We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Purple Mangosteen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Purple Mangosteen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 163: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was very disappointed in this hotel. It looks good from the outside and street level, but really it is way overpriced for what you get. I had specifically asked for a quiet room when booking because I'd read it could be noisy. We were given room 6, which reverberated from the disco just behind, until 3:30 a.m. I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iluvrome_12
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I had experience stayed with this hotel for 2 nights, small hotel but charming nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful, on arrival picked me up by luxury Lexus car with so comfortable. Nice clean room, central of city convenienthly to walk around and safely, I had enjoyed the night life until mid night. Khmer food there was really good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank windy278
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stumbled upon this little place. Small menu but perfectly formed. Khmer Curry, pork with eggplant and morning glory -. All full of flavour and delicious. It is off the main Pub Street, on a quiet bylane, easily missed. But would recommend you Google map your way there. We later discovered that it was also a hotel with rooms. I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shondeep B
Baarn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found by coincidence this had a very good diner at this beautiful restaurant. The staff is very friendly. You need to walk a little bit further in the alley to find this restaurant but it's definitely worth going to this restaurant when you are in Pub Street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

They were so accommodating in serving me a vegetable curry with little fish sauce. After a bought of food poisoning a few days before on Pub Street, I was feeling very cautious. It was a wonderful experience. Also, 2 for 1 happy hour was a plus!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
Beckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 16, 2016

On landing at Siem Reap airport, my daughter and I were met and taken to The Purple Mangosteen in a tuk tuk. A fun way to travel! When we arrived at this little family run hotel, we were warmly greeted but the owner, Phally. I had been communicating with her on several occasions by email and it was like we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haeremai18
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed November 15, 2016

I booked this little hotel after doing much research online. I have traveled to Siem Reap once before but this was the first time with my kids (9 and 16), so I was looking for a room that would accommodate the four of us. The Purple Mangosteen offers a well-priced family room and this worked good for us. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frodo1212620
Labrador, Australia
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

After unsuccessfully trying to find a restaurant reviewed in Lonely Planet, quite by chance we ended up here. Really tasty satay chicken for a starter and the amok and chicken with ginger were both delightful. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank milkmeister
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile

Nice well-appointed and smartly designed rooms. We stayed here after feeling isolated in the more posh hotels closer to the temple areas. This is right in the middle of the old market where you can practically hear everyone including the horrible karaoke singers from neighboring establishments, and the clanging sound of construction noises throughout the day. No elevators and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qtpiegollywow
Purplemangosteen, Chanthla MAO/ Hotel Manager at The Purple Mangosteen, responded to this review

Dear qtpiegollywow, That's a very most importance for your sharing such a valuable review from you, We really much appreciated to see your feedback and let us apologize for the inconvenience caused to you from noisy sound nearby. Hope everything is more comfort zone while we did our best to put sound proof to protect and reduce sound effect and...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

We went there for dinner and we had the fried chicken ginger and the Khmer curry - both delicious. Also the mango salad that was ok. The place was empty because it was pretty late at night but the service was super attentive and accommodating. Best Cambodian food we've had in our trip and very good value so we wold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Purplemangosteen, Chanthla / Hotel Manager at The Purple Mangosteen, responded to this review

Dear Esteem Guest, We would like to express sincerely thanks for lovely reviews in sharing your experienced with our services, we look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future. Best wishes with loved & care, Chanthla MAO (Ms.) Hotel Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#68 of 332 in Siem Reap
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Suites Hotel
Cheathata Suites Hotel
#30 of 332 in Siem Reap
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#168 of 332 in Siem Reap
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Neth Socheata Hotel
Neth Socheata Hotel
#84 of 492 in Siem Reap
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#14 of 257 in Siem Reap
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khmer Mansion Boutique Hotel
Khmer Mansion Boutique Hotel
#2 of 492 in Siem Reap
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Purple Mangosteen is a small boutique Hotel with 6 stylish rooms in the heart of the historic centre of Siem Reap. It is located in the fashionable lane tucked behind the Old Market which still has some of the last original shop houses that are now art cafés, restaurants, boutiques and galleries. Only a few steps away from the vibrant night life of the Old Quarter this Hotel is quiet with elegant fully air-conditioned rooms. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with a rain shower and a full range of locally produced cosmetics for the guests to sample. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Purple Mangosteen

Address: The Alley West | Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Price Range: $28 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Purple Mangosteen 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Purple Mangosteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Purple Mangosteen staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Minato, Japan
Kempton Park, South Africa
Busan, Busan, South Korea
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Purple Mangosteen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Numbers 4 and 6 have the extremely loud disco outside. The other rooms at the front, are a bit less noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Iluvrome_12, yesterday | Read review
“Right in the heart of Siem Reap”
 of 5 bubbles Haeremai18, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“book fast! its worth it. bring ear-plug if you are a light-sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Haikal_Hazman, Jun 4, 2016 | Read review
“this is a restaurant but seems to be in the accommodation section”
 of 5 bubbles caroline08Australia, Dec 20, 2015 | Read review
“It is located nestled among shophouses in the town centre. Staircase to upper floors. There is rooftop lounge area.”
 of 5 bubbles johnannaa, Nov 12, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay