We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 333: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hostel is clean, and has a great courtyard/gathering place for meeting other travellers. good atmosphere in this hotel. not so far of the main place of Cartagena. Reception and service were really good also.

Helpful?
Thank David G
Lagoa Santa, Brasil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hostel is really well located. The room is big, clean and the air conditioning works perfectly. There are lots of showers and toilets and the cleaning is ok. The strong point is the bar, it is really easy to meet people. I had a good experience. The only thing that can be improved is the breakfast, it is really... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karynav494
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento. More 

Santa marta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed there for 3 weeks, the hostel Is on of the best ive been to. Just no pool but showers outsite to cool down. Beds are okay, AC works fine, stuff is friendly and helps out with any kind of problems. Cheers and enjoy

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Olaf S
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento. More 

Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place is awesome. Convenient location and the staff is very friendly. I have 2 dogs at home and i was terrible missing them, so having the stray dog that always stays at the door was really nice, in fact, she should be inside as an official Hostels pet.... La viajera

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cecilia H
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as we arrived we were told that even though we made the reservation months ago they don't have room for us in the main facility and we have to move to another location a block away. The other location is very similar in quality but we wanted to be where all the other travelers were, the reason we... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yoav E
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and offers many different good tours. Probably one of the best hostels I stayed at the whole trip. Would highly recommend to others to stay. Complimentary breakfast and bar with awesome/cheap drinks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kgonzalez2011
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento. More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I forgot my towel behind and after trying to call (they hung up), email (no reply) and sending my friend who was there, the towel disappeared (it was just a Brasil flag one was given as a gift). The staff is also rude/not-friendly.

Helpful?
Thank hhifnawi .
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry about your towel. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a clean, comfortable and basic hostel that is OK but you can get much better value for money at other places such as Mamallena where you can bring your own alcohol and enjoy drinks with friends. We stayed in a dormitory at first where they turn off the a/c between 11am and 6pm in a city that gets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chompson
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you didnt like our hostel. But its true you, we have our own bar, so you cant bring your own alcohol. More 

Manizales, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty, noisy, and very average. I do not recomend going to this place its terrible. They are over priced and over rated. you're better somewhere else. I stayed 3 nights and in a twin room which was actually in another house down the road from the hosted. Very underwelming...

Helpful?
Thank maurohilton
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel was super fun with a good location and I met a ton of nice people the second i walked in the door! It wasn't the party hostel I was looking for, but they do organize games like beer pong. There's a really cool outdoor seating area with hammocks and they also provide free breakfast in the morning. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

226 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (151)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 143 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#50 of 143 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
46.1 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#1 of 124 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#3 of 124 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Media Luna Hostel
Media Luna Hostel
#18 of 124 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#10 of 124 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located inside the famous Cartagena's old walled city and only a few blocks away from the well known Fernandez de La Madrid Square and from the main attractions of Cartagena de Indias. Surrounded of Museums, Squares, Artisan, Bars, Coffee Shops, Restaurants and it’s nightlife! We offer you the best service in the best location. We are the only hostel in Cartagena with breakfast included in the rate and the only one with air conditioning in all the rooms. In a Spanish colonial house style, just as all the old walled city, we have everything you need: shared and private rooms, kitchen, common areas with TV & DVD, internet area and free WI-FI all day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Address: Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena 130018, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: $28 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay