We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bahia Maracaibo, Providencia Island 880020 Colombia
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prestigia.com
Lol.travel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (494)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (55)

About

#1 of 10 hotels in Providencia Island
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
12 room hotel located by the sea, on the edge of the McBean Lagoon National Park in Colombia. Relax & sunbathe on the seaside deck or by the infinity edged plunge pool. There is no sandy beach in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but guests can still swim, snorkel or kayak in the sea. Various beaches are within a 15 minute vehicle ride, the hotel offers guests a once daily complimentary beach shuttle service or guests can rent a buggy vehicle or scooter to get around. Taxi to anywhere on the island costs approximately 25,000 COP (about $9 USD). Boat trips and other excursions available. As recommended in: Conde Naste Johansen's Luxury Hotel Collection; Travel & Leisure Magazine's "Secret Caribbean Hotels for a Crowd-Free Getaway"; Daily Telegraph's "Best Hotels in Colombia"; New York Times' "Quiet in the Caribbean". Winner of "Best Boutique Hotel in Colombia" from ACOPET (Association of Colombian Travel Journalists).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free internet
Rooftop pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Diving
Car hire
Concierge
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Hiking
Snorkeling
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
414Reviews14Q+A43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 255
  • 95
  • 40
  • 20
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KEROUAC22 wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles14 contributions25 helpful votes
This is a gem in an amazingly beautiful part of the world. It’s surrounded by the 3rd largest reef system in the world. We visited in February 2020 prior to the hurricane. Rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, amenities plentiful, food at premises delicious. Boat operators, access to “mules’ (essentially golf cart rentals to explore the island) are readily available. Waters, beaches, PRICING/COSTS for everything are 1970s costs against ANYTHING across the Caribbean and Latin America. The people complaining here are quite strange. Might be incidental travelers with little sense of adventure or understanding perhaps of the place they meticulously navigated. And it’s weird. I wish PROVIDENCIA and Deep Blue a continued recovery and can’t wait to return. The people are gracious, kind and the environment is unlike anything in the world. Seek out Guillermo for boat trips around the inner and outer reef. Peace!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Go to the outer reef…
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
stephan j wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom851 contributions523 helpful votes
I was very excited to travel to Providencia and to stay, what was meant to be, the best hotel on the island. Let me start with the island firsts. It is rather cumbersome to get to it. It has some nice beaches and the sea looks beautiful. Having said that, it is a poor island which is altogether not that well kept - many abandoned cars and rubbish. We found the snorkelling very disappointing, particularly when compared to the Philippines. There are very few restaurants and therefore you will probably end up eating at your accommodation. I understand that the locals make a living from tourism. However, the fact that a 5 minutes taxi ride from the airport costs more than a 50 minutes drive in Bogota is a bit much. All in all I am glad we went, but I won’t be rushing back. Now to the hotel. Deep Blue is no doubt the best hotel on the island. It is also the most expensive. In fact, it was the most expensive hotel we stayed during our 5 weeks tour of Colombia and I am not sure it was good value for money and here is why: 1) The rooms are large and have nice balconies. Having said that, we stayed in a luxury suit and whilst the view was ok, it was not great. In fact, we overlooked the neighbours house on our right. The aircon units seemed old and were noisy and there was mould on the wall (see pics). Don’t stay in the standard rooms (bad view) and if you can (although very expensive) stay in the highest category ones, provided you are fit enough for the stairs) 2) The hotel is “cut in two” with a road between the restaurant & sea and the hotel itself. We were woken up by cars with loud music and by barking dogs (not the hotel’s fault of course, but....) 3) There is no beach, and whilst there is deck with a nice view over crab cay, there is no sun protection at all, making it impossible to stay on the very few loungers). Consequently you are forced to go to one of the beaches. In all fairness the hotel takes you to a beach for free. Choose the beach carefully as only one has deckchairs. By the way, the pool is neglect-able and not large enough for swimming. 4) Given the price of the hotel, I found breakfast not that great. The portion of granola one is getting is very small as is the little plate of fruit. Most juices come from frozen fruits. Dinner was ok, but again, for a luxury hotel, given the poverty of the island and compared to other restaurants we have visited in Colombia, it was average and rather expensive. 5) Staff was friendly, but the lack of management on site (the manager was there irregularly and could not be reached when not on site. 6) WiFi was very poor indeed and only really worked in the reception area 7) We had to leave early due to the corona virus crisis as the country was shutting down and we were afraid not to be able to return home. Whilst staff allowed us to use their PC, no other help was offered with rebooking flights etc, which, as one has to take 2 domestic flights to reach Bogota, was a challenge due to the language barrier. We asked for a refund for the nights we had to cancelled, but this was declined. The reason given was that they are small business and cant afford it. In contrast to that, all other hotels we cancelled offered a full refund despite having the same cancellation policy. I also understand that the hotel is owned by a British person and not by a local. In fairness, after many emails they suggested that we can rebook for free in the future. This sounds nice, but for a European not that realistic. Personally, and just for that behaviour, I will never stay at this hotel again and I will not recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Deep Blue, Other at Deep Blue
Responded Jul 31, 2020
We are sorry that the client was disappointed by the experience and disappointed by our policy of not refunding clients who check-out early or cancel at the last minute. We are unsurprised to see the negative comments from the client as the client warned us he would publish negative online reviews if we did not refund them for their unused nights. The client even told us via email that if we had given a refund the review would have been more positive. The review negatively describes various geographical and other aspects of the hotel (location, lack of reliable internet, room views) that are experienced by all clients. Our location was key to our winning the 2019 award from Conde Naste Johansens as the "best waterside property in Central & South America". We are also proud to have been rated by the UK's Daily Telegraph as one of the "Best Hotels in Colombia" and won the 2013 award "Best Boutique Hotel in Colombia" from the Association of Colombian Travel Journalists. We are sorry that the client felt unable to take up our offer of re-visiting us but thank him for the feedback that we will use as we constantly strive to improve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aldman64 wrote a review Mar 2020
Aldbourne, United Kingdom191 contributions128 helpful votes
We recently spent five enjoyable nights at Deep Blue in a junior suite overlooking Crab Caye. The room was well equipped, large and comfortable with a fabulous view from the balcony. Being on the third floor meant climbing nearly 100 steps but that wasn’t a problem for two healthy Septuagerians. Some aspects of the room seemed a bit tired, the toilet bowl and wash basin were showing signs of age and the basin’s tap leaked. A broken door lock to the balcony was fixed within a couple of days. Our welcome seemed a bit chaotic with staff and guests moving in and out of reception. We were told that all the information we needed would be in a folder in our room - it wasn’t. There was no information about possible trips and excursions in English. When reception gave us an English version it only contained details of the hotel’s boat trips and nothing about walks, birdwatching or any other activity. Reception were not forthcoming with information; when I asked what we needed to take on a round the island boat trip no one mentioned that we would be stopping at Southwest Bay for lunch and therefore needed to take some money. The restaurant’s food was generally delicious but the service, particularly at breakfast, was often very poor. Once we had to wait an hour before getting served and after being given a tea bag at one meal it took 30 minutes to be given hot water. Twice we reserved a table at dinner and on both occasions it was given to other people. Some serving staff were quite offhand and seemed completely disorganised, others were helpful and friendly. There seemed to be little evidence of supervision. The hotel is quite isolated so in order to get around the beautiful island and we rented a ‘muleta’, a suped-up golf cart. Our boat trip was fun with time for snorkelling and beach. The captain and guide were safe, friendly and helpful. Deep Blue is undoubtably the best hotel on Providencia but couldn’t be described as luxury. The management is keen to point out that the hotel has won many awards. I can only say they must have pulled out all the stops when reviewers were present. We stayed in several other better run and more welcoming boutique hotels in Colombia. Providencia is a unique and beautiful island to visit but Deep Blue was not the highlight of our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Deep Blue, Other at Deep Blue
Responded Apr 3, 2020
Thank you for the useful feedback, we are pleased that you could enjoy your stay. We will try to address some of the issues you noted, we are constantly striving to improve and value guest feedback as it helps us achieve that aim.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emna3396 wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston42 contributions20 helpful votes
We were hoping, at the very least, for a good night’s sleep. Instead, we were woken up in the middle of the night by the dehumidifier signaling (loudly) that it need to be refilled. Our room was a standard room. A big mistake - made by our otherwise terrific travel agent. Our ‘ocean view’ was a large tree + an electric transformer. By the last night a ‘luxury’ room ( more stairs, more money - but ‘worth it’) became available. What a difference. We had a gorgeous view, bed faced the ocean, more space + the bathroom didn’t smell ( which it did in our first room.) We also knew to repeatedly empty the dehumidifier. Some staff members were wonderful. Others were inattentive at best. Short story — we had hoped for tranquility. We didn’t get it. As for the food — depending on the chef — the food was wonderful + not so. I ordered the same dish twice — it was so good the first. The 2nd night I left most of it on my plate.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Deep Blue, Other at Deep Blue
Responded Apr 3, 2020
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment and disheartened to read your criticism. Our room dehumidifiers usually operate silently. When they reach capacity or require some type of maintenance from the housekeeping department, they can give a short bleep to announce that they have switched themselves off. This is very occasional and is not something we have previously received a complaint about. We are sorry if your sleep was somehow disturbed. Many other clients have noted the positives of having in room dehumidifiers (no other hotel on the island offers them). Most of our clients appreciate the sea views towards Crab Caye from our Ocean View Deluxe Rooms, we are sorry if you feel differently. We are pleased that you could enjoy the Luxury Suites, which we agree have the best sea views. Maintenance has already checked your room's bathroom and fixed the issue, we are very sorry for any inconvenience. We are pleased that you had some "wonderful" food but apologize if there was any inconsistency. Our chef is training up some new staff at the moment and they are still learning, improving, on the job. Thank you for the feedback, we rely on guest feedback as we continuously strive to improve. If you have any further feedback please reach out to us at feedback@hoteldeepblue.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob B wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a fantastic 4 nights here. Room had a view to die for and the staff and restaurant was great. It's still got a slightly unpolished Carribbean vibe that's authentic but the care and attention we received really stood out. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Birgitte Theres... H wrote a review Feb 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark53 contributions27 helpful votes
This hotel is by far the best on the island. Amazing location with beautiful sea views from room balcony and from restaurant placed right by the ocean. Room nicely decorated. Quiet. Really comfy bed. Very clean. Good shower. Good breakfast with a choice of two/three options and an ok cappuccino, served on the restaurant outdoor deck. Restaurant food is amazing. Gourmet level. Service in restaurant and reception is very good compared to the rest of the island (which can be described as very slow and uninterested). Friendly staff but service slow compared to other places in Latin America we’ve been to. Walking distance to the tiny island Santa Catalina (crossing a bridge) where there is good snorkelling and a nice hike to Morgans head. We hired a mula (golf car) in reception and they will book any tours for you. Only place on the island with wifi (slow but then if you want god wifi, why go to Providencia in the first place). We loved Providencia, the calmness, the nature, the beaches, the friendly locals. The opposite to San Andrés which is highly overrated with terrible service, dirty, loud and crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
billingshope wrote a review Jan 2020
Astoria, New York18 contributions19 helpful votes
Best location ever! Very tranquil. Generous drinks and a great view of the turquoise waters. The food is fantastic and professionally served. Try the pumpkin-based seafood soup. Lounge on the dock while you wait.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MX213 wrote a review Jan 2020
Mexico City, Mexico57 contributions36 helpful votes
Best food on the island with the most stunning view. New Years was a rather expensive set menu (like everywhere in the world), but it was delicious. The servers, especially Tashany the manager, were so nice. Yes, service moves at a glacial pace. Expect to wait 20-25 minutes for your drink. Most people pay at the bar so as not to wait more. A simple dinner will take you 2 hours with how slow the service is, but you didn’t come to Providencia to rush off anywhere. Enjoy the view — and the café granizado with baileys!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AAppa wrote a review Dec 2019
Europe994 contributions315 helpful votes
There are pros and cons: Pros: - Nice views from some rooms. - Great views from the deck, specially the full moon and stars at night. - Great L’Occitane bathroom amenities - Service is good. Specially the front desk and restaurant ladies. - The best is kayaking to Crab Key and swim once there. Cons: - Poor vegan options in the restaurant. - The hotel maintenance is quite bad. Look at the bathroom photograph. They just need sandpaper to professionally clean that toilette. - No gym - There is not a good place to take a run. - The A/C is too loud - The TV works terrible - WiFi is terrible - The mini pool was a mess, everything wet, used towels, nobody to clean up.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DBlueBlue, Guest Relations Manager at Deep Blue
Responded Dec 27, 2019
Thank you for the review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful sea views, our location next to Crab Caye, the friendly service and the bathroom amenities. Thank for advising readers that our wifi and TV signal can be poor. As a result of the island’s very remote location we have a poor TV signal and the per Megabyte cost of our internet is 100 times (!!!) the price of internet in developed world cities! There are no gyms in any hotels on the island and being a small (12 room) boutique hotel we do not have space for a large number of facilities. There are very few vegan (or vegetarian) restaurant choices on the island. We take note of your recommendation and apologise for your disappointment that we only have 2 vegan main course options. Our air con units have different modes that enable the potency/noise to reduce, if the "turbo" button is set to off the air-con units are very quiet (sorry if you missed this advice which is contained in the air-con guidelines in each room's welcome book) All the tap water in our rooms is well water that is imported to the hotel by truck (there’s no reliable aqueduct, again because of our remote location). Any stains inside the toilets result from sediments contained in the well water and they cannot be easily removed but we do periodically try to. Only organic cleaning products can be used by us due to our location within the McBean Lagoon National Park’s boundaries. We apologize if you felt the inside of your toilet was stained, we can assure you that it was perfectly well cleaned. Thank you for taking the time to review Deep Blue, we are pleased you could enjoy your visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Courtney G wrote a review Oct 2019
Sydney, Australia5 contributions
My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in a luxury suite. We had an absolutely amazing time in Providencia and Deep Blue was a lovely place to stay. The room was well sized and the deck was a brilliant addition, not to mention the plunge pool which was perfect to cool off with a glass of wine in hand overlooking the Carribean and Crab Cay. The view was spectacular. I do however feel that the hotel is very overpriced. I understand that it is the only hotel on the island and the island is tiny and difficult to get to, but for the price we paid, my expectations were high and sadly were not met. The room felt a little run down, the air-conditioning dripped water on to the lounge area and the deck and plunge pool were not properly cleaned when we arrived. The staff sometimes seemed disinterested in helping which gave us a sense of feeling unwelcome. I totally understand island time and we are tourists in their home, but feeling unwelcome in the hotel wasn't great. Again, we had an amazing time and would totally recommend Deep Blue but there were just a few issues that stood out to us which lowered our overall view of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DBlueBlue, Guest Relations Manager at Deep Blue
Responded Oct 11, 2019
Thank you for the review, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Please accept our apologies for the any shortcomings experienced at check-in. The air con units usually only drip if doors/windows are left open or if temperature setting is set extremely low (ie. 17c). There is an article in Conde Naste Traveller magazine entitled "Room With a Pool: Caribbean Resorts With Private Plunge Pools" (Jan 2015). It is interesting for us to note that all ten of the featured hotels offer rooms with private plunge pools at a cost greater than our Luxury Suites that have private plunge pools and are priced from 990,000 COP per night including breakfast for two (approx USD $290 at todays favourable exchange rate). We value your feedback and will share your comments with the staff. If you have any further feedback please reach out to us at feedback@hoteldeepblue.com as we rely on feedback and suggestions as we constantly strive to improve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
ColombiaSan Andres and Providencia DepartmentProvidencia Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Deep Blue
Which popular attractions are close to Deep Blue?
Nearby attractions include Crab Cay-Cayo Cangrejo (0.5 miles), The Peak Forestry Reserve (2.5 miles), and Almond Bay (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Deep Blue?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Deep Blue?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Deep Blue?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Deep Blue?
Yes, free private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Deep Blue?
Conveniently located restaurants include Divino Nino Jesus, Caribbean Place Donde Martin, and Deep Blue Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Deep Blue?
Yes, guests have access to a rooftop pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Deep Blue?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Deep Blue have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.