We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Fernandina

Av. 12 Noviembre y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Fernandina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We only stayed 1 night but everything was great! Thankfully they had an english speaking front desk staff who was very informative and helpful and kind. Our room was perfect. Beds comfortable, bathroom spacious. AC worked. No TV. The pool looked nice but we didnt have time to swim. The food was delicious but we didnt know what we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiffani M
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

The rooms were clean but Spartan and shabby. The bathroom had a shower that belatedly delivered warm water but only if you left it running. - - not a sound practice in a location where fresh water is a scarce resource. The service was extremely poor. We waited an hour for more than the single towel that had been left.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ptesche

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

We were assigned room 9 in the back corner if the hotel and after being there for an hour, and unhappy with the place, found a nuch better hotel just a block away... the Hotel Silberstein. The desk manager who was very nice seemed rushed and overworked because he had other responsibilities that took him away from the office, leaving... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BillyTraveler
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

Lovely hotel with a wonderful staff, clean rooms, refreshing swimming pool, excellent breakfast, great location for touring Santa Cruz, Bartolome and Santa Fe Islands. We were on a land-based tour with BikeHike Adventures, and really enjoyed being able to connect to the local culture, along with the extraordinary wildlife.

Helpful?
1 Thank AVF4849
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016

This hotel is fairly well located, clean, and quite comfortable. We stayed two nights, and it was fine for that period. The room was adequate, and the bathroom likewise, no complaints there. Internet was slow and patchy, but we got by. Food was nothing special, basic and adequate. All in all, an average stay...

Helpful?
Thank andrewnp
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
466 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

There are fancier hotels in town with better views - and much higher prices - but "the Ferd" is a clean, comfortable, reasonably-maintained place to stay in PA. It is a couple of short blocks' walk from the bustling waterfront. The Ferd has a pleasant outdoor courtyard to socialize in, as well as a modest outdoor pool. Rooms are simple... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ROCtraveler30
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

This hotel is a nice find, off the busy streets but very easily accessible. Close to the Charles Darwin Research Station and an easy walk into town. The rooms were spacious, kept very clean, and had AC although we never used it because the weather was so nice. The staff were very helpful, especially Teo who helped us with arrange... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 25Paul
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
214 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights as we left our catamaran. The room was clean and looked after every day. The breakfast was very average but you could eat. The staff were ok, some nicer than others but not very friendly. Is just in the outskirts of town but well placed to walk in (and get a little exercise) value... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
461 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

Good hotel with great breakfast that is available before all tours. Nice rooms but no tv and wifi is poor but was not a problem for us as we were out the whole time but good to know if that is important to you. Good stay and only about three blocks from the restaurants in town. Nice place

Helpful?
3 Thank JA Experiences N
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate that you have taken a few minutes to leave us your comment. Is nice to hear that you had a good experience with us. Fernandina Hotel helps protect the environment by using electricity as little as possible for this reason we have no TV in the rooms expect you to know and understand our reasons allow... More 

Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Loved this hotel to stay at. You have to remember where you are. It is great being close to the city to walk the streets and enjoy the restaurants. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is very charming. The rooms are charming and you are not there to spend time in your rooms you are there to explore. You... More 

Helpful?
Thank laura s
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thank you very much for your comment, it is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoy your stay with us, we are still working for give to our guest the best experience while spend time in the Galapagos Islands. Best regards. Hotel Fernandina More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#5 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#1 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#3 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#6 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#2 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#7 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Fernandina is a warm and welcoming place where you can stay either alone, with family or friends and enjoy your visit to the Galapagos Islands, allowing us to provide you an excellent service as you deserve. We offer 22 rooms with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and WiFi. We are located in a very quiet residential area just 10 minutes from the Charles Darwin Station and few minutes from the main attractions of the town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Fernandina

Address: Av. 12 Noviembre y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $240 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Fernandina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fernandina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandina Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Fernandina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay