We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group

Traveler (482)
360
Panoramas (24)
Videos (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#7 of 24 hotels in Santa Cruz
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
THE RED MANGROVE EVOLVES Welcome, Galápagos Habitat The Haugan Group is therefore delighted to announce we have renamed the Red Mangrove Hotel in Puerto Ayora as Galápagos Habitat. The change is much more than just a name. Through concerted investment, cutting- edge technological solutions and a long-term vision of the islands’ conservation for future generations, the Galapagos Habitat will set new standards in sustainable management, innovation and top-of-class service in the Islands. “With the evolution of the Red Mangrove into Galápagos Habitat,” explained Kjetil Haugan, Founder and CEO., “the Haugan Group of cruise yachts, as well as La Selva Ecolodge, are firmly embarked on our journey to achieving our dream of protecting the environments in which we work responsibly, while providing life-affirming trips for people from around the world”. We look forward to welcoming you soon at the Galápagos Habitat!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Harbor View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
740Reviews
14Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 447
  • 167
  • 64
  • 37
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is beautiful. We were lucky to have the Darwin Suite. All Windows, fabulous views. Staff are great, friendly and helpful. Wonderful to see all the animals and birds around the hotel. Great to have place for iguanas and sea lions to rest. Breakfast was a great show.
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Cynthia R., Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you enjoyed the hotel with its views, the accommodation, the animals around that host our guests, the restaurant and the service provided by the staff. We have checked carefully the mentioned points and found out that the trash can in your room got stained due to the salinity, it seems dirty but it is cleaned, nevertheless we have checked all trash cans in rooms and have already replaced the ones with this problem. We have also taken the measures in order to change and clean on daily basis as per your request, the rugs in the reception area. Our collaborators at the hotel are from Galapagos and they have total knowledge about the islands and everything to do around, we also have a small office in the entrance where we also offer day tours and different activities to do in and around Santa Cruz. We are very sorry you didn't receive the information at the moment you needed. We will provide some more information about the islands to our guests upon their arrival to fix the situation. Thank you again for your time and for helping us improve as our guests comments are really valued. Hope to have you with us again sometime again in the future. With our best regards, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
This hotel is beautiful. We were in the Santa Fe suite which felt like we were in a tree house (no ocean view). Indeed, the hotel is located within a mangrove forest and is very beautiful. The sea lions have their special place on the patio where they play and rest in the sun,
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Mar 28, 2019
Dear Beth S., Thank you for your lovely comment on Trip Advisor. The Galapagos Habitat is an eco-luxury lodge where our goal is to provide our guests with the highest standards of service while being surrounded by a protected ecosystem where life around is the witness of a healthy environment, and where it is possible to share with different species. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel facilities, as well as the meals offered at the restaurant, the service of our staff and the great location of it! We thought it was a great idea to lend bikes to our guests as it is an excellent way to explore Puerto Ayora. It has been our pleasure to host you, and we hope to have you with us sometime again in the future. With our best regards, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
This is not a cheap hotel so I honestly expected more. The room was big enough but not comfortable, breakfast was very simple and the people at the front desk was are polite but not go the extra mile. On the other hand, the food at the restaurant is really good and also the
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded May 10, 2019
Dear mariamemec, Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry the hotel did not reach all your expectations. We will definitely consider making rooms as comfortable as possible, and are already revising the breakfast; although many guests are very happy with it, we will possibly make some changes in it. We constantly receive excellent comments regarding the service provided by our staff, and we are unhappy to learn this time was not the case, we will definitely take some measures in order to provide the best service. On the other hand we are glad to know you liked the food at the restaurant, and the hotel location which are both important for its beauty. Thank you for helping us improve and for taking the time to post your feedback with a general positive qualification. Hope you give us the chance to serve you better in a future occasion. Kind Regards, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
We loved it. We had just finished an active sailing adventure trip so we spent a lot of time enjoying our room and found the hotel to be wonderful. Our room was an ocean front suite (Darwin); large, light filled, lots of natural wood, a sky light and with a balcony and a
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Apr 23, 2019
Dear JorMolchan, Thank you for your excellent comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you really enjoyed the suite you had assigned, and its amenities; as well as the Galapagos Habitat's facilities and the restaurant. The hotel has indeed a great location which makes it good for travelers who are willing to rest, but also go adventurous if they would like to! Thank you for your tips for future guests, but specially for taking the time to post this review which is much valued. Service is our pride and it is important for us to learn that you received the best service from our staff. It has been a pleasure to host you, and we hope to have you with us again in the future! Sincerely, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
Stayed for 3 days. Great location on waterfront in Puerto Ayoya. Unfortunately first impressions were misleading. Was shown to one our rooms at around 6pm to find the patio door hanging off. Once fixed and in room - Espanol- room clean but tired. Next day, there was no hot
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Apr 16, 2019
Dear Nick W, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Please consider that Galapagos Habitat is not a 5 star hotel and we do not promote ourselves as such. Actually, there are no 5 star hotels in Galapagos. Nevertheless we understand your point of view; unfortunately during your stay we had a few complications, the patio door was fixed as you mention as soon as we could, and due to an important investment in a new water pipe design system there was an unforeseen inconvenient with the hot water that arose. Nevertheless again, the issue was fixed with pro activity and it worked out well later. Please let us assure you that we do care a lot about details and our guests as many positive comments show, however we are very sorry this time the Galapagos Habitat did not reach your expectations. We are working hard in order to innovate and we will consider your comments for future travelers in order to provide the best possible service. We hope you give us the chance to serve you better at the Galapagos Habitat Hotel in the future! With our best regards, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$354 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red mangrove aventura hotel puerto ayorahotel red mangrove aventura
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing