We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Opatija

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Opatija
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 87: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel Opatija is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and main shopping street. Overall a good value and good all-round experience. Rooms are OK, with an efficient aircon unit. No fridge. Nice balcony overlooking the sea. WiFi does not work in rooms, but is VG in public spaces. The pool is marvellous, quite a good size,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul Q
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Paul Q, thank You for taking the time to provide us with your review and for allowing us to host You during your recent stay in Opatija. We are delighted to read your feedback and learn You had a wonderful experience with us and that You enjoyed our accommodation. We invest a lot of effort in providing a spectacular... More 

Porthmadog, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two star hotel with two star facilities, but in fairness it does not claim any more. Advisable to go for the newer extension which has air con and 10euro per night extra for balcony with sea view makes a difference. Also on site parking (which is necessary) is extra, (15euro per night in July). No kettle in room, and breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank dafyddwynford
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear dafyddwynford, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you consider our hotel location great and staff excellent. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was normal. 500 meters from the beach. The hotel was very old and dirty. Inside the hotel there was no air conditioning. Very hot oil. The bathroom was old-fashioned toilet bowl. Breakfast was not the best. indoor pool was also a separate money. Already paid a lot of property. A complete waste of money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Taavi K
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Taavi K, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our breakfast selection and we have guests coming in from all the corners of the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Opatija hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is beautiful from the outside, however, the rooms do not reflect the external beauty of the hotel. I stayed with 2 people in a room, so 3 beds were almost on top of each other - I could only get on my bed from the end, seeing as I couldn't walk around the sides of the bed as... More 

Helpful?
Thank summertraveller247
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear anusheh123, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. For your next stay in Opatija I would kindly suggest to book one of our sister hotels Bristol Hotel Opatija or Astoria Designhotel Opatija, which are both four stars hotels with an aircondition in all rooms and... More 

Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

We was in this Hotel OPATIJA on early spring 2015 and we were not happy with room accommodation and TV service that is simply outdated old CRT TV that is 20 years old small screen and antenna signal with snow all over the screen and just some local channels to watch posted on some shelf in the room. You have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TripFreak666
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear TripFreak666, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. I do hope that You were aware when booking our hotel, You booked a 2 star hotel and even though we have only 2 stars, everything in our hotel is according to standards. For your next stay... More 

Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful I like the way it was designed, it is near everything you need, good position and well prices, very, very, very good food in restaurant, nice atmosphere, amazing garden in front of the hotel Only the way hotel was built makes it amazing

Helpful?
1 Thank Cuky420
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Cuky420, thank You for taking the time to provide us with your review and for allowing us to host You during your recent stay in Opatija. We are delighted to read your feedback and learn You had a wonderful experience with us and that You enjoyed our accommodation. We invest a lot of effort in providing a spectacular service... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

Opatija is a lovely spot. We booked this hotel because of its price and we were there for only one night. The 4th floor room had a sea view with a balcony which was nice. The bathroom and room were both nice sizes. The carpet was due to be cleaned or replaced. The lobby and public areas are pleasant but...WiFi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bev K
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Bev K, We would like to thank you for writing this review and sharing your comments. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient, comfortable and good value for money. We also appreciate your comments regarding the carpet and we will definitely take care of mentioned point. We hope that we... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

This is a very nice place to stay and the main reason is the staff in the hotel. The hotel it self is a good value for money, on the great location, with quiet rooms. It is out dated, but it is not expensive and has a home feeling.

Helpful?
Thank Gerard S
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Gerard S, We would like to thank you for writing this review and sharing your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient, comfortable and a good value for money. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our staff as they are our asset and we always strive to have a high... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

This was a fantastic hotel. Well priced for the location and the buffet breakfast (included in the price) was out if this world. It was more like and Vegas buffet! We were in walking distance of old town Opatija and it was easy to walk to on the shoreline walkway. They had an indoor and outdoor pool and a playground... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Likusia, We would like to thank you for investing your time in sharing such a nice comments about the hotel. It’s always very satisfying for us to read positive comments. It is a pleasure to know that we met your expectations and that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for bringing your observation regarding the bread to... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We have just returned from a most enjoyable 2 week stay at the Cristal Hotel Opatija. We found this hotel excellent our large room with comfortable beds had a wonderful sea view. We enjoyed a wide selection of good food at both breakfast and evening dinner. The sunbeds umbrellas and towels were available free of charge. All staff we found... More 

Helpful?
Thank john m
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
7:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.2 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#10 of 31 in Opatija
3.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
0.4 mi away
Hotel Agava
Hotel Agava
#8 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Opatija, just a few steps from the Lungomare seaside promenade, this hotel offers an unforgettable stay at an excellent price/performance ratio. On the hotel terrace, one of the largest and most beautiful in Opatija, surrounded by oasis of greenery, the guest can enjoy an unforgettable combination of Mediterranean flair and refreshing delicacies. The Hotel Opatija’s sports and leisure offer includes: own tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, sauna and massages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Opatija

Address: Trg Vladimira Gortana 2/1, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Price Range: $64 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Opatija 2*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Opatija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay