We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hostel Casa Blanca

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hostel Casa Blanca
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

Noisy. Hot. No fan. Uncomfortable bed. Unhelpful staff. Wifi poor. Worst hostel I've stayed in in South America. They say breakfast is included, but you get given 2 slices of bread and 2 raw eggs and are told to make your own. Was going to stay 3 nights. Left after one and moved next door to the competition.

Helpful?
Thank thebrightstuffdotcom
Hostel B, General Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments However I don’t understand why you don’t mention that I talk to you and offer you to change you in to a bigger room and in the event that you did not like it we will refund your money and you decided to stay. If you needed a fan you could just ask for one... More 

Sapzurro, Colombia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2016

not my first and for sure not my last stay in here. a lovely peaceful beautiful hostel in el poblado medellin. i stayed here before and will come back. everytime i want a nice family, the owner benjamin who became a personal friend i go to casa blanca. highly recommand, wish you all as well a great stay, z

Helpful?
Thank zohan2015
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2016

By far this is the best hostel in Medellin the make you feel like home in fact that is the slogan of the hostel Casa Blanca your home in Medellin!! an that is rigth on the money is clean and also has very good rates.

Helpful?
Thank Tonythemanyea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016 via mobile

After I spent few month in South America and been in tons of hostels, this one is taking the first place! The location was amazing, great and safe environment, beautiful and colorful hostel, with sitting places, sofas, pool, T.V, neat kitchen and even nice convinent supermarket! The treatment was G-R-E-A-T, and the owners of the hostel are such friendly kind... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ניצן ב
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here without reading prior reviews the end of December 2015. I got the private room. The first night well laying in bed I seen a bug on my blanket. I got up and inspected thoroughly. There were multiple bugs. I google searched and learned they're bed bugs. I showed them and they moved me to a shared dorm.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brennan B
Hostel B, Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for you review; At the time that you refer to we did have a bedbug problem and it was something that we allredy deal with, we hired the Best pest control company in Medellín and we did change not only the mattresses, but every thing in the 3 room that had the problem, as you will know... More 

Travelers are raving about these Medellin hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

The ventilator in the room was not working. The shower was cold. And last but not least: BED BUGS! My arm and legs were covered in bites. Was not even compensated. Don't go here! Rather go to Black Sheep in the same street.

Helpful?
Thank Robert V
Hostel B, General Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review

BH Dear costumer we apologise for the cold water at the time we were experience a problem with one of the water heaters, and because the clim in Medellín we only offer fas in our suits, in reference to the bed bogs that you are talking about we do not have that problem, since we fumigate every week to prevent... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

THE GOOD : This hostel is conveniently located in the "El Plobado" neighborhood which is close to good restaurants and the nightlife scene in Medellin. It is also known to be a relatively safe neighborhood - we walked around after dinner and never felt like we were in any danger. Of course, as always one must always be diligent and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
Hostel B, General Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review

BH Dear costumer are you sure you are rating hostel Casa Blanca in patio bonito? Because we do not have any one by the name of Sheila. Any way could you send us your reservation also since we cant find any reservation at hostelworld or hostelBooker with the característics that you describe in your complain, if you please contact me... More 

Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

I loved this hostel but the owners are amazing they help me alot I realy felt at home and the prices were good to I did not left the hostel in 4 days I had every thig right there next time I come to medellin I will go there for sure

Helpful?
Thank alexca205
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

I recommend this hostel very much the people is nice the prices ar good is clean and is very closed to the metro station malls and restaurants is big since it has 2 houses together it even have garage and a mini market where you can find every thing

Helpful?
Thank Jeanethe A
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

I use trip advisor quite often but never made an account. Here however i felt the need to warn people about the truth of this lovely polished turd Dirty room: - spider next to your head - grains of god knows what on bed - spectacularly useless fan - overall prison feel to the room Then switched to new room:... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
0.3 mi away
La Presidenta Hostel
La Presidenta Hostel
#45 of 152 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.7 mi away
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
#24 of 152 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PitStop Hostel
PitStop Hostel
#25 of 152 in Medellin
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#2 of 152 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hostel
Grand Hostel
#14 of 152 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Casa Blanca is one of the better and bigest hostels in Medellin, ideal for executives, couples, family groups, solo back packers, athetics and people looking for a nice and quiet place to relax. Located in the best area of el poblado Patio Bonito, offers our visitors a quiet ambiance in a safe and beautiful neigborhood. the hostel has a big private parking area and lot of extras: Pro Billar Table, Ping pong table, Dards, Basket ball court, Spanish classes, lockers, Garage, a full equipped kitchen, microwave, big patio with fruit trees and tanning deck and Bar-BQ, Plasma TV with 300 international channels, DVD, onward booking for all hostels in Colombia and much more..... Come and enjoy your time in Medellin, we are located close to the Zona Rosa of Medellin where the best night clubs, casinos and restaurants are. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Blanca

Address: Transversal 5a 45 256, Medellin 050022, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Price Range: $16 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay