We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Viajero Hostel Cali

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Viajero Hostel Cali
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Start your review of El Viajero Hostel Cali
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an amazing stay in El Viajero. Free salsa classes every day, free yoga, great pool and kitchen. Staff were so nice and helpful. Located in a nice safe area 5 mins walk to the centre. Really recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George D
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Thank you for your message George! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay in El Viajero Cali was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Bogota
Reviewed 1 week ago

El viajero is located in San Antonio, the nicest area of Cali, with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Staff are very friendly , they know what is going on in Cali. They recomended us a great restaurant, El Bochinche.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank germanaugusto
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment German. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero Cali was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel has the worst customer service! I regret every second I spent there and I do not recommend this place at all!! We almost got robbed just in the front door and the receptionist that barely speaks English didn't let us in, he literally closed the door in my face while I was outside with a friend trying to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david A
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Sorry David, but you can not come in our hostel at 3:00 am drunk and high, screaming. Obviously our receptionist got scared and thought YOU where trying to rob the hostel. This was a very unfortunate misundertanding and we apologize about it, but just put in the shoes of our receptionist and maybe you can understand better. Also, you had...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

LOVE LOVE LOVE this hostel. I don't usually write reviews but this place has to be raved about. A friend recommended it to me and I'm so glad he did. It has such a great atmosphere. A beautiful pool, nice bar area where you have a free breakfast in the morning and drinks throughout the day and evening. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristina N
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment Cristina. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero Cali was great. We hope to see back you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento. Have a safe trip back home, and come back any time.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've been around in the hostel for two weeks. Not really my style to stay that long in a place, but i felt really at home. Good breakfast, great ambience, the pool and very good salsa teachers (especially Victor and Jenny). Very attentive and helpful people at the reception (my favorites Danilo and Sebastian as they are both so sweet!!!)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manon S
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your message Manon! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay in Cali was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento. Have a safe trip.

Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Very nice hostel! Nice facilities (bar, pool, kitchen), located in a good place, staff is helpful and nice. Offering salsa lessons and Spanish lessons. Highly recommended, I would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay in El Viajero Cali was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed January 26, 2017

i had such a cool time in this hostel, the stuff is very great and helpful and the property is awesome, with pool, kitchen, clean showers and ok rooms :) the only sad thing was, that because of the neighbors they had to close down the back area with bar and everything around 12 o clock, but that when everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank felischroeder
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay in Cali was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

Didn't stay here too long. Not much space in the rooms. Not comfortable. They give you sheets that don't fit the bed so you are rolling about plastic all night. They have a door bell that rings through the full place all throughout the night. Staff are friendly and it's cheap. They do salsa classes but didn't go. Wifi is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joe b
Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile

As a regular backpacker I sometimes show up to a hostel without a reservation just checking beforehand they have availability (I know it saves them money). So I did, but when I came to the reception they told me they were full and that they wouldn't have a place for me at least 1 month. I double asked them and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diego R
Lugoco2, Propietario at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Sorry Diego, but we dont recieve walk-ins late at night for security reasons. Only reservations. If you are en expert backpacker and if you want to save money for the hostels then simply make the reservation on their web page.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017

We stayed here for two nights in a double room with a shared bathroom. The location was okay with a few cheap, tasty restaurants and cafes very close, but we heard a lot of people staying at the hostel had got robbed in the area so I didn't feel comfortable exploring the area. Tip: The ATM was not easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherNolan1
Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Hostel Cali, responded to this review

Thank you for your message Heather! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#26 of 87 in Cali
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Colombian Home Hostel Cali
0.3 mi away
Hostal Encuentro
Hostal Encuentro
#1 of 118 in Cali
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sucursal Hostel
La Sucursal Hostel
#3 of 118 in Cali
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the historical neighborhood of San Antonio, we are the only Hostel in Cali with BREAKFAST INCLUDED, FREE SALSA CLASSES everyday, SWIMMING POOL & BAR. This is a iconic hostel focusing on sustainability and giving back to the social community by partnerships with local NGO´s.Our chain of hostels is ranked the best in South America. We are in the best parts of Colombia (San Andres & Cartagena), Uruguay, and Paraguay. We are sustainably responsible in that our decorations are made out of recycled materials, our hot-water system runs on solar energy power, re-use rainwater, and recycle our trash.We offer FREE SALSA CLASSES everyday in our dance-room! We also offer private lessons.We have private rooms with bathroom, and a Movie Theater room showing both movies and documentaries weekly.We also have a 6x9m STAGE placed next to the bar where twice a week we have free CIRCUS SHOWS performed by the Circo Para Todos NGO. Check-in time : 14:00.Check-out time : 11:00.Breakfast includedTaxes included.Only over 18. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Viajero Hostel Cali

Address: Carrera 5 N4-56 | Barrio San Antonio, Cali, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Price Range: $10 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Viajero Hostel Cali 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your El Viajero Hostel Cali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from El Viajero Hostel Cali staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from El Viajero Hostel Cali staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the rooms near the bar have music until 11:00 pm”
 of 5 bubbles germanaugusto, 1 week ago | Read review
“the biggest one :) you get to know most people and its still quiet”
 of 5 bubbles felischroeder, Jan 26, 2017 | Read review
“I liked the female room!”
 of 5 bubbles AJC842, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“The more people, the cheaper it is.”
 of 5 bubbles Luis_Alejandro_Mejia, Apr 9, 2016 | Read review
“Privates are great. The dorms are pretty good too. No noise after midnight.”
 of 5 bubbles 435peterw, Mar 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question