Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena

Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena

Carrera 3 31 23 Santa Teresa Square, Cartagena 130001 Colombia
Walking tour Cartagena
Traveler (810)
Panorama of the Deluxe at the Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
360
Panoramas (39)
room
Room & Suite (351)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
$390
Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
$390
Only 1 left at
$267
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#59 of 246 hotels in Cartagena
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
In the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in the world, full of Spanish influence and a powerful mix of multiculturalism, is our hotel, built in a historic and renovated 17th-century building that reflects the tradition of Cartagena de Indias, from its origins as a Caribbean port to becoming the capital of tourism in South America.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Carrera 3 31 23 Santa Teresa Square, Cartagena 130001 Colombia
Name/address in local language
876Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 563
  • 167
  • 59
  • 44
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Erica G wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York22 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 4 nights and were very happy with our choice. We enjoyed that we could step out from the hotel and stroll the old city. It was also useful to be near the docks as we took a sunset cruise and a snorkel trip. Note that the pool is more of a plunge pool than a place to swim as it is only one meter deep. The Conscierge team was a huge help. We had a basic idea of what we wanted to do but Kohra and Luisa helped plan the particulars and interfaced with all the vendors so we didn't have to. They were always happy to help make changes along the way and even WhatsApped with us after their working hours when needed. We were on the first floor of the hotel, set away from the courtyard, and it was indeed quite for sleeping. The room was spacious but not exactly ultra luxury by American standards. For example the small room with the toilet and shower had a fully vented door so you would hear anybody taking a shower or using the toilet. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the hotel in the atrium and room service was a great value.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alicia F wrote a review May 2022
Babylon, New York20 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot rave enough about Cartagena and this hotel.

The hotel is really beautiful, clean, cannot beat the location, and the rooftop pool is even better in person than the pictures.

We flew in from NY, two couples, and 2 of us spoke a little Spanish and was able to get by throughout the city. Everyone at the hotel spoke enough English to understand our requests and inquiries.

I was even able to take out money thru my debit card in pesos for some quick cash without the hassle of going to a money exchange place.

One note, we did get a balcony room that was pricier. We were barely in our hotel room as we were always out and about, but since the restaurant is in the center of the hotel the noise started at 6 am and was busy and loud till 12 am. It was hard to sleep in. I will 100% come back to this hotel, but would get a cheaper room with no balcony, didn't see the point of the cost.

The foods is expensive at the hotel, it's good though. I definitely encourage you to go out into the city and eat at many of the restaurants. Much cheaper and the food at every place we ate at was AMAZING.

I highly suggest Vieja de Guardia for lunch, Carmen for dinner, and Alquimico for drinks.

We took the bikes from the hotel all over the city and explored, we rented a private boat (Botagena) and took it to the Rosario Islands. I think Cartagena probably still has a bad rap and is maybe "scary" to Americans. I felt extremely safe walking the streets at night and through out the day. People will try and sell you stuff non stop, you just say no gracias and they move on. I found everyone to be very welcoming and warm. Please visit this beautiful city!

P.S. if traveling from the states, the hotel provided a Covid Antigen Test for $30 a person. They came right to your room. Go to the front desk to schedule.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded May 3, 2022
We are delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities and the warm hospitality that characterizes us. For us it was a real pleasure to have you in our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emaidkd wrote a review Aug 2020
Sunny Beach, Bulgaria237 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment I entered my junior suit this special atmosphere captured all my senses. You visit the property like a client and then you go home like a friend. Rooms are luxury, comfortable and spacious. For me as a fruit lover breakfast was just wonderful - great variety of tropical fruits, fruit yoghurt, different kind of bread, something for any meet or cheese lover /cheese variety was spectacular/, many cooking stations - pancakes, eggs, waffers, etc., as well as personal attention. /You get your own fruit basket and gourmet pastry on arrival in the room, by the way. / Staying here was a great way to relax after hours walking down the streets of this vibrant and colourful city. Either you can use the rooftop pool to swim, relax, have a snack or amazing sunset views. Staff - very kind and helpful. All of them. Eventually you go home full of good emotions and with a coffee present, representing the unmatchable atmosphere of this unique place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan E wrote a review Feb 2020
53 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So I chose this hotel because it was supposed to be one of the best in Cartagena. Not sure how you can be the “best” when your paying guests can’t sleep because of the noise from your public restaurant. It is 11:10 pm and it feels like I am sitting in the central market from the incredible amount of noise coming into our room. So I call the front desk to find some sort of solution and they sent up a pair of cheap ear plugs. Sleepless nights in cartagena from. My 300 dollar hotel room is definetly not what I expected. First time in a long time I have such a bad experience in what is considered a lux hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David R wrote a review Mar 2022
35 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely beautiful hotel ! Sadly I found that the extra services lacked communication skills not only Engliah but also Spanish. No soap in my room, front desk clerk ans even manager could not find soap for over an hour.

Breakfast I pre paid and you can have all your heart desires except for bacon which whole is a rediculous Charge. A couple other things they try and charge you for so the hotel makes extra money. Otherwise beautiful hotel in a great location. Also great bed and sheets.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t expect anything you order to be right the first time
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded Mar 24, 2022
We regret that your experience was not to your total satisfaction, our daily goal is to provide the best experience to each of our guests, we will work to strengthen your comments, we look forward to your next visit. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria T wrote a review Apr 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely 4 nights at the Charleston Santa Teresa. Upon check in, they greeted us with much needed refreshing drinks and accommodated our room requests. Location is perfect. The rooms were beautifully decorated and housekeeping kept us well stocked and came 2-3 times a day. The rooftop pool is larger than most of the Cartagena hotels in the walled city which was great fun for the entire family. We would return from our excursions and head straight for a swim. We looked forward to the breakfasts each morning as well - they are held in the main courtyard restaurant. The service was also great- the first night we asked Nataly at the front desk to help us make a dinner reservation. She couldn’t get through by phone so actually sent someone to run down to the restaurant to make the reservation for us in person! The only thing I would suggest is that they keep the pool open until 7:00 or 8:00 (it closes at 6 pm I think) and there was a wedding reception one night which is quite loud if your room is off the courtyard. But overall we would highly recommend this hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms inside the hallways are quieter than those on the courtyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate K wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York249 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I just spent several relaxing days at Hotel Charlston Santa Theresa in Cartegna. This is a beautiful hotel with top quality service. The interior lobby, which houses Harry Sassoon's, is a wonderful place for a meal or a drink and the roof top pool and restaurant offers relaxation as well as a beautiful view of the city and sunset. The gym is small but well maintained with 2 treadmills, 2 life steppers, a bike and free weights. The concierge is knowledgeable and will help arrange tours or make dinner reservations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina wrote a review Jun 2022
Miami, Florida7 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A group of 10 of us stayed here. I cannot say enough about the attention to detail of their staff. It was a friend's 40th bday so we wanted to make it extra special. They assisted with transportation service to and from the airport, decorating the room in advance before our arrival, setting up reservations at restaurants and tours. The hotel is beautiful and conveniently located inside la ciudad amurallada. We had breakfast included every morning which was spectacular. Some of us took advantage of the gym and spa! The rooms are spacious and very clean. Monica at the concierge followed up with me through the day of arrival, she was so helpful!
The only negative was that the pool was out of service as they are remodeling and we got the notification after we booked. We were looking forward to their rooftop. Besides that, we had an amazing time!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded Jun 17, 2022
Dear Ms. Carolina, thank you for letting us know your experience at the hotel and know that we exceeded your expectations in service. We apologize for the inconvenience you had in your last stay with the pool; we hope to receive you soon, so we can offer an excellent service from your arrival until the end of your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dmitriy P wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York91 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was an amazing hotel experience for us. Location is spot in the center of walled city. You can walk to anything within 10-15 minutes. We took multiple walks to Getsemani from here and it only took 15 minutes. Cafe del Mar is about 5 min walk.

Locals told us that this is perhaps the most beautiful hotel in Cartagena (or sharing that prize with Sofitel). The inside decor is very pretty with plenty of fresh flowers throughout the premises. We got a cheap room so it was a bit small with the windows facing the inside garden. We can't complain for the price we paid for a 5-star hotel.

Staff was very accomodating. Their English was decent and they understood all of our requests well. There's a pharmacy store 20 meters away for any of your last minute needs such as sunscreen or headache medicine.

Also, there's a rooftop swimming pool that has a beautiful view of the city around sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded May 3, 2022
We are happy to hear such positive comments like yours; thank you for sharing them so that more and new travelers can get to know us and choose us. It has been a pleasure to have you in our Hotel. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emilio1108 wrote a review Oct 2022
San Diego, California3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a very disappointing hotel. I paid a lot more than most hotels in the area so I can have a nice room to enjoy my holiday, what I got was a dark hotel room without any windows whatsoever. I was shocked! I complained and had to choose between hating my vacation or paying an extra $80 USD for a regular room. I did spend the extra $80 for a regular room with way too much street noise.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: You are probably better off staying somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded Oct 25, 2022
We would like to offer our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us, We are sorry that on this occasion you did not receive the service you were expecting from us. Your feedback will help us to review our procedures and ensure that the service we offer to our guests is impeccable and generates positive and unforgettable experiences. We remain at your disposal for any further comments and hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to offer you a pleasant stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yoana O asked a question Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
El hotel tiene ascensor ?
Reagan R asked a question Dec 2019
Boston, Massachusetts116 contributions16 helpful votes
Is this located in Old Town?
Answer from Jojo
1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes
YolandaKS asked a question Dec 2019
Glendale, California35 contributions11 helpful votes
Is this hotel in the walled city?
Answer from Catherine_F_63
Boston, Massachusetts140 contributions78 helpful votes
Yes!
Betty2011London asked a question Jan 2019
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom111 contributions75 helpful votes
Is it possible to visit the hotel facilities for the day? Can we book lunch and also enjoy the rooftop pool and bar?
Answer from CRM519
Fort Lauderdale, Florida118 contributions52 helpful votes
Hi You can have meals but to go to rooftop you need to be a registered guest.
jojoruss asked a question Jun 2016
Downingtown, Pennsylvania208 contributions98 helpful votes
Does the hotel have parking?
Answer from CL5309
California244 contributions217 helpful votes
Unsure. but plenty of taxi's and a very short distance to the airport.
Jill wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the food and the pool! There is a pool side bar for lunch and drinks. There are not a lot of chairs in the shade and it is hot!"
Read full review
Mahlieke G wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the hotel all together"
Read full review
Rosa Claudia H wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find another hotel if you are looking for a nice view from the hotel and relaxation."
Read full review
Rosie S wrote a tip Jun 2023
Virginia Beach, Virginia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The best hotel that you can possibly stay at in Cartegna. "
Read full review
Victoria T wrote a tip Apr 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms inside the hallways are quieter than those on the courtyard "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cartagena area.
PRICE RANGE
$281 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
charleston hotel cartagena, hotel santa teresa cartagena, santa teresa cartagena
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
LOCATION
ColombiaBolivar DepartmentCartagena DistrictCartagena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHARLESTON SANTA TERESA CARTAGENA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Which popular attractions are close to Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Nearby attractions include El Pasquín De Joaco Gastro Bar (0.2 miles), Pink Dolphin Gastrobar (0.2 miles), and Tu Candela gastro bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Conveniently located restaurants include Epoca Espresso Bar, El Arsenal: The Rum Box, and Rooftop Urania By Sophia Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena have airport transportation?
Yes, Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Walled City of Cartagena (0.7 miles), Centro Historico (0.2 miles), and Sanctuary of Saint Peter Claver (0.1 miles).
All Cartagena HotelsCartagena Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CartagenaHotels near Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars