We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hostel Mamallena

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostel Mamallena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 318: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I've been to medialuna and el viajero hostel and mamallena is by far the best. Full of cool people who are open and fun to meet, good quality/price, a bar right next to it and the staff is extremly helpful and friendly! Great pancakes for breakfast!!

Helpful?
Thank Constanza R
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A good combo of party and chill. We found the noise didn't bother us at all as the courtyard closes at midnight but the bar is open till 3am so there's always a spot to drink and have fun. Private room had everything we needed, plus great wifi and air con! Would definitely go again and recommended to anyone whether... More 

Helpful?
Thank molroseadventures
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is definitely a young crowd party hostel- we felt old and we are 29/33. The rooms were nice and clean and cool. Is a nice Hostel with good vibes and The staff was absolutely wonderful and very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank heliosimons
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This was the first hostel I landed in on the start of a 5 month travel. It was my first time traveling on my own so I was kind of daunting, after a few hours these feelings were forgotten about. Very easy going "semi party hostel" great place to make friends.

Helpful?
Thank keeffey
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We didn't actually stay at Mamallena but were in the predicament of having checked out of our AirBnb with nowhere to leave our luggage before our 8pm boat. We emailed Mamallena and the manager very kindly said we could keep our bags there for a few hours. We sat in the courtyard and had a few beers and it had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carriemybags
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

We're nice like that, most of the time :) I do have to mention that you bought up one of the problems with regards to Airbnb, next time stay with us and dont have to worry about where to leave your bags! More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved this Hostel! The owner is super helpful, friendly and welcoming. Having stayed at multiple hostels in Cartagena, I would 100% reccomend Mamallena to anyone. It is located in a great area, which was great for exploring the city.

Helpful?
Thank Carlo M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Despite the owner being helpful and friendly, this hostel did very much disappoint. We may have just visited on an unlucky week however, on one of our nights a stranger from the street strolled in and went into every room on the top floor of the hostel stealing two phones. Seeing as there are no wristbands the man easily strolled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tash A
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Its a shame to get a review like this. These girls stayed with us for 5 days, and I thought we had a pretty good rapport. We spoke quite a few times and they had a great stay, as evidenced by the very late nights and later afternoons they had! There was an unfortunate incident where someone did enter the... More 

Salzburg Region, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we booked a 5 days sailing trip from colombia to panama to visit the san blas islands. It was an amazing trip, the best food I had on my 3 months travel trip through south america so far and just an awesome group! We were 12 passengers and 3 crew people. Started in cartagena (colombia) in the morning and arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephey95
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is not for light sleepers due mostly to the nearby bars. If you get the dorm next to the street, prepare for one of the louder nights you'll experience in a hostel. On the other hand, I was so tired at the end of the day that I somehow managed to sleep OK. Overall, the place is fine.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ExtraUnderwear
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived here after getting in on the boat from Panama, and despite having very little space left the owner shuffled things around for us and gave us dorm prices for sharing a private room. The aircon was excellent and very needed in Cartagena, and the courtyard is always full of people to talk to. Good free breakfast with extras... More 

Helpful?
Thank LucyQA
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
15.8 mi away
Mucura Club Hotel
Mucura Club Hotel
#2 of 2 in Isla Mucura
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
7.2 mi away
Decameron Isla Palma
Decameron Isla Palma
#1 of 1 in Isla Palma
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
45.8 mi away
Hotel la Magdalena
Hotel la Magdalena
#78 of 143 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#98 of 143 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
46.1 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Address: Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: $24 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay