We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Asbury Hotel

Save
Share
210 5th Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5503
Lowest prices for your stay
$135
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/20/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Priceline$135
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (333)
Room & Suite (79)
Pool & Beach (24)

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Asbury Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Asbury mashes up Asbury Park's Victorian-era history, rock-n-roll present, and shiny future into a new kind of social hub. The Asbury is your fantasy vacation postcard come to life. Inside The Asbury, a happening lobby will become the action-filled center of the hotel with everything designed for perpetual motion. The front desk and check-in doubles as The Counter, a grab-and-go kitchen where guests can fetch keys, order coffee, or buy something from the retail store. A ground-floor lounge will become Asbury Park's rec room, with ping-pong, pinball machines, board games - and a communal table for travelers who want to feed off the energy and get some work done. A quintet of new venues will make The Asbury a compulsive hangout for guests, locals, and visitors, consisting of Soundbooth, a casual lobby bar, Salvation, our rooftop bar with stunning views of the town and ocean, The Baronet, rooftop garden, theater and concert venue, and Beergarden, featuring authentic food and beer trucks. The hotel also features Asbury Hall & Lawn, a 4,800-square-foot, flexible indoor/outdoor event space unlike any other on the Jersey Shore for either an intimate social gathering or a fun filled company retreat.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
685Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 338
  • 153
  • 95
  • 53
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Susan R wrote a review Sep 16
1 contribution
Just what the doctor ordered! Excellent customer service and relaxing atmosphere during a time of uncertainty! This was our second stay at The Asbury during the pandemic. Tim reviewed the precautionary measures and guidelines at the hotel, without losing the escape from reality that we were craving. We bonded over our love of Paul Rudd and made reservations at Baronet to view Clueless on the rooftop! What a fun time being able to see a movie under the stars! The rooftop bar, Salvation, was a great intimate experience with plenty of social distancing. Not only are the staff super attentive and friendly, the poolside bar and food service is top-notch! We can’t wait to go back for our anniversary weekend celebration at the end of the month!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
MichaelTCohenNYC wrote a review Sep 13
Asbury Park, New Jersey17 contributions8 helpful votes
From the moment we checked into the Asbury, we could see there was a disconnect. The staff were friendly in spite of the hotel's many deficiencies and design flaws. Thanks to the responsiveness of the staff, we departed after three sleep deprived nights having saved 50% off the agreed upon room rates and with two complimentary cups of tea. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a friendly smile and a luggage cart. Thanks to the design of the driveway, the lack of a nearby ramp, however, the cart could not be brought to our car but we were invited to carry our several bags of luggage to it. It was a small inconvenience but, in retrospect, a harbinger of worse things to come. Our two adjoining rooms on the Hotel's top floor (the 7th)--for me, my wife and our teenage son, were sparse but cleanish. The towels were thin, the beds were soft the internet was slow and the linoleum floors bore the signs of many years of use. But we were happy to have arrived and hoped to relax in the room and binge some shows on the room's smart TV before heading to the boardwalk for dinner. As soon as the TV turned on however, we were greeted by a "weak signal" error message. After trying futilely to trouble shoot the problem ourselves: checking the network connection, checking the source options, cable inputs and everything we could think of, we phoned the front desk. As we would eventually discover after spending the three day weekend without any TV service of any kind, ALL the TV's at the Asbury have been broken for some time. The Asbury claims their infrastructure is in good working order and they have been trying with no success to trouble shoot this problem with the local cable company. But, to make matters worse, all the workarounds the smart TV's would have been capable of (by launching the natives apps and using the WiFi or a cellphone hotspot) have been disabled. ALL the "smart" TV's are now dumb as posts. If only we'd brought an Apple TV to plug into ours, Laurie, the manager lamented. If only we'd known, I responded. She graciously offered us $100 discount off of each room--the first of three discounts we'd eventually receive--and we felt acknowledged and understood, if frustrated. Laurie also implied that the cable company was servicing the problem and the TV's might be repaired shortly. That night, after returning from dinner, we fell asleep as best we could to the thumping of music upstairs. We attributed it to our rude neighbors. Little did we know! The following night, after enjoying the boardwalk, we returned to our room for a good night's sleep. But those pesky neighbors seemed to be at it again. Our first thought was to use the TV to drown their music out but, no luck, it was still broken. Then we heard a commotion in the corridor outside our room and the voices passed through the paper thin walls as if we had company right in our suite. I poked my head into the corridor to see what was happening. It turned out that our "neighbors" were actually the rooftop nightclub, Salvation, which plays loud music till 2AM! Furthermore, the dedicated elevator that normally served the roof had broken. Traffic to and from the nightclub was now ALL being routed through the hotel's guest elevators, along the 7th floor's corridor and right past our door. The nightclub security personnel were courteous and responsive. They offered to do their best to keep it quiet; turn down the music, control the crowds, perhaps even close early. We buried our heads in our pillows and hoped for the best. We fell asleep as best we could to the beat of the music and the sound of voices. We were back on the phone with the hotel management the next morning and Sean was very responsive. He agreed that putting a family on the 7th floor right below the nightclub was an unarguably bad idea. He acknowledged that there were a limited number of connecting rooms in the hotel and that it was just our bad luck that we wound up with the pair on the seventh floor, below Salvation. He recognized how the broken elevator had worsened our plight and he offered us a 50% room discount for our third, upcoming, night at the Asbury; our second of three discounts. So, we braced for the music till 2 AM, crossed our fingers that the elevator would be repaired and consoled ourselves with the generous discounts. We resolved that on our last night we could stay up late and sleep in the following, Sunday morning. No such luck. The room next door hosted a party at 6 AM! They were celebrating a wedding that took place off the hotel grounds the previous night . On Sunday, the hotel room next door to ours was the site of their early morning post wedding celebrations and the corridor was filled with maskless guests and their shrieks of happiness as they greeted each other upon arrival. Our begging for quiet and the use of PPE fell on unsympathetic ears as a steady stream of partiers tricked in and out all morning. By 9 AM, we gave up, packed our bags and prepared to check out. Sean was on duty again and greeted us at the reception with a caring demeanor and our third discount--one of our two rooms would now be comped entirely on our third night. The barista overheard our story and even waived the charges on our morning teas. We realized the staff was making the best they could of a bad situation that was largely out of their control. In spite of their efforts to please us, we will never return to the Asbury hotel. We also resolved that we would write a review for trip advisor to share what we wish we had been told before booking our rooms there: BEWARE THE SEVENTH FLOOR!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay on the seventh floor if you plan to go to sleep before 2 AM.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Paul D wrote a review Aug 2020
River Vale, New Jersey54 contributions22 helpful votes
Had a really wonderful stay at The Asbury Hotel last weekend.....Felt very safe in the hotel and poolside - COVID safety measures were reiterated several times and were adhered to. Allowed us to have a great time without being overly concerned about things. Staff very friendly and helpful and understanding. Special shout out to Chelsea & James at the front desk for all of their help with the rooms and Ty at the pool keeping the special Gin & Tonics coming! Very excited to return to the hotel for our next trip to Asbury Park!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Walsh, Guest Services / Front Office at The Asbury Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
PMDRiverVale, Thank you so much for your kind words! I am super happy to hear how amazing of an experience you had! Safety during these trying times has been our top priority, it is extremely important that you are able to have the relaxing experience you deserve without having to worry about your surroundings! Chelsea, James & Ty are just a few of our shining stars here at The Asbury and I am glad you were able to connect with them! I look forward to welcoming you back to The Asbury soon for more laughter & joy, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly for your next accommodations! Sean
Read more
gabbi8 wrote a review Aug 2020
Silver Spring, Maryland44 contributions5 helpful votes
I reserved three rooms through Expedia but cancelled them within the appropriate window of time. Months later, I was very disappointed to see that the hotel charged me for one night and, despite a request from Expedia, refused to waive this fee. While I can't speak to staying at this hotel, the customer service seems to be less than ideal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Walsh, Guest Services / Front Office at The Asbury Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Gabrielle, I apologize for any confusion with our cancellation policy. Unfortunately I was unable to find your reservations to reach out and further discuss your situation. Please reach out to me directly at seanw@salthotels.com as I would appreciate the oppertunity to help! Sean
Read more
joe m wrote a review Aug 2020
Paterson, New Jersey4 contributions
We knew we were going to The Asbury during COVID so we were ready. But I have to say, they bent over backwards for us. Tim, who won us over when he knocked on our door, couldn't have been more welcoming and his hospitality all week was impeccable. I do wish I was there to see all the lobby action, but I know I will definitely be back as I totally enjoyed our stay here. Our room was a great size and we loved movie night upstairs. All the staff was great. It would have been great to be able to drink my coffee in the morning in the lobby, but I get it, so I was able to sit out at a table near Valet and strike up a conversation with Kendall. What a personality. He was terrific. For a young man, he will do very well in this industry. I do have to point out a young last named Ty. She was a server out by the pool who was training. She was perfect. Made our day out by the pool so enjoyable. I wish I had something to complain about, but they really went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. I plan on going back the week after Thanksgiving just to get away...If you go...ENJOY!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Walsh, Guest Services / Front Office at The Asbury Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Joem757, I am so happy to hear the team was able to personalize your experience through our genuine hospitality! Tim, Kendall & Ty are the the best - they all will do everything in their possible to make things extra special!! I cannot wait to welcome you back after Thanksgiving - when we can hopefully have our beautiful lobby open and show you how amazing the rest of our gorgeous property is!! Please do not hesitate to reach out to either me at seanw@salthotels.com for all of your future accommodations. Sean
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreAsbury Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Asbury Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Asbury Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Silverball Pinball Museum (0.2 miles), Asbury Park Boardwalk (0.2 miles), and Paramount Theater and Convention Hall (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Asbury Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Asbury Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Asbury Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Porta, Langosta Lounge, and The Wonder Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Asbury Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Asbury Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Asbury Park.
Are pets allowed at The Asbury Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Asbury Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Asbury Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Stephen Crane House (0.2 miles).
Does The Asbury Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Asbury Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.