We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group

Visit hotel website
Traveler (463)
360
Panoramas (24)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
THE RED MANGROVE EVOLVES Welcome, Galápagos Habitat The Haugan Group is therefore delighted to announce we have renamed the Red Mangrove Hotel in Puerto Ayora as Galápagos Habitat. The change is much more than just a name. Through concerted investment, cutting- edge technological solutions and a long-term vision of the islands’ conservation for future generations, the Galapagos Habitat will set new standards in sustainable management, innovation and top-of-class service in the Islands. “With the evolution of the Red Mangrove into Galápagos Habitat,” explained Kjetil Haugan, Founder and CEO., “the Haugan Group of cruise yachts, as well as La Selva Ecolodge, are firmly embarked on our journey to achieving our dream of protecting the environments in which we work responsibly, while providing life-affirming trips for people from around the world”. We look forward to welcoming you soon at the Galápagos Habitat!
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free Internet
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Harbor View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
730Reviews
706Photos
14Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 441
  • 165
  • 62
  • 37
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Experience was outstanding for hotel accommodations, location, and wildlife! Sea lions and marine iguana’s kept us entertained! The staff was friendly, and made sure all our needs were met. I would highly recommend Galapagos habitat Who are my friends and family.
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Andebaker, Thank you for your positive comment on Trip Advisor. It has been our pleasure to serve you and we are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay at the Galapagos Habitat. The hotel has indeed a great location and lots of efforts are done in order to offer our guests the best service. We also value the wildlife around and promote conservation in all possible ways. Thank you again for your feedback as it is very important to us and we hope to have the chance to host you sometime again in the future! Best Wishes, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
This is for sure the nicest hotel on Santa Cruz island. Food for breakfast and dinner was great. The accommodations are beautiful with comfortable beds. The location is great--easy walking distance to anywhere in town and also to the Charles Darwin Breeding Center.
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear hickmans2018, Thank you for your positive comment on Trip Advisor. It has been our pleasure to serve you, andwe are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Galapagos Habitat, its facilities, accommodation, services provided and its privileged location. We work hard in order to keep improving and innovating thanks to our guests feedback. Hope to have the chance to host you again in the future. Best Wishes, Galapagos Habitat by EcoLuxury Group
Read more
Formerly known (?) as Red Mangrove, this wonderful little hotel sits at the end of town over the water in a mangrove swamp. The Darwin Suite, was enormous and had really incredible views from two private balconies. Water pressure was good and the bathroom was large and modern.
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear kylewilsontharp, Thank you for your positive comment on Trip Advisor. It has been a pleasure to serve you, and we are very happy to know you enjoyed your beautiful suite and its amenities, as well as the services provided at the hotel. We keep working hard in order to provide our guests with the higher standards of service, and keep innovating day by day. We hope to have you with us sometime again in the future. Best Wishes, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
We stayed in 3 different rooms during our week. Santiago should be named the fishbowl because it has windows that look directly into the restaurant and onto the dining deck. If the evenings are lively that makes for a noisy night after a full day of activities. The front desk
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Jan 11, 2019
Dear Canyonskier, Thank you for your valuable comment on Trip Advisor. At the Galapagos Habitat rooms are different and this is, between many other things, something that makes the hotel special. Nonetheless, we are considering a transformation for Santiago room in order to improve it for our guests in different ways. It is good to know you enjoyed the other rooms you stayed at, and the amenities provided. We are very glad to know the receptionists were helpful, please let us confirm that your reservation requested for the restaurant was made, but unfortunately it seems they cancelled it for some reason. We apologize for this situation, our staff is always open to provide guests with everything possible. We appreciate your feedback and we assure you we will take measures in order to improve in our facility and work hard to provide our guests with the highest standards of service. Hope to have the opportunity to host you sometime again in the future. Best Regards, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
We spent 5 nights at the hotel which was still named "Red mangrove by Haugen cruises" on our booking site (booking.com). The first thing you should know is, that the name of the Hotel is in change at the moment. Outside the Hotel there is only the name of the restaurant „Almar“
Read more
Response from Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Jan 11, 2019
Dear Sarah K, Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor, it is always important for us in order to keep the good practices and improve in those we should. Please let us explain we are still in process of changing the hotel name, and due to all the formalities and paperwork taking place, we don't have yet the new hotel sign, nevertheless we make sure the address is clearly shown in our website, online travel agencies, and advertisements; and as soon as possible, we will install the hotel's new sign. We are very sorry you were not able to book all nights in the same suite since we usually have a high occupancy, nevertheless we were able to offer you an upgrade to a suite for most of your stay, except for the last night, and offered your the room originally booked which was a "standard". In general prices in Galapagos are high due to the location of the islands, maintenance and service costs are also very high, as well as permissions, taxes and others considered in the management; additionally the hotel offers special services and amenities which are unique for Galapagos; the location of the hotel next to the sea, and our ecologic practices and social responsibility making Galapagos Habitat different than other hotels in the area, also increases the rates. Please receive our apology for the service at frontdesk, we have already taken measures since eating at the reception is totally forbidden. Please note the hotel does not have taxis of its own, and this kind of service is requested usually a day before so we can have it ready for guests, unfortunately at that same moment it is very difficult to find taxis available, and despite our receptionist effors she was unable to find one at the moment available for you. We are very sorry for the space taken for tables from the hotel's dock, this is the first time we did this since the restaurant was full of guests due to the New Year celebrations and we will make sure it does not happen again. It is possible to swim, nevertheless sea lions at the hotel were there before us and we make lots of efforts to respect their environment, these animals are pretty territorialists, and for safety reasons we recommend clients to visit a close by beach in case they would like to go swimming. Let us assure that Almar Restaurant is rated as one of the top restaurants in all Galapagos, and this is the first time we receive such a comment, perhaps something went wrong due to the very high demand, nevertheless we have already taken measures, the highest standards of hygiene are taken, new dishes were bought, and we apologize for your unfortunate experience. Our goal is the total satisfaction of our clients, and we are very sorry we did not reach your expectations; nonetheless we take our guests feedback seriously and as so, we are working hard in order to improve. Thank you for your valuable time and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Best regards, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
... was will man mehr
der Blick vom Bett
wirklich großzügiges Zimmer
Bad mit Whirlpool
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGalapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
The Turquesa Standard Room at the Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
PreviousNext
12345650
The price is per room. They have different grades of rooms, but all are nice even if you don’t have a water view. Our rooms were booked part of our package with our tour company. We opted for high end hotels. Mind you that these aren’t “gorgeous” rooms like we have in the States, but they are very nice.
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Monica, My name is Katie, it is a pleasure to assist you. I would like to inform you that the Red Mangrove will now be operating under new management by Haugan Cruises. This change happened very recently and just today I gained access to the TripAdvisor listing to Red Mangrove, which is why someone is only now answering your question. We have two different types of rooms available. Those are the Suites and Superior rooms. The main difference is that the suites at the hotel offer ocean views, the standards do not. Please write to us with the updated email in our info section to confirm your reservation and to talk to our representative for further details about the rooms available during the dates you would like to travel. Have a great day! Katie Beckwith
0 votes
Hello, my name is Katie and I'd like to inform you that the Red Mangrove is now operating under new management by Haugan Cruises, a well-known luxury cruise operator in the Galapagos Islands. We've purchased the hotel and plan to make many changes to provide an excellent level of service that reflects the prices of the hotel. As for a response for what you are asking about, unfortunately this happened back in 2015 and we only began management this week of April 22, 2017. What we can say is that we can guarantee cleanliness, excellent food quality, and that the level of customer service will surpass any previous expectations known by Red Mangrove. It would be our pleasure to speak to you more if you are interested in staying at the Red Mangrove during your time in Galapagos. You can find the new and updated contact info in our listing. Have an excellent day! Red Mangrove by Haugan Cruises
0 votes
Show all answers
We used the hotel to wash shoes and clothes after a very muddy volcano hike - they did a great job - can't believe the shoes came out so good. I am sure there are laundry facilities in town as it is a good sized town - just did not look.
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Elida, the rates are per room including 2 people hope you visit the Galapagos
1 vote
PreviousNext
123
"ask for a room overlooking the harbor"
"hotel has easy access to town"
"fantastic location on the water"
"Ask for room with water view!"
"Santiago Room is next to the lobby on one side and the restaurant on the other. Not quiet until 10 PM or so."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$381 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red mangrove aventura hotel puerto ayorahotel red mangrove aventura
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing