We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

The hostel was very nice and the staff was very helpful but a little curt. I read a review on here that said you have to change your own sheets and bring your own towel but I did not have that experience. The rooms were very clean and the sheets and towels were provided. I stayed in room 25 and,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katrinab172
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento. Yes the bar closes at 11:30pm, and we give towels in private rooms.

Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Right off the start, the staff was pretty indifferent, but we did not think much of it. There was a lot going on because we got in around noon. Unfortunately, we did not see the place before paying for 1 night. We took for granted the high reviews the hostel got on hostelworld.com. We were able to go to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ManvsFoodnTravel
Lugoco2, Propietario at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry about that....I will speak with Alvaro to make the corrections necessary.

Paris
Reviewed June 30, 2016

Samira at the hostel reception is everything but polite and welcoming (doesn't say hello, doesn't smile, doesn't show interest to help you with anything). They overbooked our room so We were kicked out in the middle of the night at 2am even though we had ALREADY PAID for everything, breakfast is a joke (only time we had juice in pouder...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank angie_vaultier
Lugoco2, Propietario at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Really sorry about your experience, I will personally speak with Samira to make the corrections necesary. We save your beds until midnight, but if you arrive at 2am its not possible. Other thing we DONT have a restaurant so I dont know what you are talking about the Nachos, we dont sell nachos or even have a restaurant. Anyways I...

Los Angeles
Reviewed June 28, 2016

I stayed there for three nights. Felt safe and comfortable. Great bar and social atmosphere. Good affordable tour options as well. The rooms get hot however and they don't run the AC all the time unless you ask them to. I recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank heymisscici
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed June 23, 2016

All the staff were wonderful. They were eager to help with anything and made the stay enjoyable. Cleaning staff regularly cleaned the rooms. The atmosphere was great. I definitely recommend it to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pia V
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Cuernavaca, Mexico
Reviewed June 22, 2016

the staff is so kind, and the place is safety to walk around. If you walk down the street at the end of the street your gonna find a little bar at the corner jajajaja Ve a ese bar! Queda todo muy cerca de ahí para hacer el tour caminando.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fraroco
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Cartagena
Reviewed June 12, 2016

I had high hopes for this hostel because it's so well reviewed online, but found the accommodations very basic and unimpressive. You have to put your own sheets on the bed, no towels given, and clean your own shower..the breakfast is just corn flakes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank canadianchick991
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed June 5, 2016

El Viajero is a great place to stay in Cartagena! The walls are covered in fun paintings and there is plenty of common space (although all of it is outside, so it's hard to socialize in the rain) to meet the other travelers. This hostel seems to attract a great collection of people - some who go out every night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samicart
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review! We´re glad your stay at El Viajero was enjoyable. We hope to have you again at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed June 3, 2016

It was a nice place. Very well located. But it was not clean enough. Staff was nice. It is a kind of party hostel.There is a bar inside opened oil midnight. Who has a room close to the bar will have a hard time to sleep if he/she does not to party.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alefilosofia
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. Yes the bar is open until 11:30 so people can sleep. Regards an do hope to see you back soon.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed June 2, 2016

I have spent an amazing week at this hostel. The personal was nice and helpful. At night we had great parties at the bar with friendly and cool peple from everywhere. Im very happy that I have decided to stay at this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiklosFodor
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review! We´re glad your stay at El Viajero was enjoyable. We hope to have you again at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

403 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (188)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Double Suite (16)
Viewed
Private Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Shared Dorm 6 Beds (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#58 of 148 in Cartagena
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#4 of 160 in Cartagena
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#2 of 160 in Cartagena
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.1 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#3 of 160 in Cartagena
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#12 of 160 in Cartagena
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
#10 of 160 in Cartagena
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located inside the famous Cartagena's old walled city and only a few blocks away from the well known Fernandez de La Madrid Square and from the main attractions of Cartagena de Indias. Surrounded of Museums, Squares, Artisan, Bars, Coffee Shops, Restaurants and it’s nightlife! We offer you the best service in the best location. We are the only hostel in Cartagena with breakfast included in the rate and the only one with air conditioning in all the rooms. In a Spanish colonial house style, just as all the old walled city, we have everything you need: shared and private rooms, kitchen, common areas with TV & DVD, internet area and free WI-FI all day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Address: Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena 130018, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: $18 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from El Viajero Cartagena Hostel staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from El Viajero Cartagena Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“AC in the rooms and super friendly reception staff”
 of 5 bubbles billyreed88, Feb 7, 2017 | Read review
“Prefer rooms near the entrance since they are far from the bar area, thus quieter...”
 of 5 bubbles leom761, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“Away from the courtyard if you are looking for quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles carmencQ7896AF, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“Bring a surge protector if you have a lot of digital equipment, the rooms only have 1 or 2 plugs. Also their safes are very small and probably can't fit your laptop / ipad. ”
 of 5 bubbles YoavE, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“Happy travels!”
 of 5 bubbles jcdperez, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question