We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Akwa Palace

Save
Traveler (113)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (14)
Overview
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good39%
  • Average30%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“akwa palace”(20 reviews)
“swimming pool”(7 reviews)
“new building”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Akwa Palace
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
8
34
30
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
8
34
30
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsakwa palaceswimming poolnew buildingrooms are spaciousroom servicecarpetingsafety
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 99 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2014

Well, this is my first time in West Africa, so I was expecting 4 stars as 4 stars.... Mhhhh, where to start, I spent 5 night there in a room facing the road, (ask a room facing the garden). The room smelled humid and mold...More

Thank ricky v
Response from Gerard_Schraven, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa PalaceResponded November 22, 2014

Dear Ricky V, Thank you for posting a comment on your stay at Hotel Akwa Palace on Tripadvisor! I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay; I understand that being stuck in the elevator is not pleasant at all and was...More

Reviewed October 23, 2014

Hotel Akwaa Palace is a very nice hotel in the hear of Douala, its almost about 25minutes drive from the Airport. Douala being the kind of place it is with less security, you have to be very careful as a stranger. But the hotel provide...More

1  Thank Deola O
Response from Gerard_Schraven, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa PalaceResponded November 22, 2014

Dear Deola O, Thank you very much for leaving your comment on your last stay at Hotel Akwa Palace on Tripadvisor. I am happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I understand very well your concerns on security in Douala...More

Reviewed September 25, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the Akwa palace for business, I can only recommend it! Room was big and clean, staff was very helpfull, poolbar is very nice, internet was working well in the lobby. Also it is very well located and there is a nice...More

Thank Christophe79
Response from Gerard_Schraven, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa PalaceResponded September 29, 2014

Dear Christophe79, Thank you very much for leaving a comment on your recent stay at Hotel Akwa Palace on Tripadvisor! We are happy to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and we have shared your valuable comments with our dedicated staff...More

Reviewed September 23, 2014

I spent there three nights attending a conference. The conference rooms are good. My hotel room however was clean but relatively old. I would assume it had not really been renovated during the last 20 years. Air-condition did work, but temperature was not adjustable. Worst...More

1  Thank dk_rd69
Response from Gerard_Schraven, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa PalaceResponded September 27, 2014

Dear dk_rd69, Thank you for staying with us during your last stay in Douala and for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor, which is much appreciated. A number of our rooms are indeed going to be renovated in a not too distant future since...More

Reviewed August 31, 2014

It was my second stay at the Akwa Palace and i got a new refurbished room. Nicely located, great food experience, nice new shower but lacked hot water. The hotels location is also great and the airport shuttle service greatly appreciated. Friendly staff and management...More

Thank Frederic V
Response from Gerard_Schraven, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa PalaceResponded September 27, 2014

Dear Frederic, Thank you very much for the positive comments you have posted on Tripadvisor on your last visit, which is much appreciated. The management and staff of Hotel Akwa Palace are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your second stay with us, and...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Douala, Cameroon
See all 32 hotels in DoualaSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Business Center with Internet Access
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
$131 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$131 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (113)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (14)
Pool & Beach (11)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hotel Akwa Palace staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"great Breakfast, pool side restaurant is awesome! recommend mosquito spray & lit candles"
Read review
"Hotel is situated along the street, better to chose rooms facing inside square/pool"
Read review
"Choose Back rooms pool view"
Read review
"Nearer the lift the better. Can be confusing to navigate from one section to another"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing