We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Thebe River Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Thebe River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 132: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Thebe River's camp for two nights very recently and were really disappointed at what little regard was given to our booking, which was made months in advance to make sure we got a camp! People showing up last minute were allocated to share our camp, which meant by the time we returned from having dinner, there were other campers set up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Siv_and_Keddy
Management response:

Thank you for your honest review. Your feedback allows us to continually improve our services and guest experiences. It also allows us to ensure all complaints can be dealt with in a timely manner. I would firstly like to offer my sincerest apologies for your experience on behalf of the Thebe team. I am disheartened to hear that you left... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in accommodation which was very quaint and clean. Several in our group camped. Was a good camp site and we were able to hear hippos down by the river. No sight line to river. Very close to Chobe National Park where you can see tons of elephant!

Helpful?
Thank Aocwagner
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review of Thebe River Safaris. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience here at our lodge. We are very blessed to be surrounded by such incredible wildlife and are delighted that you got to experience it first hand. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the lodge as part of a tour we undertaking. It was a really nice environment, with nice people and good service. The bar and dining area were very comfortable. Nice sized rooms and good showers. Coffee and Tea making facilities as well. The boat cruise provided by the lodge along the Chobe River was also terrific -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen255114
Management response:

Thank you for your review of Thebe River Safaris. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back should you ever find yourself back in Kasane. More 

Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We travelled from Kama to Kubu Island and though Chobe national ending up at the Oasis being Thebe River Lodge, Wow water pressure, Wow hot water, Wow electricity, the resturant was extremely reasonable with eight of us including 4 kids under USD 100 including a fair amount of celebratory drinkypooos, the staff were always present and willing and the environment... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jmd2804
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Thebe. I will pass on your compliments to our restaurant staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

My clients enjoyed the stay here, so did I. The restaurant has good food and service is efficient. Rooms are clean and neat and the staff friendly. Thebe Lodge is central and good value for money. From here we explored both Victoria Falls (day transfer with Shearwater) and used our own 4x4 vehicles to explore Chobe National Park. The boat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank William F
Management response:

Thank you for your positive review of our lodge. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back should you ever find yourself in Kasane again. More 

Randers
Level Contributor
242 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Arranged in a motel style, these rooms are of good size, with kettle for making tea and coffee. AC in room and decent size bathroom with good hot water. There is only wifi at reception and it is very unreliable. Clean and comfortable beds, but pillows are rock hard. Paper-thin walls to neighbor. Service very hard ti find.

Helpful?
1 Thank EnClair
Management response:

Thank you for your honest review of our lodge. We are glad that you found our rooms comfortable. Unfortunately network issues are an ongoing issue in Botswana. We do however endeavor to get our guests back online as quickly and swiftly as possible. I have noted your concern about our pillows and will liaise with housekeeping around this issue. We... More 

Letsitele, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Thebe with Mpafa Tours. We didnt eat in the restaurant as Mpafa catered for us. Wow to actually get hot water 24 hours a day with pressure in Botswana is unheard of! Was so thankful that we could even use a hairdryer and charge our phones etc in the room and a bonus to have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NPreece
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review of our lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We truly are blessed to be based in such an incredible location and are glad that you got to experience the beauty of Botswana. I have taken your comment onboard about duvets and will liaise with housekeeping to endeavor to provide additional... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

We stayed here for one night as a base for visiting Chobe national park. Overall, it was a really good stay. We were camping and the toilets and shower facilities were very nice, with hot showers. Free wifi is available at reception, and that area only. Onsite bar and restaurant, and the bar was reasonably priced. We booked trips through... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank footballfan123
Management response:

Thank you for your reviewing Thebe River Safaris. We are pleased that you got to experience our amazing wildlife and that you also enjoyed our camping facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back should you ever find yourself in Kasane again. More 

Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

On our travel up to Kasane we in countered two lots of elephant herds crossing the main road. It was awesome to see and my 10 year old daughter was in total amazement. We arrived at the Thebe River lodge to friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are nice and comfortable and in close proximity to the shops and bank.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
Management response:

Thank you for your positive review of Thebe River Safaris. We are so glad that you got to experience our incredible wildlife in their natural habitat. You are always welcome to return to further experience the wonders of Botswana. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Spacious room and bathroom, pipping hot shower with loads of pressure, comfortable bed, air conditioning and a fan, quiet and Wi-Fi available in and around the reception area (which you can get in room if close enough to the reception like we were). What more could you ask for really? There is a bar with a great variety of drinks... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natlnatl
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
2.7 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
35.1 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 20 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 2 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THEBE RIVER LODGE FACILITIES Facilities at Thebe River Lodge include Twin Room and Family Room accommodation in addition to Camping Facilities. All guests at Thebe River Lodge have access to our Spacious Dining Area and the Bush Bar and a pool to soak in the Botswana Sun. Thebe River Lodge offers an Activity Centre where you can book a variety of activities on offer in the region and transfers to all the regional Airports and towns. Thebe River Restaurant offers the chance to unwind after a long, hot day of exploring the Chobe National Park or after arriving from a distant destination or just anytime you feel like cold drinks, good food and varied company in the rustic restaurant and bar area overlooking the placid Chobe River. Guests can enjoy a fine meal or drinks from the bar and take a swim in the inviting pool if the weather gets hot which it does often in Kasane. Facilities at Thebe River Lodge include; - Lodge Rooms - Camping Sites - Restaurant - Bar and Pool area - BBQ Facilities - Activity & Safari Centre ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thebe River Lodge

Address: Main Road, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Thebe River Hotel Kasane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing