We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena

Save
Share
Carrera 3 31 23 Santa Teresa Square, Cartagena 130001 Colombia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (782)
360
Panoramas (39)
Room & Suite (341)

About

#55 of 299 hotels in Cartagena
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
In the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in the world, full of Spanish influence and a powerful mix of multiculturalism, is our hotel, built in a historic and renovated 17th-century building that reflects the tradition of Cartagena de Indias, from its origins as a Caribbean port to becoming the capital of tourism in South America. As part of a continuous commitment to improve the facilities of our hotel, we would like to inform you that the La Terraza pool and restaurant services will remain closed due to maintenance work that began on May 10, 2022, and with a tentative end date next december 20, 2022. These activities take place between 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. We appreciate your support and apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. We have available to our guests, the Rooftop & Solarium with food and beverage service attended by Harry's Cartagena Restaurant during its usual service time from 7:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
824Reviews13Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 529
  • 164
  • 57
  • 38
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cathy R wrote a review Nov 22
1 contribution
This hotel does not care about its customers’ negative experiences and does not take responsibility or hold itself accountable for its role in the problems. There were previous reviews where the hotel screwed over a bride and her wedding and harassed a couple over an iPad. Our situation was that we messed up our reservation and showed up a day late. The hotel charged us $350 for the unused night. Despite the fact that we were attending a wedding that booked over a dozen other rooms in the hotel, and we stayed an additional two nights, the staff was unwilling to make any accommodation or offer a gesture that would have created good will. Instead, the hotel resorted to its pattern of poor customer service and tone desk customer relations. Beware this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Ms. Cathy Rimsky, Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share your opinion about your stay with us. Your comments are very important to us; we have been reviewing the situation you describe, the reservation was originally made on an individual with different cancellation or penalty policies mentioned at the time of booking. Reservations that were made as part of the wedding you refer to are under a different contract with different conditions. Likewise our operations manager was in contact during and after your stay indicating that it was not possible to waive the first night's penalty. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pmarqueze wrote a review Nov 20
Bogota, Colombia36 contributions11 helpful votes
No swimming pool. A very small bar. But a good restaurant. Maybe it's smarter to stay at any boutique hotel in Cartagena. This is basically a bed and breakfast not a 5 star Hotel. It's location is very good and close to some historic places. Staff is friendly as all staff in Cartagena
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no swimming pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded 1 week ago
We would like to offer our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us, We are sorry that on this occasion you did not receive the service you were expecting from us. Your feedback will help us to review our procedures and ensure that the service we offer to our guests is impeccable and generates positive and unforgettable experiences. We remain at your disposal for any further comments and hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to offer you a pleasant stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosa Claudia H wrote a review Nov 19
The hotel experience was very disappointing, The elevators were broken, the hotel smell was a mix of humidity, mold and sewer because of the rain. The noise from the restaurant was loud starting at 6 and ending after midnight. We were told that the noise from the construction started at 8 and it was earlier, the employees apologized so many times but we were not compensated in any way. We didn't receive any room upgrade because no rooms were available due to the damage caused by the swimming pool in the rooftop. No financial compensation or discount was offered for not being able to use the swimming pool or the terrace that I was told is the best part of the hotel when in service. We got free breakfast, The buffet is very simple nothing special. The service at the restaurant and spa was great contrasting with the rest of the experience. Rafael was great taking care of us. At least we enjoyed a few things from the hotel. We paid way too much for what we got and came back home very tired and grateful to be back. We are not coming back or recommending the hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded 1 week ago
We would like to offer our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us, We are sorry that on this occasion you did not receive the service you were expecting from us. Your feedback will help us to review our procedures and ensure that the service we offer to our guests is impeccable and generates positive and unforgettable experiences. We remain at your disposal for any further comments and hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to offer you a pleasant stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emilio1108 wrote a review Oct 2022
San Diego, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a very disappointing hotel. I paid a lot more than most hotels in the area so I can have a nice room to enjoy my holiday, what I got was a dark hotel room without any windows whatsoever. I was shocked! I complained and had to choose between hating my vacation or paying an extra $80 USD for a regular room. I did spend the extra $80 for a regular room with way too much street noise.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: You are probably better off staying somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded 5 weeks ago
We would like to offer our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us, We are sorry that on this occasion you did not receive the service you were expecting from us. Your feedback will help us to review our procedures and ensure that the service we offer to our guests is impeccable and generates positive and unforgettable experiences. We remain at your disposal for any further comments and hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to offer you a pleasant stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carolina wrote a review Jun 2022
Miami, Florida7 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
A group of 10 of us stayed here. I cannot say enough about the attention to detail of their staff. It was a friend's 40th bday so we wanted to make it extra special. They assisted with transportation service to and from the airport, decorating the room in advance before our arrival, setting up reservations at restaurants and tours. The hotel is beautiful and conveniently located inside la ciudad amurallada. We had breakfast included every morning which was spectacular. Some of us took advantage of the gym and spa! The rooms are spacious and very clean. Monica at the concierge followed up with me through the day of arrival, she was so helpful! The only negative was that the pool was out of service as they are remodeling and we got the notification after we booked. We were looking forward to their rooftop. Besides that, we had an amazing time!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded Jun 17, 2022
Dear Ms. Carolina, thank you for letting us know your experience at the hotel and know that we exceeded your expectations in service. We apologize for the inconvenience you had in your last stay with the pool; we hope to receive you soon, so we can offer an excellent service from your arrival until the end of your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JRW7373 wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York40 contributions23 helpful votes
This is our third time at the Charleston, and everything is as good as it was years ago. The hotel is beautiful, the people are amazing, and so is the food. However, they missed out on such a standard opportunity to show excellent service that I'm not able to get over still. We were married at the Charleston 5 years ago and brought 55 guests with us to celebrate for multiple days. This year we went back for our 5 year anniversary, and were there the exact date. We made the hotel aware of the purpose of our trip as well. You would think after getting married there, giving lots of business, we'd at least have someone say Happy Anniversary to us.... nope. We weren't looking for anything free, but an acknowledgement that we held our wedding there and came back to celebrate seems like basic attention from an upscale hotel. It didn't change our overall experience, but it did leave a bad taste in my mouth.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded Jun 22, 2022
Good morning Mr. Jared Hoping that you are well, we were checking with the hotel's operational area, and a courtesy was given which was a trilogy of desserts accompanied by an anniversary note. We are sorry that your experience has not been to your full satisfaction, we have a shampoo and conditioner product, our daily goal is to be able to provide the best experience to each of our guests, we will work to strengthen your observations, we look forward to your soon visit. Thank you very much
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alicia F wrote a review May 2022
Babylon, New York13 contributions2 helpful votes
I cannot rave enough about Cartagena and this hotel. The hotel is really beautiful, clean, cannot beat the location, and the rooftop pool is even better in person than the pictures. We flew in from NY, two couples, and 2 of us spoke a little Spanish and was able to get by throughout the city. Everyone at the hotel spoke enough English to understand our requests and inquiries. I was even able to take out money thru my debit card in pesos for some quick cash without the hassle of going to a money exchange place. One note, we did get a balcony room that was pricier. We were barely in our hotel room as we were always out and about, but since the restaurant is in the center of the hotel the noise started at 6 am and was busy and loud till 12 am. It was hard to sleep in. I will 100% come back to this hotel, but would get a cheaper room with no balcony, didn't see the point of the cost. The foods is expensive at the hotel, it's good though. I definitely encourage you to go out into the city and eat at many of the restaurants. Much cheaper and the food at every place we ate at was AMAZING. I highly suggest Vieja de Guardia for lunch, Carmen for dinner, and Alquimico for drinks. We took the bikes from the hotel all over the city and explored, we rented a private boat (Botagena) and took it to the Rosario Islands. I think Cartagena probably still has a bad rap and is maybe "scary" to Americans. I felt extremely safe walking the streets at night and through out the day. People will try and sell you stuff non stop, you just say no gracias and they move on. I found everyone to be very welcoming and warm. Please visit this beautiful city! P.S. if traveling from the states, the hotel provided a Covid Antigen Test for $30 a person. They came right to your room. Go to the front desk to schedule.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded May 3, 2022
We are delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities and the warm hospitality that characterizes us. For us it was a real pleasure to have you in our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dmitriy P wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York84 contributions49 helpful votes
This was an amazing hotel experience for us. Location is spot in the center of walled city. You can walk to anything within 10-15 minutes. We took multiple walks to Getsemani from here and it only took 15 minutes. Cafe del Mar is about 5 min walk. Locals told us that this is perhaps the most beautiful hotel in Cartagena (or sharing that prize with Sofitel). The inside decor is very pretty with plenty of fresh flowers throughout the premises. We got a cheap room so it was a bit small with the windows facing the inside garden. We can't complain for the price we paid for a 5-star hotel. Staff was very accomodating. Their English was decent and they understood all of our requests well. There's a pharmacy store 20 meters away for any of your last minute needs such as sunscreen or headache medicine. Also, there's a rooftop swimming pool that has a beautiful view of the city around sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded May 3, 2022
We are happy to hear such positive comments like yours; thank you for sharing them so that more and new travelers can get to know us and choose us. It has been a pleasure to have you in our Hotel. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David R wrote a review Mar 2022
28 contributions8 helpful votes
Absolutely beautiful hotel ! Sadly I found that the extra services lacked communication skills not only Engliah but also Spanish. No soap in my room, front desk clerk ans even manager could not find soap for over an hour. Breakfast I pre paid and you can have all your heart desires except for bacon which whole is a rediculous Charge. A couple other things they try and charge you for so the hotel makes extra money. Otherwise beautiful hotel in a great location. Also great bed and sheets.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t expect anything you order to be right the first time
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Maria Tello, General Manager at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Responded Mar 24, 2022
We regret that your experience was not to your total satisfaction, our daily goal is to provide the best experience to each of our guests, we will work to strengthen your comments, we look forward to your next visit. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikki S wrote a review Mar 2022
Sydney, Australia1 contribution4 helpful votes
I so wanted to give this place a good review as it IS a beautiful historic building with a gorgeous rooftop pool, however, I am appalled at the service (amongst many other reasons) which I will describe below. My fiancé and I booked a deluxe king room for three nights. The wifi did not work in the room (it would around one out of every 10 tries in a day), even after multiple people coming over following days fix it. It was constantly roulette on if we could do a business zoom call, or if it would cut in the middle. Construction was a constant (from same floor as us and above) so regardless of wifi working or not – every day there was loud banging. Beware as rooms facing the square have live music at night, making it nearly impossible to sleep, even with earplugs. We asked to change and they didn’t come back to us until 9.30pm with a phone call – quite a strange time to let us know we could move. Service is not attentive - literally had to get up from breakfast and walk over to staff to ask them to come to us to take our orders and bring the bills on multiple occasions. Very few staff members speak English, so getting your order correctly and in a timely fashion were very rare. All in all, this would have deserved a 3/5 rating. However, what happened when we left is shocking and I truly have no understanding for how a hotel of this caliber acted as they did. The worst surprise came at the end when we wanted to check out and were told by Gloria Alvarez, who claimed to be the manager that we had broken the in-room iPad and we needed to pay them USD400 to replace it. Sidenote: we are not the first to have experienced the inhospitable Ms Alvarez. We found this (translated) mention of her on the Spanish trip advisor “she honestly should not dedicate herself to the hotel industry with that attitude”. We can only confirm this notion. https://www.tripadvisor.com.ve/ShowUserReviews-g297476-d301962-r823328277-Hotel_Charleston_Santa_Teresa-Cartagena_Cartagena_District_Bolivar_Department.html?m=19905 We denied damaging the iPad as we hadn't used it during our stay. There was no reasoning or understanding from her. The ipad (model A1395) was old and had various scratch marks from years of usage and a small crack in the bottom left corner of the screen about the size of a dime, otherwise it was fully functional. Ms Alvarez kept insisting that we pay $400 to replace it and wouldn’t our return luggage, which was in storage as we wanted to eat lunch at the pool. We requested to see a bill/ receipt for where the money was going, or where in the hotel fine print it says that a broken screen results in a new ipad, neither of which she could not provide. We proposed paying for the replacement of that model which was offered at $50 online as it is from 2014, or pay for the screen repair (having found a place that does it for $75 locally) - no longer wanting to put up with Ms Alvarez’s hostility. She insisted on $400 and threatened to call the police if we didn’t pay. We had heard of these kinds of schemes happening in some countries where hotels or vendors make outrageous claims on money owed and then extort the payments by threatening to call the police who are in on the scheme. NEVER had we expected this in a hotel that apparently has 5 stars. Our Spanish isn't fluent enough to confidently resolve such a situation with the police and we were scared this is some scam. We asked her to show us online that that was the price of the ipad in Colombia. She left us waiting for a long time holding on to my credit card and our luggage. Finally she came back showing us online a state of the art ipad that not only had cellular (more expensive than wifi only as the A1395 model we apparently damaged has) and with 4x the storage 64GB (vs the 16GB of the A1395 model). We tried to reason with her that it was not a comparable model. When I asked her to repeat her justification for the $400 to me so that I could voice record it for our safety, she stormed off and said she had had enough and was calling the police. This was absolutely crazy because even though we had not damaged the ipad we had offered to pay but were trying to get to a justifiable price. We were really freaked out and offered to pay what they wanted just to get out of there as quickly as possible. Yet she left us hanging for an agonizing 10 minutes thinking the police could come any moment until she finally came out of her office and said she was giving us a discount and we should pay USD180. I paid and we got out of there as quickly as we could. Very strange that they suddenly reduced the price, maybe that's a sign that it was a fraud from the start. If I broke something in a hotel, I would pay upfront, immediately. However, to be accused of something we didn’t do, then threatened with the police, on top of already bad service and hotel that was loud, I am appalled. Long story short: avoid at all cost. So many other great options in Cartagena with better trained staff and without being ripped off/extorted/scammed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$261 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
charleston hotel cartagena, hotel santa teresa cartagena, santa teresa cartagena
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
LOCATION
ColombiaBolivar DepartmentCartagena DistrictCartagena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHARLESTON SANTA TERESA CARTAGENA - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Colombia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena
Which popular attractions are close to Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Nearby attractions include Pink Dolphin Gastrobar (0.2 miles), Hi Cartagena (0.1 miles), and Centro Historico (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Arsenal: The Rum Box, El Burlador Gastrobar, and Buena Vida Marisqueria y Rooftop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena have airport transportation?
Yes, Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Walled City of Cartagena (0.7 miles), Centro Historico (0.2 miles), and Sanctuary of Saint Peter Claver (0.1 miles).