We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center

Save
Share
453 Psa Ney, Siem Reap 12000 Cambodia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (50)
Dining (33)
View from Room (1)

About

#83 of 406 Specialty lodging in Siem Reap
With comfortable lodging, balanced and health-oriented meals, yoga and meditation sessions coached by renown specialists and local monks, Blue indigo Cottage is a full-service retreat center that provides a unique environment for a deep, undisturbed, and undistracted spiritual exploration.
Read more

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 miles
0Attractionswithin 0 miles
Contact
453 Psa Ney, Siem Reap 12000 Cambodia
Getting there
Siem Reap Airport3 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
56Reviews3Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 5
  • 6
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Filops wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
I just had a great time during 1 month. I loved the place, the people, the food, the course and its outcome. I feel really great and knowleageable. I feel lucky to get this teachers as they give 100% ! It was an amazing physical, mental and spiritual experience ! Great human adventure :)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Julien H wrote a review Feb 2020
Toulouse, France19 contributions11 helpful votes
Its not a hotel and not really a retreat as people come and go rather than arriving together and having common activities for a set period. There is yoga but the teachers we had we not certified although some classes were ok ( Marco,Ella,Nina).There were no actual yin classes since no teachers had been trained and knew what yin yoga is. With a lot of background noise from surrounding houses quiet classes e.g meditation were unsuccessful. The food is good,vegan in fact,although asking for more coffee brought a sharp refusal from the douer grey haired french lady who was there in the mornings. The most unacceptable aspect is their policy of locking the doors at 10.00pm after which nobody can get in or leave. This is not safe. The lights are also reduced to a minimum. Its difficult to understand why there is not a security guard instead. We would however,in spite of these comments happily return if NIna was the manager in charge since she already does so much of the work but appears not to have any authority over the management of the center.She is also a great Aerial Yoga teacher.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Koyama2019, The whole Blue Indigo Team at Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Hi Julian and Mavi, Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with us, we are sorry that you had such a poor overall experience. We would have hoped to have this discussion while you were with us vs. an electronic dialogue. We do our best to satisfy our diverse guests so that their journey with us is affordable, choosing to have at least 4 resident qualified teachers to make the yoga learning experience as rich as possible. Offering multiple styles also helps to choose a favorite practice and promotes self-development. We take everyone’s opinion seriously when it can help provide a better holistic experience to yoga practitioners from any horizons and practice levels. You can understand that it is sometimes difficult to make everyone totally satisfied, but rest assured we do our best, keeping in mind yogic and humanistic values. Yes, we lack the control over mosquitos, or if the neighbor decides to use his drill or if a dog barks at night. As a yoga school we offer accommodation and 2 meals with daily yoga classes, while also being flexible with guest's dates and the length of the stay. Some guests stay 3 days, some stay for months and along the way some develop a connection with their teachers so that their practice improves incrementally. Nothing makes us happier than seeing guests achieving the essence of Yoga and reaching inner balance and happiness, and come back year after year to strengthen their practice, mind and body. For those with a stronger commitment to self-development or with career goals, we offer month-long Teacher Training courses, and weekly workshops, as we are a certified school with Yoga Alliance International only hiring equal certified and qualified teachers. Until now we only had compliments about them. However, if you personally didn't connect or enjoyed the teaching style kindly note that it doesn't mean that they are not certified. If that is of importance to you we will be glad to share their certificate, although a discussion with the teachers would have avoided your disappointment and allowed them to tailor their classes to get closer to your expectations. The participant keep the freedom to do what they want during their free time, in the evenings we enforce a 10pm shutdown as a form of respect, for a restful sleep, especially in dorms, and for an early wake up for the first yoga class. This is a very secure location, we are surrounded by a police station, fire department, many 24/7 clinics and the neighbors, and the whole team lives onsite so we are alert and available 24/7. About coffee, we love it as much as you do, and just recently started to provide one or 2 cup per guest. We usually run out and there are many coffee shops around the corner where guests enjoy coffee specialties. It is known that coffee in excess agitates the mind (according to Ayurvedic medicine and common sense) and may disrupt the meditation classes following breakfast. Keeping in mind your comments, we wish you a better experience next time. Jean, Nina, Mithia, Kan, Mai, Geaw, Ella, Asma, Marco, Patrick, Skaline, Van,Shiva, Michelle and the cats. The Blue Indigo Team
Read more
fw12015 wrote a review Jan 2020
Wiesbaden, Germany143 contributions65 helpful votes
I just returned from an amazing 2-week yoga retreat at Blue Indigo. The moment you set foot on the premises, you feel at home and part of a big family. The place shows so much love for details and the whole Blue Indigo team does everything to make your stay unforgettable. You can see and feel the passion of the whole team each and every day. Big, big thanks also to Shiva and Michelle who teach most of the classes every day at the moment. You guys are amazing!!! Thanks to all of you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you prefer to be on your own, book a single room. Otherwise, the shared rooms and dorms are a...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Yoikue wrote a review May 2019
Hong Kong, China45 contributions15 helpful votes
Sadly I would not recommend. The yoga teachers are nice but the room was so dirty ! I signed up fa 7 day program a couple months ahead and paid for a private cottage. I wanted to leave after the first day but I’ve already paid the full amount, the owner was nice enough to give me a refund for two days. The cottage: Very disappointing as it was very dirty, the actual place was quite nothing like the photos on their website. There were flys and dust on the mosquito nets, dirt marks on the bed sheets, smelly pillows, uncomfortable mattress, the chair inside the room was so moldy, I didn’t even want to touch it. The corners were filed with spider webs and the towels provided also had marks on them. I’m sure (I hope) they’ve been washed but they seem to have been used so many times and need replacing. I have respiratory problem and sensitive skin, I start having rashes on my skin making it difficult to sleep at night. The water may have been another factor that causes rashes on my skin. As the water in the bathroom has not been processed, sometimes it comes out yellowish and have a strong iron smell. Yoga classes was also not what I expected, while teachers are attentive and caring. The classes are really for beginners. Ive been doing yoga for a few years and I found the classes too slow and not enough flow. The swings we used at Ariel yoga were smelly and I’ve sweat so much by the end of the class because of the heat, it’s disgusting to think how many people have used it before me. The food was okay - provided in limited portion and no choice given. Coffee is only available on the morning and they will not make more once it’s finished. No fruits provided in the afternoon. I liked the salad at lunch but for the main course it was always rice so was a bit boring after a few days. Given that Cambodia is such a cheap country, I feel that they can definitely do better given what they have charged me for. I understand that this is a retreat but things should at least be clean. Not to mention that there were obvious marks on the bedsheet and towels. It’s just not a place where I’d like to spend my holiday... And I didn’t feel so welcomed by the owners. Its strange because I am a customer at the end of the day... Things can definitely improve. There is also a big pile of garbage right in front of the entrance, making it unpleasant when going in and out of the place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Yvonne O wrote a review Feb 2019
New Westminster11 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at Blue Indigo Yoga Retreat for a month this January. It was a wonderful experience. I met so many interesting travellers (mostly women) from all over the world and made some amazing new friends. Blue Indigo exceeded my expectations in all the ways that mattered. However, the retreat is not for everyone. Here's why: 1. You must like cats - there are seven (although I only was able to meet six in person) cats that freely roam the facilities. They are the the kings (or queen) of the castle. Remember, we are merely transient guests, so don't be surprised if one the furry guys do a site inspection of your room. 2. Breakfast and lunch is vegan. Now, it is some of the most mouth-watering vegan food I've ever had (especially lunch) and the variety of dishes was astounding but it is vegan. As an enthusiastic omnivore, I thought I'd miss meat but I really didn't. I just had meat every time I had a meal out. 3. It's NOT the Holiday Inn. If you need a North American style bug sterile bug free environment, Blue Indigo is not the place for you. Rooms are clean, and cleaned every day, BUT sheets and towels are changed only once a week, none of the bedding matches, pillows are lumpy, shower water pressure can be inconsistent, and most rooms have no air conditioning. Now I happen to think all these things are part of its charm and make environmental sense but it's not to everyone's taste. 4. Rooms are absolutely bo-ho chic adorable BUT there is no sound insulation. So be prepared to hear everything (and I mean everything) going on in the neighbourhood. From construction during the day to wonky neighbourhood karaoke all night, temple chanting early in the morning and the occasional cat orgy. Oh Cambodia, it's pretty loud, so make sure to bring earplugs. 5. Pay a little extra and stay in a cottage. The dorm rooms are perfectly nice but with four people to a room, they can be claustrophobic and the bunk beds are a creaky. If you're staying more than a week, definitely go for a cottage as a share or on your own. 6. Bugs are everywhere. Now this is not a criticism of Blue Indigo but rather of warm tropical places in general. Get ready to be eaten alive by mozzies. Don't bother with the eco-friendly sprays... go full DEET and always use the mosquito net provided 7. Blue Indigo is located about a 20 minute sweaty walk from Pub Street (or a $2 Tuk Tuk ride). So it's a bit away from the action. But I think that's a bonus. Less congestion and more cheap eats. Plus there are some great little hole-in-the walls around the neighbourhood (some with 0.50 cents beer) 78 Yoga meditation instructors are varied. Some are old hats and others are newbies but they are all beautiful people. Try all of the classes and see which ones work for you. A couple of tips: 1. Fresh Coconut waffles - (street vendor at the end of the main street towards the river) so delicious. 0.25cent per waffle of pure heaven 2. Check out the local markets around Indigo.There are a couple between 2-5 minutes walk away. Some amazing noodles, baked goods, desserts, fruit, and drinks to be had. 3. Lots of good supermarkets around. From blue cheese to muesli, you can pretty much find anything you need or want there. They are also great places to do your souvenir shopping. It's a bit pricier but you don't have to bargain and the items tend to be cleaner/less dusty. 4. Cash machines don't always work... so make sure to top up your cash before you're down to your last dollar Go with an open mind. The folks at Blue Indigo are friendly and amazing. Go with the flow and you'll find a bit of spiritual paradise. Ohm.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CambodiaSiem Reap ProvinceSiem Reap
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center?
Nearby attractions include Mr. Nin Tuk Tuk Driver (0.2 miles) and Saboo Sabay Shop (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fresh Fruit Factory, Bayon Pastry School Coffee Shop, and The Source Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Siem Reap.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Indigo Cottage Yoga Retreat Center?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Angkor Archaeological Park (3.7 miles), The Victory Gate (4.6 miles), and Wat Thmey (Killing Fields) (1.6 miles).