We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Novo Horizonte

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Novo Horizonte
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Dili, East Timor
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant has a simple atmosphere. But its large windows provide a nice view of the sea and a pleasant draft. The food is also simple, but quite good and the servings are often good for two. It maybe a bit hard to find though. The signal is not well illuminated, making it specially hard at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidlet
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed February 4, 2016

Novo was my first home back in 2012, i think that the Hotel is ok with the price, the rooms with private bathroom are a plus, AC works well and the beds are big and clean, the breakfast was good but the hotel was full of UN Staff, i dont know how could be now.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

Price is very attractive but do not expect cleanness. Refrigerator was horrible. But still affordable and friendly staff. Located little far from the center of the city, but if u have a car or motorbike, it doesn't matter. It's nearby the beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trueshr
Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

The Horizonte has some definite benefits - it's laundry service was a god-send and it's proximity to a range of excellent restaurants was nice but the downsides are plentiful too: - the wifi signal was limited to about 15 metres from reception - shower water was freezing until about 11am - breakfast options included what appeared to either be stale...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas K
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Volunteers from our charity have stayed in Hotel Novo Horizonte twice a year since 2009. It is good value for money and the owner and staff are welcoming and friendly. It has become our Dili "home". Recently however, the new manager of the restaurant (which is leased) has treated us and his staff so poorly that we considered looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
australia
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel has new owners and is being updated. This is my 5th time at this hotel in East Timor and for the cost, I think is value for money in East Timor!! Clean, modern and new beds!! Freshly painted and everything is new!! Close to town, beach and resturants. Good aircon, bathrooms much improved. I had the superior updated...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank starstar13
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms are basic (more than great having in mind you are in East-Timor) and the best is for sure the restaurant with great food and location which is half way city centre and half way to the best beach close to Dili Praia areia branca and portuguese on the way to the Cristo Rei! Would recommend. Even if you don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartaPimentel
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel does not match at all with the website... Friendly service. The 40 USD rooms are dark and poorly ventilated. The 60 USD ones are in the upper floor with the balcony, a little better. Breakfast just ok. Very nice fresh squeeze juices, not included... Terrible and extra loud karaoke at night, if you get one of these nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatteBingo
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Last week, we had a reservation, 3 rooms for 2 nights. On arrival, they could only supply 2 rooms. Fortunately, the third person in our party was offered accommodation at a friend's home. Room was small, Light blocked by sheets hanging on a clothes line stretching across my window. Great view of hotel staff feet as they hung the laundry....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bessie291
Hotel N, Manager at Hotel Novo Horizonte, responded to this review

Replying to the last comments in this webpage, to start the reservation was made thru a travel agency, in fact it was booked only 2 rooms, not 3 as it was mentioned in the post; then it was given a standard room, which is the price that you were willing to pay, these rooms have almost no view at all,...

Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The prices were pretty good for food and drinks (eg Australian wine $16 a bottle), but the food was average (the steak was terrible). The music was too loud, and kept being turned up after requests to turn it down. Service was ok, the usual in Dili: "hello, can you put your cell phone away/stop sparing into space and bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaliTaus
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dili hotels
0.0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 20 in Dili
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gino's Hotel
Gino's Hotel
#12 of 20 in Dili
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timor Lodge Hotel
Timor Lodge Hotel
#13 of 20 in Dili
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Dili
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 20 in Dili
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bought in 2007 by the Wideform Group of Companies, the former Hotel Dili 2001, renamed Novo Horizonte Hotel presents a new image, resulting of the refurbishment which it was subject during last year. Situated in the shoreline, in one of the most privileged areas of Dili, close to the beaches of Areia Branca and Cristo Rei, five minutes from the city center, Novo Horizonte Hotel is a excellent choice for those who like to relax in the end of a busy day at work or doing business’ and for those who simply want to discover and explore the city and, eventually the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Novo Horizonte

Address: Area Branca, Meti-Aut East Timor, Dili 12345, East Timor (Formerly Dili 2001 Hotel)
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Price Range: $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Novo Horizonte staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“superior room on top floor looking into court yard, it is worth the money $80 USD per night for 2, cheap as!!”
 of 5 bubbles starstar13, Jun 18, 2014 | Read review
“upper floor, for a 50% more...”
  • upper room view
 of 5 bubbles MatteBingo, Apr 14, 2013 | Read review
“Choose the rooms on the second floor facing the courtyard, these are more pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles OWSI, Sep 14, 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question