want to "ask first though" :)

Helpful?
Thank Sh_Backpacker
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2016

I don't even know from where to begin with Alaska, from the extremely helpful and friendly manager and staff, to the nice quiet rooms. Jacky made my trip nothing short of spectacular, she even cared for me when I get extremely ill and had to go the doctor, she personally phoned him in for me and helped through the entire... More 

Helpful?
Thank marwankandil13
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2016

i used to go to alaska every couple of months, but not anymore i will NEVER EVER step into this horrible camp full of cunning people!!! the people there were extremely rude we had a huge fight with them and we went to the police. they are a bunch of liars and thieves. one of the guys who work there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Farah W
AlaskaHotel, Manager at Alaska Camp & Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review of your stay with us at Alaska Camp & Hotel. As you say, you had stayed with us a number of times previously so it is sad that a situation arose which has left you with a negative impression. Regarding your ID card. When you arrived to Alaska Camp & Hotel, your male friend... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2016

pros: Clean rooms, comfortable beds, helpful manager,in the center of Dahab right next to its most notorious diving centers, bazaars and shops, and was great for the price. cons: No much service was offered, it is not a child friendly environment as lots of its residents smoked drugs quite everywhere and not the manager nor the workers asked them to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abdelrahman E
AlaskaHotel, Manager at Alaska Camp & Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Alaska Camp & Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the location and felt our clean, comfortable rooms were good value. Being a budget hotel, we do not offer a full room service to our customer. However, should you need... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Alaska is my place to stay in Dahab.. its simple and clean.. in the middle of everything but still away from crowds and noise.. and above that, its a good escape from TV and crazy technology! staff is friendly and considerate.. I always recommend it to those light travelers whom are not seeking luxury and constant room service.. its a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eno14
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Room was nice and clean, stuff helpful and friendly, Jacky was great with plenty useful information. The location of this hotel was in the center of Dahab, everything was near. Great snorchling spots in a walking distance. Transport to further destination was possible to order in the reception.

Helpful?
Thank Eva L
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2016

"Everyone, who spends time in Dahab, ends up staying in Alaska at some point." -Local saying. We stayed in Alaska Camp & Hotel in a double room with private bathroom, but without AC (this was cheaper, and the AC wasn't really needed in January...). We chose Alaska after having a look around other places and asking for prices. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aura P
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

Mrs.Jaky the director of this camp,was amazing and show us hospitality.it is great because of the service,and cheap prices, and also in the center of the city, which allow you to access every place u want in short time...without long drive.also easy access to the sea and near to dive centers and safari centers and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank surgeon2020
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2015

We stayed here for one night, and it was probably better than anywhere else in Dahab that we stayed. It wasn't as souless and bland as the resorts, still backpacker friendly, but with a few more comforts than some of the other options. The only downside is the price - 200egp for a double with AC was a bit on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.4 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#28 of 52 in Dahab
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#21 of 52 in Dahab
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#30 of 52 in Dahab
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Coast Hotel
Coral Coast Hotel
#26 of 52 in Dahab
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bedouin Lodge Hotel
Bedouin Lodge Hotel
#25 of 52 in Dahab
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Price Range: $15 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Dahab
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Alaska Camp & Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Alaska Camp & Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms away from the beach are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles BrookeH216, 3 days ago | Read review
“Ask for the Air conditioned rooms and choose the furthest rooms from the front gates as they are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 923abdelrahmane, Jul 18, 2016 | Read review
“Go for the AC rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Eno14, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs mountain view was perfect”
  • View of the hotel from the back
 of 5 bubbles Mickyp100359, Jun 29, 2015 | Read review
“Our 1st floor room had a slightly larger bathroom with more room to shower”
 of 5 bubbles 76martham, Apr 25, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question