We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Alexandria

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was fine. Smelled a bit musty but I always travel with a scented candle for this reason. The pool area was nice and big. The rooms were alright but the bathroom wasn't cleaned well. Someone else's hair in the tub. The beds were comfortable. Included breakfast would have been nice.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am sorry that you experienced some difficulties during your stay with us. We maintain very high standards and are disappointed that your stay did not meet these expectations. I would like to investigate this further and ensure that any issues are resolved. If you have the time to contact me further at gm@rudysredeyegrill.com so that I can get the... More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The desk staff were nice! I like to start with a positive. I was told I was upgraded to my room. It was on the court side. Not outside window so a very dark room unless you open your blinds to the courtside. I sounds like the window side of the hotel is noisy from the freeway traffic so not... More 

Helpful?
Thank mustangsali
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am disappointed that the room selection was not your favorite, I would like to get you into a different room type if you get a chance to stay with us again. I would love to visit with you further on some of the renovation ideas that you had for us if you have time to contact me at gm@rudysredeyegrill.com.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff and housekeepers are sweet. Disappointed that they don't have continual breakfast. But swimming pool is nice. Our room was clean. If using a gps there is a holiday gas station right when you exit and that is what the gps reads. The hotel is across from country inn. There is a lot of construction in are so entrance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Tracy thank you for taking the time to review our property. I hope that you didn't miss out on our full service breakfast menu options that we offer in our attached restaurant, Rudy's Redeye Grill. We are happy that we were able to provide a wonderful place for you to relax on your adventures. I look forward to your next... More 

Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
210 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

Surprised to read so many bad reviews on this property. It is the old design Holiday Inn. Kind of cool to see it still functioning. I would think families would love this property with all there is to do inside. If you like quiet seek a room near the restaurant and not by the pool area. Our room was extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryModesto
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff works really hard to provide everyone with wonderful stay. We hope that you come see us again soon. More 

Frost, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016

I agree with the other reviewers saying this hotel is in need of renovations. My bigger frustration is the rec center in the middle of the facility that's basically right outside all the rooms. There's the swimming pool, hot tub, foosball, arcade, etc. There's also basketball hoops and a volleyball net. The windows in my room (and most others) overlook... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VikingJake
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Wow I could certainly understand how frustrating this could be. I apologize that this room type did work out for you, approximately one third of our guest rooms do over look the pool and recreation areas. I sure hope that you give us another try, if we get you into a room that is not near the pool and rec... More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

This property is large, with a pool, two hot tubs, restaurant/bar, fitness center, sauna, pool tables, ping pong, foosball, video games, and indoor volleyball area. They have meeting rooms as well. The restaurant was good. Fitness room is small, cramped, and has far too few machines for a hotel this size. Rooms are OK, but in serious need of maintenance.... More 

Helpful?
Thank scodougle
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I sure appreciate your feedback on your stay at our property. We are currently undergoing renovations here throughout our property, new carpeting, remodeling rooms and public areas along with the exterior of the building as well. I do hope the next time that you are in our area that you take the opportunity to come in and check out our... More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

From the outside and from the lobby this place looks fine. The rooms were smelly, old and poorly lit. The highway is very loud and so was the old heater. There was a strong smell of smoke in the hallways. The part that bothers me about this the most is that they are charging $130 a night, making it over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovestotravelalot79
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am disappointed that you did not have a good experience at our property. We are currently undergoing renovations to update our hotel inside and out. We are looking forward to the completion of this project so that we can impress our guests on all aspects of the Holiday in and Rudy's Red Eye Grill. We are very proud of... More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

Hotel was clean. We loved the pool area, it was perfect for families/kids! The only down fall is everything closes at 11, so we had to end the night earlier than we wanted, unless you want to go to the bar.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we sure appreciate you choosing our hotel. I'm glad that the children had fun enjoying the pools and recreation areas. We do try our very best to accommodate everyone's needs, I am sorry that your night ended earlier than expected. We hope to see you again very soon, and wish you safe travels. More 

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2016

Was old and not well maintained....I realize they were renovating but that doesn't mean they couldn't vacuum the halls. The bed was comfy and the heat and everything in the room worked. I wasn't too impressed with staff as they threw us out of the hot-tub kind of early and were sticklers about the check out time, even though we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Virginiarosemarie
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Virginiarosemarie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to providing comfortable room accommodations. On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to our housekeeping and the overall level of service you... More 

Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Well I wish I had made it here after the renovation. It is pretty old and not a place that I would likely stay in again. I spend 150-200 nights a year in hotels, most in the low to mid-range pricing. The bed was comfortable enough, but the décor was old and the carpet was a bit dirty. The hallways... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brett A
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Yes, when the renovation is done we will be in great shape! We do hope to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
13.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome!The Holiday Inn Alexandria offers a casual resort like atmosphere and is conveniently located at the intersection of I-94 and Hwy 29 South. Our unique setting makes us the ideal destination for the business traveler as well as those looking for a relaxing getaway. We also offer meeting accommodations for up to 400 people.The beautiful community of Alexandria, MN features a landscape lavish with lakes and offers a variety of outdoor activities. The Holiday Inn Alexandria is near several local attractions, golf courses and a stroll through our beautiful downtown is always a treat. Attractions near the hotel include: Carlos Creek Winery, Casey's Amusement Park, Viking Speedway, Runestone Museum, Maritime Museum, Andes Tower Hill with skiing and tubing, 500 miles of snowmobile trails, and a variety of unique Antique Shops. Brought the kids? We offer a large indoor recreation area which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, wading pool, sauna, fitness center, game room, volleyball court, basketball hoop, hockey nets, pool table, and ping pong.Hard day at work or play? After you ve had a chance to settle into your newly renovated room, join us in Rudy s Redeye Grill; conveniently located inside the hotel, for classic American fare in an Old Chicago style setting. Rudy s has the best steaks in town as well as fabulous sandwiches and pizza.We look forward to your stay here at the Holiday Inn Alexandria where it is always our pleasure to serve you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria

Address: 5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Location: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Price Range: $126 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay