We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Opatija

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Opatija
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

About 70 meters from the sea there is a building. It is old fashioned but seems good. When you get inside, you can see the reception desk. There are friendly and helpful workers. After checking in you get in the room which is very old and not so attractive. I felt smoke in the room. The room was clean. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ádám T
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very old hotel room, there was an awful smell in the room from the drainage. Half of the rooms has A/C half doesn't, guess what ours did not have. aInternet available in all public spaces means it's only available in front of the reception and also there is very bad quality. Neither in the restaurant is not available. The WC... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoltan m

Travelers are raving about these Opatija hotels

Topolcany, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this hotel already 8 times and for sure I will come back,but not during highest season July-August. The reasons are 2. First- the hotel is very crowdy and noisy. Second- the breakfast are very poor,variety of food is smaller than in other months during the year,many things are missing as cheese,butter,sausages,bacon. Big dissapointment. And at the end tha... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom T
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Tom T, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us and for being our loyal guest for all these years. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our breakfast selection as we... More 

Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this lovely old hotel in spring this year and was pleasently surprised considering reviews I read before I got there. The park surrounding hotel is quite beautiful, great for resting and meditating. Hotel itself is situated right in the center of Opatija, a few steps away from the main bus stop. From what I could see, there is enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Girasole1977
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Girasole1977, thank You for taking the time to provide us with your review and for allowing us to host You during your recent stay in Opatija. We are delighted to read your feedback and learn You had a wonderful experience with us and that You enjoyed our accommodation. We invest a lot of effort in providing a spectacular service... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went there. Checked in. Went to the rooms and shock. Everything it looked so old and dirty. Nothing like in the pictures, nothing! The bathrooms were very small and looked like somebody was using them from 1000 years. I don't even want to mention the rooms. When we went down to check out and cancel our whole booking(the same day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miruna D
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Miruna D, Dear anusheh123, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. For your next stay in Opatija I would kindly suggest to book one of our sister hotels Bristol Hotel Opatija or Astoria Designhotel Opatija, which are both four stars hotels and are therefore maybe... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Opatija is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and main shopping street. Overall a good value and good all-round experience. Rooms are OK, with an efficient aircon unit. No fridge. Nice balcony overlooking the sea. WiFi does not work in rooms, but is VG in public spaces. The pool is marvellous, quite a good size,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul Q
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Paul Q, thank You for taking the time to provide us with your review and for allowing us to host You during your recent stay in Opatija. We are delighted to read your feedback and learn You had a wonderful experience with us and that You enjoyed our accommodation. We invest a lot of effort in providing a spectacular... More 

Porthmadog, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Two star hotel with two star facilities, but in fairness it does not claim any more. Advisable to go for the newer extension which has air con and 10euro per night extra for balcony with sea view makes a difference. Also on site parking (which is necessary) is extra, (15euro per night in July). No kettle in room, and breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank dafyddwynford
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear dafyddwynford, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you consider our hotel location great and staff excellent. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Location was normal. 500 meters from the beach. The hotel was very old and dirty. Inside the hotel there was no air conditioning. Very hot oil. The bathroom was old-fashioned toilet bowl. Breakfast was not the best. indoor pool was also a separate money. Already paid a lot of property. A complete waste of money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Taavi K
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Taavi K, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our breakfast selection and we have guests coming in from all the corners of the... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

The hotel is beautiful from the outside, however, the rooms do not reflect the external beauty of the hotel. I stayed with 2 people in a room, so 3 beds were almost on top of each other - I could only get on my bed from the end, seeing as I couldn't walk around the sides of the bed as... More 

Helpful?
Thank summertraveller247
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear anusheh123, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. For your next stay in Opatija I would kindly suggest to book one of our sister hotels Bristol Hotel Opatija or Astoria Designhotel Opatija, which are both four stars hotels with an aircondition in all rooms and... More 

Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

We was in this Hotel OPATIJA on early spring 2015 and we were not happy with room accommodation and TV service that is simply outdated old CRT TV that is 20 years old small screen and antenna signal with snow all over the screen and just some local channels to watch posted on some shelf in the room. You have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TripFreak666
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear TripFreak666, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. I do hope that You were aware when booking our hotel, You booked a 2 star hotel and even though we have only 2 stars, everything in our hotel is according to standards. For your next stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
7:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.2 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#11 of 31 in Opatija
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#12 of 31 in Opatija
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#2 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Opatija, just a few steps from the Lungomare seaside promenade, this hotel offers an unforgettable stay at an excellent price/performance ratio. On the hotel terrace, one of the largest and most beautiful in Opatija, surrounded by oasis of greenery, the guest can enjoy an unforgettable combination of Mediterranean flair and refreshing delicacies. The Hotel Opatija’s sports and leisure offer includes: own tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, sauna and massages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Opatija

Address: Trg Vladimira Gortana 2/1, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Price Range: $55 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Opatija 2*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Opatija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay