We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Hotel, Xiamen

Visit hotel website
Traveler (720)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (26)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shangri-La Hotel, Xiamen is located in Guanyinshan International Business Center, a prestigious venue in the vibrant business hub of Siming District. As it faces the Taiwan Strait, it has a spectacular sea view and walking distance to the Guanyinshan Fancy Beach. The hotel is 11 km away from Xiamen Gaoqi International Airport and 3 km away from Xiamen Conference & Exhibition Center where will ho
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
961Reviews
760Photos
1Q+A
14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 922
  • 23
  • 3
  • 9
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Let me start with the positives: they first assigned me a room without a bed and to make up for it, they gave me a room with a seaview. Brownie Points. The view is great and it's close to the beach. Negatives: if you're staying at this hotel on business with breakfast included,
Read more
Response from ItMattersToMe2, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xiamen
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest (Candice d), Thank you for your feedback and I read with concern the overall experience you had in our Hotel. I sincerely apologize you did not get the breakfast experience we are renowned for. I have investigated the matter with all our team members and please allow me to elaborate further. Takeaway breakfast box can be arranged. Hot food on the other hand is strongly discouraged due to food safety, freshness as it has to be consumed within a specific period and hygiene purposes however if our valued guests would still like to have hot food as a takeaway owing to time, etc it can certainly be arranged; our guests would just need to sign a disclaimer for the items to be taken away; after all, breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Alternatively you can also inform us in advance to have the breakfast box as a takeaway at a specific time according to your convenience, we would certainly be happy to prepare for you. Regarding the interaction incident you had with our colleague, I truly regret the manner in which the situation was handled and it was very careless on our part. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and we will certainly provide more training to our colleagues to be more service oriented. This is just an isolated case and I do hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate to you the true Shangri-La Hospitality we are renowned for. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Richard.hng@shangri-la.com if I can be of any other assistance to you and I look forward to welcoming you back Home again. Best regards, Richard Hng
Read more
Although the staff is friendly they are completely incompetent and do do not live up to the standard of the brand. For a luxury brand this property and its staff staff doesn't live up to the hype. Here are the problems with the hotel. 1. The staff doesn't speak English. This
Read more
Response from ItMattersToMe2, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xiamen
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Brandon, Thank you for highlighting and sharing your comments during your recent stay with us and I read with great concern we were not able to provide you with the renowned Shangri-La service you come to expect. I sincerely apologize for the shortfalls you experienced here recently and have taken these comments very seriously. I have investigated the points you mentioned with all relevant departments and please do allow me to share my findings with you :- English speaking staff - we spoke to the specific staff at all the touchpoint areas you mentioned and will certainly make improvements in specific areas like Housekeeping. I am pleased to inform you we are starting our English language classes again with all colleagues at their various proficiency levels. Delivery of Wine and Wine Glasses - we fell short on this point and will conduct more trainings to all our team members on the Standard Operating Procedure to ensure we improve moving forward. Weak Internet - we are very pleased to inform you the WIFI signal in your room is strong. There are several websites that are forbidden in China and as a result, the quality of signal could be compromised even with the use of VPN by our guests. Please do advise which sites you had difficulty in dialling in so that we can make advance tests for you in future. Of Cups & Glasses, removal of Sugar Containers and Used Plates - we will certainly conduct more trainings to our new colleagues to ensure the basic Standard Operating Procedures are being adhered to and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Deactivation of Room Key - we fell short in this instance as we extended your room for late check-out but our staff forgot to change or reactivate your room key card. Umbrellas - we do have umbrellas in all guest rooms and additional units are also available at Concierge; we will train our team to be more pro-active and anticipate our valued guests needs and reach out to our guests in future especially during inclement weather. Hotel Location - Guanyinshan Area has its own unique charm and attractions and provides an additional choice for our discerning guests. As Xiamen is a small island, our guests can still visit the popular attractions all within half an hour's drive away. Guanyin Shan provides a haven for those who seek to get away from the maddening weekend crowd in the City with a pristine beach and an outdoor theme park, restaurants and shopping malls close by, Huli Fort, Jinmen Island, Yacht Club, sailing in Wuyuan Bay to name a few. Additionally, this location is closest to both Jimei and Xiang'an Bridge where our guests can take advantage to visit the other attractions outside the island. Design of the Hotel - Our Hotel is of contemporary classic by design with unique concepts in both the restaurants and recreational facilities. I have taken note of your comment and your preference and thank you for your feedback. Welcome Fruit Amenity - A fruit platter is provided to all our valued customers and we are most happy to replenish the fruit as per your request. Health Club and Kids Club - we clearly fell short on this one as it is our standard to provide a towel for each registered guest and additional towels are provided upon request. We will train our Staff to be more customer focused and allow them to visit the NX Gym and Spa when they are accompanied by an adult instead of informing them they are confined to just the Kids Club area as mentioned. I really appreciate all your comments as it gives us the opportunity to further improve on the shortfall areas. I can only ask you to indulge in us on this occasion and do hope we can delight you and your family once again by demonstrating to you the true Shangri-La hospitality we are renowned for. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Richard.hng@shangri-la.com at any time. Best regards, Richard Hng
Read more
+1
We had a fantastic few days here, thankfully we booked a room with a sea view. By China standards, this was great. Buffet breakfast had a wide variety of choices. Disappointing that the club lounge was not always open (maintenance), but it did serve a light buffet in the
Read more
Response from ItMattersToMe2, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xiamen
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest (Chris P), Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad you had a wonderful stay experience with us. I apologize the Club Lounge was not available for breakfast during your stay here as we had to do a much needed maintenance and can only be done overnight. As for the swimming caps, this is required by law in China as part of the Hygiene requirement. We do provide swimming caps on a first come first serve basis. Please do provide us with your personal details and I will have this information updated in the system so that on your next visit back to our Hotel, we will have a swimming cap on standby for you. I look forward to welcome you back Home and in the interim if I can be of any other assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at Richard.hng@shangri-la.com. Best regards, Richard Hng
Read more
The Shangri-La is located in the city about 20 minutes from the airport. This is a international hotel, so you will have some problems finding someone to speak english at the front desk and restaurant, I have not met a maid that speaks english yet. We checked in at night this
Read more
Response from ItMattersToMe2, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xiamen
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest (2beachbums79), Thank you for sharing your comments with us and I appreciate your feedback. We have taken note of the language barrier you encountered at both Front Desk and also at our Restaurant and will review with all our relevant departments again to review their language skills and organize English language classes accordingly. The mini bar is kept empty however we do have a mini bar list and our valued guests can just place the orders via our Service Centre which is available 24/7. We would be delighted to stock up your fridge on your next visit. Please do provide us with your contact details and we will update in our Guests Profile; if there is a particular item you would like to have in the Mini Bar, please also do let us know. There is a well-worth surcharge for an upgrade to the Horizon Club Room where our guests can enjoy an exclusive area for breakfast, coffee/tea served throughout the day and our renowned Happy Hour with a magnificent view overlooking the Taiwan Straits. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to you and once again, thank you for your comments and continuous support. Look forward to welcoming you back Home again! Best regards, Richard Hng
Read more
+1
Was here for a business conference, and the location is within CBD area. Buffet break at the cafe has a huge selection. The room is nice and big, and it is a relatively new hotel facing the coastal line of Xiamen.
Read more
Response from ItMattersToMe2, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xiamen
Responded Feb 5, 2019
Dear Valued Guest (quedos), Many thanks for taking the time to share with us your overall experience in our Hotel during your recent event at our property and I am glad to know that you had a wonderful and memorable time with us. I appreciate your kind support and look forward to have you back with us again in the near future. Best regards, Richard Hng
Read more
Previous
1234569
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Center & Event Rooms
View of oceanfront and amusement park.
PreviousNext
1234567
Dear Valued Guest (Anshu V), Many thanks for your query. We do have vegetarian options in the Hotel and we can tailormade menu for you depending on your dietary requirements. I look forward to welcome you to Xiamen. Best regards, Richard
0 votes
"ask for a ocean view room"
"All rooms are good, maybe can ask and compare different types of rooms that suites your needs."
"Horizon Club sea view rooms"
"A high floor with a corner room."
"Ask for rooms with sea view."
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChinaFujianXiamen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
325
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing