We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Drop Bear Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Drop Bear Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 229: English reviews
Start your review of Drop Bear Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Best Hostel in Santa Marta, has everything you are looking for! I spent weeks here! Pool, tv room, affordable and very tasty food but also a kitchen if you prefer your own vegan food;), hamocks to chill out & you will spend nights in the bar you will remember! Dorms are spacious w AC! Staff is lovely, always helpful for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuela Z
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

More than 1 hour drive from city center. No running water in room, no apology, blamed on me for wanting running water. Bed bugs bite me hard. Sex assault likely. Staff are always creeping on girls. Super sleezy and 5

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGoldy145
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Drop bear is a really nice hostel only too far from the city. You have to take a taxi if you want to go for diner or a drink in town. Although the restaurant from the hostel is also quite nice. I booked a daytrip to minca at the hostel this wasn't worth the money. I was informed that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthijssta
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very comfortable; staff it's brilliant. Thanks Shayre and Maria for everything. Had the best time in Santa Marta. The hostel offers plenty of activities but make sure you book them in advance. 4 days wasn't enough for me to do it all!! Definitely coming back. The bike tours are highly recommended 👌🏾 cheers boys!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro C
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Drop Bear Hostel is one of the greatest places I stayed while travelling around in South America. Wonderful hostel with a big TV room, a wonderful, big and clean pool, nice stuff that goes the extra mile to help you, really good food, strong wi-fi and clean and comfy room. I really enjoyed my stay and would come back anytime...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FabFabFabFab
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

I had an incredible time at Drop Bear! So much that I decided to return to the hostel numerous times throughout my stay in Colombia. The hostel has a really fun bar, a pool, a hang out/ community room where you can lounge around and watch Netflix or play pool, a restaurant, hammocks and amazing staff. The rooms and restrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika C
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

Drop Bear Hostel is filled with incredibly personable staff, great food, a super comfy TV room, a pool that stays the perfect temperature, and hammocks everywhere... truly all the accommodations you could need to feel at home, away from home. Oh, and free coffee from 7-10! That's always a plus. :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikel W
Reviewed February 15, 2017

Spent about a week here and really enjoyed myself. The staff is very friendly and attentive, they have a fantastic pool and the TV room is great for chilling. I think I spent my whole day in there nursing my muscles after the jungle trek. Would recommend to anyone coming to or passing through Santa Marta.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

Girl at the front desk was unbelievably rude. Initially she was ok then she got condescending when I raised my eyebrow at the 9% tax she said would be applied for using a card. Everywhere else in Santa Marta is 3%... not sure where she pulled 9% from. But I restrained myself and took my business elsewhere. Sad part is,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Gabriel K, Owner at Drop Bear Hostel, responded to this review

ah spiteful youth. We thank for you your revenge review because we didn't give you the massive discount you demanded when you walked in off the street without a reservation. Clearly the fact that you DIDNT even stay with us, whereas your travelling companion did, speaks volumes of the kind of person you are. We do not charge 9% for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Top hostel run by staff that clearly understand the needs of travellers. We had a great time and met great people. It's social, but also chill, and a great place to base yourself for trips around Santa Marta. It's not in the centre of Santa Marta but this really didn't matter. If you did want to venture into town for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainslee J
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#36 of 68 in Santa Marta
52 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#3 of 146 in Santa Marta
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 146 in Santa Marta
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#9 of 146 in Santa Marta
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zleeping Hostel
Zleeping Hostel
#23 of 146 in Santa Marta
56 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#4 of 146 in Santa Marta
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come experience coastal Colombia and all that Santa Marta has to offer in the Australian Drop Bear Hostel. We are the central hub of Santa Marta for your day trips, treks and tours. Perfectly placed for easy access to the city centre, PARQUE TAYRONA, THE LOST CITY, DIVING, TAGANGA, PALOMINO AND MUCH MORE. As well as nearby supermarkets and ATMs. The hostel in extremely spacious with a restaurant, self-catered kitchen, massive TV/chill-out/games room, bar, gardens, over 20 hammocks and a giant pool. Not mention the most comfortable and clean beds in Santa Marta. So come join us for a cocktail, enjoy our daily activities like Monday Movie nights by the poolside cinema, Saturday night party buses, Thursday trivia and much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Drop Bear Hostel

Address: Carrera 21 20 - 36 | Barrio Jardín, Santa Marta 470005, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Price Range: $11 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Drop Bear Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Drop Bear Hostel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Drop Bear Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“air con room is good in summer and wedges are delicious”
 of 5 bubbles Laaadman, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“The cheapest room is only a hallway with 6-8 beds in it”
 of 5 bubbles ABRreviews, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“stayed in Zapote, the aircon dorm, which is quite big for an 8 bed dorm”
 of 5 bubbles 940hildeg, Apr 21, 2016 | Read review
“I stayed upstairs in the Pitaya room, and enjoyed it very much.”
 of 5 bubbles Ronnor2, Feb 17, 2016 | Read review
“Nothing looked peacefull to be honest...”
 of 5 bubbles D2405ZUpaulr, Feb 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question